We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got my money's worth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Surrey to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Surrey
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6542 King George Boulevard, Surrey, British Columbia V3W 4Z4, Canada (Newton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Powell River
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Got my money's worth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Booked this motel online, last minute, for $59. It is on a somewhat busy road, but the road noise wasn't bad with the window closed. Air conditioner was working fine. It looks like they may be working on the exterior as there was construction debris lying around outside, which was a little off-putting. Restaurant did not appear to be open, but was advertising homemade perogies. The reception area looked a little chaotic for my taste and I was a little doubtful. However......the clerk processed the booking efficiently at the advertised price. The room was small, but clean. The carpet appeared to be brand new. The mattresses and bedding were all new (I checked), immaculate, and very comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room, TV, phone, a coffee maker and the fixings, a closet and a small table of some sort to put your suitcase on. The bathroom fixtures and towels were just fine, and there was a blow dryer, shampoo and lotion. The bathtub/shower was clean and did the job. There are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and gas stations in the area - I had breakfast at the Pantry down the road and the food and service were typical/enjoyable. If I was just looking for an inexpensive clean place to get a good sleep and not looking for ambiance, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the look of the exterior
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    9
    5
    13
See reviews for
16
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I found this website only because I disliked this hotel so much I was curious if others had posted reviews somewhere online. Obviously others had the same experience I had with this hotel. The negative comments in the other reviews are consistent with my experience. The hotel smelled of cigarettes throughout, it was dirty, bathroom fixtures were broken, and small attached restaurant was useless.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Well this was not a "quality" Inn in any way!!!!!!First of all the guy at the reception was unfriendly & rude ,and it's a family and all of them are rude as if they are doing us a favor by letting us stay ,not that we paid 110$ for a crappy room with holes and stains in the blankets,filthy coffee machine and ice bucket and a toilet with yellow water!!!!and undrinkable faucet water!! The room was very small and dark. We were four and in all of the hotels we were in before there were two queen beds so we expected the same but the beds were very small!! We found garbage under the bed and when we told them to clean it they couldn't even do that right and left some under the bed. When we asked for an extra blanket they asked us 20 questions why?are you having an extra guest? then when they finally got them after waiting for ever the guy tells us next time you want something you have to say a day ahead or something or we cant get it for you!!Also when i asked the cleaning lady (one of the weird family) who actually knocked and just opened the door together not waiting!! to come back in 30 min.s she said NO!!!!One of my worst hotel experiences!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Found hotel through map on hotels.ca. Good rate for a bed and bathroom. Nothing superior but clean and decent. Friendly hotel staff - nothing to complain about. Nice little restaurant downstairs - good breakfast for reasonable price.
A little road noise from King George Hwy but turned on air conditioning fan for white noise and just fine.

  • Liked — Convenient location & price for where we needed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Upon checking in we had to wait while the front desk assistant finished her conversations with family and friends (who are a permanent feature of the reception area). During checking in we overheard a conversation with another assistant who was refusing to give her name to a customer on the phone who wished to complain, she then refused to put the customer through to the manager and hung up on the customer!
Once we reached our room we were very disappointed. The towels were dirty and smelled of bleach, the coffee maker and ice bucket were dirty, one of the bed side lamps did not work, the water appeared undrinkable from the tap. Our room was noisy all night with banging doors and people moving up and down the corridor. This included a group of teenagers who arrived at 1am and were extremely noisy, with no comment from the Check In staff who could undoubtedly hear all the disturbance.
Overall, the service and facilities certainly leave a lot to be desired.

Visit at your own risk!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocka
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

king george hwy is a red light dist. lots of street hooker stay at this hotel i know this because i used to live in surrey,bc i wouldn't recomended it this motel is filthy if you care about your helt do not stay there. or at any other motel on king george.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuelau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed for 1 night on 08-18-2007; and it cost us $115.00. We chose this motel because of it’s mane, Quality Inn. But this is a very bad motel; we are not recommending to anybody. The bathroom is very dirty, a lot of things are broken and everything is old. I took some pictures. You may take a look.

  • Liked — Not thing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Surrey

Address: 6542 King George Boulevard, Surrey, British Columbia V3W 4Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Surrey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EconoLodge is located in the heart of Surrey and close to many amenities. We offer special rates for groups/teams booking 7 rooms plus, please contact us directly for details. The guest rooms are bright, spacious, modern and include free wi-fi. Some of our guest rooms have been renovated at this time, and we continue to update the rest. Ronnie's restaurant on the hotel premises, provides well-priced and fresh home-style breakfast, lunch, dinner and other menu options. 24-Hour snacks and beverages are available via vending machine located next to the lobby. Room service is available during business hours. The hotel is close to major tourist attractions in Surrey: *Peace Arch US-border crossing (20 minute drive) *White Rock beach and promenade (15 minute drive) *Bell Performing Arts Centre (6 minute drive) *Surrey Memorial Hospital (12 minute drive) *Tsawwassen BC Ferry Terminal (25 minute drive--longer during peak hours) *King George Skytrain Station (12 minute drive) *Guildford Shopping Centre--second largest mall in BC (15 minute drive) *"Surrey's Little India" shops and restaurants (8 minute drive) *Vancouver International Airport (35 minute drive--longer during peak hours) *Newton Wave Pool (4 minute drive) *Simon Fraser University--Surrey Campus (15 minute drive) *Bus stop located adjacent to hotel property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Surrey Hotel Surrey
Quality Inn Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.