We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the deal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Surrey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Surrey to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Surrey
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6542 King George Hwy, Surrey, British Columbia V3W 4Z4, Canada (Newton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
revelstoke
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the deal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent two nights here on a recent stay in Surrey. We repeatedly tried to change rooms due to doors slamming all night as well as a loud screaming match going on on our floor. We called the front desk and asked them to address the problems, or move our room, to no avail. Finally after demanding to have our money refunded so we could find another hotel at a late hour they moved us upstairs to a "better" room. There was no plug for the bathtub, there were dead insects lining the windows, there were chips in the lino and paint, the fan was ridiculously noisy and the fridge and stove did not work. Yes the price was good, but it just wasn't worth the hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    9
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
11
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We noticed a slight tobacco smell in the lobby so we asked for a non-smoking room. The tobacco smell was 3x worse in the non-smoking rooms. It was just our room. The whole hotel reeks of tobacco smoke. The bed sheets had some dirty spots on them and the bathroom facilities were run down and worked very poorly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I held a meeting at the Econo Lodge in Surrey last week. Expedia booked the room on my behalf. Somehow, confusion arose between Expedia and the hotel's front desk. This opened up a veritable can of worms. I could not understand what the incompetent front clerk was saying, his mannerisms were rude and downright condescending. After about twenty minutes of arguments with Expedia, matters were sorted out. But that was just the beginning... The room that awaited me smelled foul, was unclean, and the towels and sheets were obviously unchanged. Do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My children and I are on a 10 week summer trip visiting 17 US States and British Columbia. We booked Econo Lodge at the last minute for its location. Surrey is half way between downtown Vancouver and half way en route to the Victoria ferries. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful, and the accommodations were clean and spartan. The fridge kept our food cold and our freezer items solid. The mini coffee maker brewed a nice cuppa. The a/c worked fine when needed. Vehicle was safe in lot, even loaded with paraphernalia not needed in hotel room. We slept comfortably on the first floor, though beds were a bit soft (you might like that). No elevator, so if you have a lot of stuff, request ground floor room.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose ground floor if you don't want to schlep up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, BC
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel in early March because of it's low price. Check in took a little longer than it should have, but young lady at the desk was polite. Hotel lobby was pleasant. Room was cozy and clean. Internet speed was slow at first but got better the next morning. Happy with my stay at this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

There are no words to describe our experience at this hotel. Please check out my pictures I took of the windows. It appears to look like mushrooms growing in the window, mould and water stains that were hidden behind a closed curtain. I did check the room before I said I would take it and I neglected to check behind the closed curtain until after I paid for the room. The toilet had Feecies in it and when we wiped down the toilet to use it, now afraid to sit on it because it was obviously not cleaned, the paper towel was covered in a yellow substance. We took that to be urine. I can not believe that a hotel would let there hotel run down to that horrible condition and then charge someone to stay there. Check my photos that I am uploading and note the crib next to the window with the foreign object growing in it and all the mould, for a baby to sleep in, What a disgrace!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here while touring the area, and the price was great! We had the peaked room you see in the photos. It was large with kitchenette. Something like $80 a night. Cant beat that!

Strangest thing? The first four parking spots are taken up, reserved for staff. HUH? Add the (deserved) handicapped spots, and pretty soon it is a hike to get to the lobby. Small wonder there is no one using the restaurant.

Front desk staff? They just ignored us the entire time, which is OK by me. Nothing else in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Surrey

Address: 6542 King George Hwy, Surrey, British Columbia V3W 4Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Surrey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Surrey Hotel Surrey
Quality Inn Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.