We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suites on the top floor...club lounge could be better though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15269 - 104 Avenue, Surrey, British Columbia V3R 1N5, Canada (Guildford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice suites on the top floor...club lounge could be better though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

because of my LT Plat status I got a very nice u/g to a suite on the 21st floor. Nice mountain views, big tub...pretty nice.
Bar gets decently filled at night and the food in the resto isn't bad.
My only complaint is the rather tuetonic service (or lack there of) in the club lounge - so i jjst walked across the road and spent my $ at a bar/resto there.
Front desk is always friendly/helpful in this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a comment. We'll look into the service levels and quality of our Club Lounge Staff.

Safe Travels!

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
41
15
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights with three rooms for business. Found the check in agent officious and nit-picky about enforcing arbitrary and trivial rules. My request for three king rooms near each other on a high floor was initially adamantly denied (I am SPG Platinum and was willing to forego my upgrade to a suite for this). My request was finally fulfilled but it took some lengthy and tiresome dialogue.

Rooms are basic 1980s layout with small bathrooms with typical fluorescent lighting. Room amenities even on the Club Floor are almost nil. No minibar, no laundry bags, a request for a fridge was responded to with "we only provide fridges for medical uses," and the window-mounted air conditioners are noisy.

The Club Lounge is small and access is policed with an almost bizarre level of strictness. Alcoholic drinks are not complimentary. The lounge gets very busy at breakfast. Breakfast offerings are basic (soggy scrambled eggs and toast kind of thing).

Self-parking is $9 a day. Pool area is clean but very basic (austere concrete environment, no pads on the chairs, etc.). Senior management seemed competent when I raised concerns about some service issues and responded with a hand written apology note and a cheese plate that was sent to my room, which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for writing about your experience with us. We're glad that these items were addressed while you where on-site. Let us know when you're in the area on business again.

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This August we stayed at the Sheraton Guildford Hotel for three nights. As a Life Time Gold SPG member I still had to pay forty dollars more per night to be upgraded to club level expecting the usual selection of buffet hot items for Breakfast and Evening hors d'oeuvres. What a disappointment - One hot bite size evening hors d'oeuvres that constantly ran out and had to be replaced – see picture. For breakfast there was one hot breakfast item which was disgusting powdered scrambled eggs- for three days in a row. To be fair, at both these offerings the hotel also had a limited bland selection of cheeses; cut vegetables, fruit and breads.

What was really substandard here was the unbelievably unkempt pool area. One broken table umbrella – without the table was on the pool deck. Algae was around the outside of the hot tub. Needless to say we didn’t go in the hot tub. No chair or lounge cushions. This was a stark and unwelcoming area.

The upside of this trip was being welcomed by a long time and friendly female front desk employee who is always professional, greets us by name and tries to give us the best room available – usually a corner room which offers more space. We found staff very welcoming and always striving to provide superior service.

Our room was quiet, spacious, clean, comfortable and had a spectacular mountain view.

The hotel is conveniently located to the recently expanded Guildford Mall and has easy access to major transportation routes.

Room Tip: Request a Mountain View Corner Room For Space, Quiet and View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I appreciate your comments, thanks for writing in such detail. We have done pool maintenance and since been passed by the health inspector, and we a re look into enhancing the furnishings in the pool area. We're glad that you receive great service from the front desk staff.

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have been staying at this Sheraton since 1993 and have seen the hotel go though several renovations. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful and would like to commend Carla and Karen who run the bar area. The beds are very comfortable but the room (I stayed in 1602) could probably use some renovation or deep cleaning given stains on the wall and lamp shades. Overall, this is a great place to stay if visiting customers as it is right next to Highway 1 and easy to the new bridge.

Probably a bit overpriced for the value when considering all the Canadian taxes added to the room price.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high level floor facing the mountains. The view is great when the weather is clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for writing this post. I'll double check the room you indicated.

Pease visit us again when you're in the area.

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and used it as a base for visiting Vancouver. At the time we could not get a hotel downtown and stumbled across this one. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The rooms clean and spacious. There is a nice bar and the pool was great, roof top outdoors. It is a short hop in the taxi from the train station into Vancouver. It has a shopping centre and plenty of restaurants within a couple of minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for submitting this post, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mali
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This summer we spent two periods of two nights at this Sheraton hotel. It was reasonable, had nice views of the north shore mountains if you requested it, and the food was also very good in the bar and restaurant, including the Sunday brunch. The brunch was well worth the cost and provided an excellent array of tasty, nutritious food (plus some yummy treats). The only slight downside was a rather surly young man at the check-in reception. Aside from that we had good service overall and I can recommend this hotel without hesitation. One server in the lounge, a lady who has been with that hotel for about 25 years, was the star of the hospitality staff. I wish I could recall her name, but our appreciation was definitely passed on. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Request a room with a north shore mountain view. It's a lovely sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow, what a great comment. Thank you for highlighting our brunch, as we don't want it to be a secret any longer.

Save Travels, please visit us again!

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our recent trip to Vancouver turned out to be a last minute deal. Accommodations within or near Vancouver were either very expensive or below acceptable. We decided to stay in Surrey. Location was very convenient, rooms clean and spacious.In addition they are pet friendly facility. Staff were friendly and helpful. At the end of the day, we were looking forward to returning to our room with comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for posting this comment. We are definitely a lower price point and more centrally located in the Lower Mainland.

We look forward to see you again soon!

Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel

Address: 15269 - 104 Avenue, Surrey, British Columbia V3R 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, in British Columbia's Fraser Valley, is a four-star, 279 guest room hotel with a 26,000 sq ft conference centre near Stanley Park, Grouse Mountain, and White Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Surrey
Surrey Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.