We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrible front end staff. Avoid the Dining Hall” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
15079 32nd Avenue, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada (South Surrey)
604.535.8799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 671 Restaurants in Surrey
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Surrey
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible front end staff. Avoid the Dining Hall”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Absolutely horrible staff at front. We called ahead for dinner, were told 25 minutes, got there and sat next to the host for 90 minutes. They kept giving away tables to people who showed afterwards, smaller groups, larger groups, Never once even acknowledging us, not even a polite mention of how long it might take. When we finally asked how long it would be after waiting for a good hour and a half, the girl at the front didn't even know my name. This after the entire front end was empty. Then she disappeared and never came back. Finally one staff took pity, got us a table, and towards the end the waiter showed up with a bill with $17 discount as if to make up for it. I rejected it. In South Surrey, no one is hurting for money. The night manger finally showed up and was super nice. But the damage was done. Night was ruined. We will not be back in the dining hall. Bar is fine. They need to hire better front end staff who are mature, and have better customer service skills. Ridiculous. There are lots of choices in South Surrey now. Cactus is going to have to do better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver bc
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Seni casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Met by very smartly dressed girls and had a nice table - though there's no view whatsoever in this location, unless you have a car park fetish! Food was good and mid price range, service was acceptable too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food great but wait was a bit too long.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took the kids out to lunch at this trendy place. Was seated immediately but took a while for waitress to take our order. Then we waited au 25-30 mins for our food and we had to inquire where it was because children were getting hungry. Food was great once it arrived but the long wait put a damper on the luncheon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had never been to a cactus club before. The ambiance is nice, very modern look and feel. Drinks were really good, I had a Cohiba that had fresh black berries and mint. Very nice and refreshing. The food was decent, but took a while to get to us. The frustrating part was we didn't seem to be on our server's radar for most of the evening. I think we sat with dirty plates infront of us for about 20 min. when we were done. When the server did come by to fill our water glasses, I asked her if she could take our plates. She moved them to the table next to us, and moved on. Eventually, a female lounge manager came along and was more attentive. We really got the impression that we were possibly our servers final table of the night and she was wanting us to pay up so she could go home for the night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have been to Cactus many times since they opened; the venue is great (my wife and I are lounge or patio people) and the staff is friendly and attentive. Food is always good and the place has energy. Lounge is a good spot to watch a big game.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Club Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.