We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakaway Motel

Breakaway Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breakaway Motel to your Saves list
Breakaway Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2160 King George Highway, Surrey, British Columbia V4A 5A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Prince George
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

This motel is a decent overnight choice. The rooms are very clean, however there is no coffee pot or hair dryer in the rooms. There is a dryer available at the front desk and coffee and breakfast foods in the office area. The walls are thin and I had to change rooms because of a loud snorer in the room next to me. It is dog friendly and there is a lovely garden / yard in the back -a perfect place for your dog. Although it is on a busy street, it is not very noisy though I had a room at the back and it may be noisier at the front.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is an affordable option in White Rock, fairly quiet at night with clean rooms. Hotel is easily accessible from the main highway and conveniently next to a chevron and ABC restaurant. Hotel is approx. 45 min to an hour drive away from Vancouver. Complimentary breakfast had some bagels, english muffins, toast, instant oatmeal and some cereal boxes. Overall a decent hotel for the price and the area.

Room Tip: Second floor, facing the back is better because you won't get headlights shining in your room fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The front desk staff was very nice. Our room faced a pretty little court yard in the back. Everything was clean and smoke free. The rooms have adjoining doors and we could hear the dog in the next room snoring! Construction going on in the area, so we could hear beeping in the morning. A little breakfast of bagels, toast, cereal, fruit and coffee. We were very happy with our stay. The lady at the front desk made us feel at home. Did lots of driving around the coast and used this as home base. We stayed for a few days before our cruise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Staff very, very friendly and helpful however, walls are "paper-thin"!! You could hear the guy in one room cough, and the guy in the other room snore!! They do allow dogs (pets), however, many guests do not clean up after their pet, and my wife wound up with a reminder of this fact on her shoe after we walked our dog!! I would rate the room as average, and a pretty good deal as far as price goes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Breakaway so we could attend a family reunion in WhiteRock. The prime decision to stay there was because most of our extended family were also there. And the reservations were made by our cousin. We called the night before to confirm our reservations and all was good. When we arrived at the hotel all was good for the check in and we were given the keys to our room. Yes, real keys. I haven't had a room where you didn't have to swipe a card in ages. The room was antiseptically clean and minimalist in design. It has all the amenities for a comfortable short stay. I enjoyed the free wireless that worked well enough with my iPhone but for some reason not with my notebook. There is a very good tub and shower. The tiny flat screen tv was fine and got all the necessary channels. The fridge worked well and all was pretty good.
I found that the room was a bit noisy when I was near the door to make the rooms adjoining. And we did hear the little dog next door for a while but that stopped soon and demonstrated that they did allow pets. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient.
Across the parking lot is an ABC restaurant which like the Breakaway is a pretty good restaurant. We had a nice family breakfast there. I would recommend the Breakaway for stopovers when you need a clean comfortable rest, a place that is great for a short stay home base for visiting White Rock or for a family function like we had.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My nephew was getting married in White Rock, and we had to organize a group of rooms for family from the Okangan, Kamloops, Oregon, Coquitlam and Vancouver. The rooms were comfortable, and all the staff that I dealt with were friendly, courteous and helpful. They allowed us (8 rooms full of family!) take over their beautiful garden so we could play uitar, sing and catch up with each other. We were a bit noisy (apologize to any other guests!), but the staff understood our need to re-connect with each other. We stayed for 2 nights and a great time was had by all. The meals at the ABC restaurant were good for the price. Will recommend this motel to any friends and family that need an economical place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

My family of 3 (including a 2-year-old) stayed here for 2 weeks. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was good, though the bathrooms are getting a bit old (still clean). Rooms are cleaned, with fresh linen, daily. I wouldn't recommend The ABC Restaurant (on sight), despite the free breakfast. The food left a lot to be desired. There are plenty of other choices, nearby, from IHOP for breakfast to la Baia (great Italian) for dinner. Overall, the Breakaway is a very good budget motel and one of the few choices for under $100 (before tax). We plan a return trip in August and will stay at the Breakaway again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakaway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakaway Motel

Address: 2160 King George Highway, Surrey, British Columbia V4A 5A2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakaway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakaway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakaway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.