We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard
998029 Highway 11, Temiskaming Shores, Ontario P0J 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Kapuskasing, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

There is a lack of nice hotels on the highway close to New Liskeard. Holiday Inn abuses its situation, even if it is far from anything interesting or useful. Yes, it is nice, there is a swimming pool, breakfast in the morning, but the attitude does not fit the price range: too high for the quality of service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Denis N,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

We regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of our usual high standards. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. Your comments will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
10
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

New hotel right off the highway heading north on highway 11.Breakfast included. Clean rooms.A local family owns many motels and hotels in New Liskeard.They also own a waterfront hotel in town which has a great location with a boardwalk and activity trail along beautiful Lk Temiskaming
They also have good restaurants close by like Roosters (waterfront) and Gillies and Zantes on the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I accompanied my husband to New Liskeard/Temiskaming Shores on a business trip on a Thursday. We chose this hotel for its location and the fact that it is the newest hotel in the area. The hotel is nicely decorated in modern styling and was very clean. We found the bedding and pillows excellent. We used the pool and hot tub and they were both quite nice. Breakfast the next morning was the usual fare and the best part was the 'pancake machine." My husband enjoyed many. Our only issue is that it is quite pricey to stay there. Even using our CAA discount the total bill was close to $170.00 for a basic room. I am not sure if they charge high rates because the other hotel options in the area are not good or they are under capacity and need to bring in the revenue to pay for this new hotel? We would stay again but try to search out a better rate, we booked directly through calling the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the highway. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a manager of a hockey team I was responsible for booking rooms at this facility for 15 different families. Upon booking I immediately notified the manager Trudy that there would be mulitple children ages 6-7 years of age. There were a total of 3 hockey teams staying at this facility all on one weekend for a big hockey tournament in town, all children ranging in age from 6-10. As we entered the lobby to check in it was apparent that 'teams' were not welcome. I was re-read the riot act regarding facility rules and had already had to sign 4 pages of hotel rules to fax back to the manager the week before 'we were allowed to book.' Not sure if the manager lives at the hotel or not but she was patrolling the halls from 0900 to 2300 each of the 3 days we were there. She demanded that I go 'room to room to obtain hotel pool towels' as there were none in the pool area itself. She treated professional people on my team like children and made threats that she would 'kick out our team' during the middle of the day. Both nights the kids and families were in their rooms by 10pm which I thought was pretty reasonable. At no time was any child or family member of our team out of control or loud. I could not even sit to have any scraps of food were left or for that fact, not even placed out for the continental breakfast in the morning. The manager constantly demanded she know when anyone was coming or going at the hotel and it was obvious she had no idea how to deal with large groups of people. As my husband stated 'IT WAS THE NICEST PRISON I HAVE EVER STAYED AT.' The owner of this chain will be contacted and made aware that he needs to replace the hotel manager if he choses to continue to be in business.

Regards,

Susan Taylor

Room Tip: All rooms are over priced. Suites are not really a 'suite' as they are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertrude_HIENL, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Susan, the time you took to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property for a hockey tournament is appreciated. It is unfortunate that we did not meet with your expectations for the weekend. It is our responsibility to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay for all our guests. Please know that we will be reaching out to you to discuss the concerns you have voiced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4-5 days. It is easily accessible on Hwy. 11 just north of the centre of New Liskeard. Our stay was very pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bed. Our only real complaint is that when we booked the room (in advance) we were not told that the pool would be closed that week for scheduled maintainance. The pool was only open for the first night of our stay. We asked for a discounted rate but did not receive one. We were disappointed as we were staying there for a holiday and had really been looking forward to using the pool and hot-tub. We found that the room price was quite high considering the hotel's location, especially as we have recently stayed in a Hilton hotel in Ajax that was far nicer and much less expensive.

Room Tip: Choose one on the far side of the building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
936 helpful votes 936 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have just returned from a business tour of northeastern Ontario. One night was in New Liskeard and I am glad I chose the Holiday Inn. It is bright and brand new. The rooms are really well appointed. The furniture is very comfortable especially the bed. The room was quite and clean. The breakfast room was a nice extra in the morning. The work out facility is a wee bit small and they could use a better elliptical. That said the place is very well appointed and the staff were friendly adn helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rate a little high (and reception not budging even though it showed cheaper on line and the hotel was not even close to being full) but unfortunately not too much else to choose from in the area. Beautifully appointed room, comfortable beds and a 'so so' breakfast. Cinnamon buns and bread was brought out a couple at a time (not sure what's up with that!) but breakfast was comparable to other HI Express properties. Would stay again but would book on line for better rate.

Room Tip: Request room at rear of hotel as there tends to be heavy truck traffic on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard

Address: 998029 Highway 11, Temiskaming Shores, Ontario P0J 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Temiskaming Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Temiskaming Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Liskeard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.