We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,great place for a night out with friends!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKecks Tap & Grill

McKecks Tap & Grill
207, Highland Street | Ontario, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada
+1 705-457-3443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Haliburton
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving up authentic #myhaliburtonhighlands hospitality since 1986. Fully licensed by AGCO, rooftop smoke-free Patio, capacity of 200+ Flavorful food, true hospitality from a Team that earnestly welcomes you.
Haliburton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food,great place for a night out with friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really nice place if your looking to get together with a large or small group of friends and eat good food and have good laughs! Service is good and they do present well! Friendly staff and always have a wonderful time!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    56
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Service lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a busy evening. But it was a Thursday evening in Cottage Country - surely a place like this could prepare better to accommodate the crowds! We were 3 middle aged women among others waiting - for about a half hour (or more), dismayed that many who came after us were seated first! (We were a table of 2 - one left in disgust; others in 4's, 5's were taken first).
Once we were finally seated, we had to wait for another 10 minutes to even get menus! The service was slow - many servers went by us as if we were invisible.
Eventually we got our drinks, but were never asked about seconds. Water took forever. When we finally got our food, it was very tasty (fish & sweet potato fries; rueben & fries), but no one checked in on us thereafter. Finally we went to the bar to ask to pay so we could leave. The poor service really diminished our enjoyment of our night in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stylish but a few ingredients missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant has had a stylish makeover which is very attractive and welcoming and the staff are attentive. The menu however needs a little reworking. The hamburgers are not homemade and should be and instead of wraps perhaps a pot pie or two (chicken or steak). As this is fishing country couldn't there be a good local fish on the menu- maybe done as a fish taco or chowder?This is a nice place which needs a better mneu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick bite or drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped by for a quick lunch while exploring the area. Place is much larger than I anticipated. Big tables were nice for large groups but made it weird for just 2 people stopping in for lunch. The cheeseburger was just average, but the sweet potato fries with chipotle sauce were fantastic. My boyfriend had the smoked salmon sandwich and he thought it was really good. Its a bar so its bar food, but they did have some unique things on the menu and the food was good. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Came here for a meal while staying in the area - we wanted somewhere that offered good food and beer at decent prices, and totally got it it McKecks. We both had burgers - both were very tasty and great portions... couldn't manage dessert. Nice range of beers served cold and quickly. All in all a very nice place and well recommended :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKecks Tap & Grill also viewed

Haliburton, Ontario
 

Been to McKecks Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKecks Tap & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.