We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding proposal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
9201 Hwy 118, Haliburton, Ontario K0M1M0, Canada
+1 705-489-4449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Haliburton
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding proposal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My boyfriend planned a surprise wedding proposal over Thanksgiving weekend while I was up working in Haliburton for a few months this fall. A limo drove me to a secret location, which turned out to be the Rhubarb, the place where I took him for our anniversary.

He arranged with the owner of the restaurant to open the restaurant just for us on the Monday night even after they were supposed to be closed for the season. When I walked in, music was playing and rose petals lined the walkway to a table set for 2 overlooking the beautiful scenery.

The service was incredible, and they planned a four course meal especially for us. They even allowed him to bring in my favourite wine. The food, as always, was hot and so delicately prepared, and the portions were quite substantial.

Honestly, it was the most special evening that I will remember forever, and I can't believe that a restaurant could be so accommodating!

I'd recommend this place to anyone. It's certainly on par if not better than any restaurant I've been to in Toronto where I live.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdance1, Manager at Rhubarb, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to be a part of such a special occasion! Congratulations!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very expensive for what you get in Haliburton. Our group were not impressed at all and will not return. The premises are drab and boring and the service! What there any??

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdance1, Manager at Rhubarb, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Rhubarb. We take great pride in providing our guests a terrific meal and evening out. I would appreciate if you could get in touch with us at info@rhubarbhaliburton.com to give us a little more information and to give us a chance to improve your opinion of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unquestionably the best in Haliburton County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Unlike Muskoka, Haliburton is not exactly overflowing with fine restaurants. Most of the dining establishments are pretty basic: steaks, pizza, ribs, etc. Rhubarb is the great exception to this rule. From the gorgeous glassed-in dining room on Eagle Lake, to the pleasant and helpful servers, to the truly creative and well-prepared cuisine that comes out of the kitchen, everything is at a very high standard. When we're in the area and in the mood for a treat, this is our go-to location. We have yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdance1, Manager at Rhubarb, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you at our new location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had high expectations for this restaurant and they were exceeded. The crab cake appetizer was amazing with perfectly seared scallops on the side. The lamb was recommended as a house speciality, as was the schnitzel, and they did not disappoint. Leave room for dessert. They are made in-house and round out a spectacular meal. The service was top notch, comfortable and not stiff, which aligns well with the surroundings. If I lived in the Haliburton area I would eat here often. Looking forward to visiting Rhubarb again at their soon-to-be new location in Carnarvon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Haliburton County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been to Rhubarb many times, and it is now our choice for birthdays, anniversaries, and just because. By far the best restaurant in the county, and we've tried them all. Excellent, imaginative food and great service. And at a fabulous price - you'd pay twice as much in the city for the same thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

 
Haliburton, Ontario
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.