We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterdance Dogsled Tours

Winterdance Dogsled Tours
6577 Haliburton Lake Road, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada
705-457-5281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Haliburton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience what it's like to drive a dogsled team with Ontario's only Iditarod & Yukon Quest kennel! Our family run business complete with 150 loveable Siberian Huskies has had the honour of welcoming guests from around the world the last 14 years, with the stunning rugged wilderness of Haliburton/Algonquin Park as our backdrop. Escape today's hectic world & let your spirit soar as the huskies share their passion & the land reveals its magic
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have been dogsledding last weekend with our kids (2+3) and it was by far the best what we have done so far in Canada during our 5 month stay. Hank, the guide was really great introducing us to dogsledding and the kids are still talking about the gentle and beautiful dogs. The landscape was breathtaking. Thank you Winterdance for one of the best days ever!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    6
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great afternoon sledding. You must be willing to participate but you are given great explanations of what you need to do. The guides check on you frequently. The dogs get so excited and sure know their job! Everything was well organized and orchestrated without any delays! Super fun and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking.Worth the trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“WHAT A DAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited Winterdance Friday, February 21st 2014... the warmest and wettest day this year. We were originally supposed to go for a half-day morning tour, but due to pouring rain and warm temperatures that day, our tour got rescheduled for the afternoon. It turned out great weather-wise, as temps had cooled down, and there was a very light snow falling.

From booking our tour a few months ago, right up until the day prior to our tour and last minute confirmations, Winterdance has been pleasure to deal with. Between emails and phone calls with Tanya and Sue, the communications and correspondence with this company was excellent, and timely. A dream to work with really.

My husband and I had booked the Winterdance cottage for the night before. The cottage is located at about a 25 minute drive to the tour location. A cute little 3 bedroom cottage, rustic, and had everything we needed. I think it would be a nice spot to rent, in the Summer time, when you can enjoy being outside, out on the large deck. It faces the water, so view must be nice too.

We arrived at the tour site early afternoon. The guides were already there, with 2 trucks full of anxious, excited Siberian huskies. After a short instruction session with our guide Mike (funny guy, made us laugh and that 10-15 minute instruction session goes by fast), the dogs were ready to come out. One by one, each dog was brought out and placed at a specific spot on harnesses, to make up the 5 dog teams. We had 9 teams going at once, so 45 + dogs total, all howling and crying in excitement. I think that was the best part of the tour : seeing the excitement in these dogs, when they realize they're going out for a run. They are so happy and anxious to get going, what a site. Oh, and be warned : it gets LOUD out there!

The first 5 minutes of sledding is... .... .....interesting. You'll understand when you do the tours, ha ha!

Doing the half-day tour, we ended up doing half our tour, then stopping in a little valley, for hot chocolate (and big marshmellows) for us, and hot dog treats for the dogs. It's the perfect opportunity to get to know your team, and how they each have their own little personality. I'm sure everybody thinks their team is the best, but ours was really amazing. Those dogs worked hard pulling us, and in 0-3C weather, I'm sure that was not an easy thing to do. We tried our best to help them by pushing off the sled, especially going uphill. But still, with our help, it must have been hard work for those dogs.

Our team consisted of SCRAPPY (So adorable, and ask the guides about his story. Truly inspiring, what a strong little guy.), SHAGGY (More independant, but just as loving as any others out there.), SCOOBY (Watch your gloves or mittens around this one. He's quite sneaky and great at stealing your gloves, so cute.), BUD (Strong little guy, and always pleasant, and happy with not being in the spotlight. His tail was missing the tip, but it was all part of his charm.), and SPRING (The only female on our team of males, but you'd never know it. She pulled just as hard as the boys did, and held her own. She was full of energy, and full of kisses too. Just a pup she was...).

Thank you to our guides, Mike and Leah. Seeing you around the dogs, it's easy to see that you love what you do, and the dogs love you just as much. You know each of the dogs names and personalities, and anyone can see that you truly care about these little fur balls. You both are naturals at this, and it was a pleasure to have met you.

Final verdict : Winterdance is amazing, and we will definitely be back next year. Perhaps we will do a full day then. Half a day didn't seem quite long enough. It was hard to leave after the tour, as we gladly would have taken all those little huskies home with us. We'll just have to go back, and see them all next year!

Thanks again. We had a blast! :)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent the morning with Hank from Winterdance Dogsledding and we had a fantastic time!! The dogs were very gentle and loved to run and made it known early on by their howls, that they were as excited as we were. We can't say enough about the professionalism of the staff and the experience itself. We will be back!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

if you are booking this adventure expect to put a little effort into helping out the dogs. its not just sit back & relax and let someone else do the work, we took turns mushing and it was a blast. The guides are so friendly and full of knowledge about the health & well being of the dogs. All of the dogs are friendly and you can tell they really love what they do.
I would book this adventure again only this time longer than 2 hours. I could do it all day. So much fun !!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterdance Dogsled Tours also viewed

 

Been to Winterdance Dogsled Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterdance Dogsled Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.