We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog sledding in winter wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterdance Dogsled Tours

Winterdance Dogsled Tours
6577 Haliburton Lake Road, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada
705-457-5281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Haliburton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience what it's like to drive a dogsled team with Ontario's only Iditarod & Yukon Quest kennel! Our family run business complete with 150 loveable Siberian Huskies has had the honour of welcoming guests from around the world the last 14 years, with the stunning rugged wilderness of Haliburton/Algonquin Park as our backdrop. Escape today's hectic world & let your spirit soar as the huskies share their passion & the land reveals its magic
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dog sledding in winter wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What an amazing experience this turned out to be. There were 5 of us in our group, a girl's weekend that started with staying in a yurt in Algonquin park and finishing with a 2 hour dog sled experience in Haliburton. Dog sledding was on the bucket list of a few of us and this was a first for all of us. The guides were great, gave us a quick lesson before bring out the dogs. The dogs were a little intimidating at the beginning when they first came out because they wanted to get going and it takes a bit of time to get them all hooked up. But during this time we had the opportunity to get to know the dogs on our teams and found them to be quite lovable and friendly. The scenery was absolutely stunning,and we enjoyed every minute of the experience. I was very impressed by the guides knowing all the dogs names and being able to give you a little info on each ones personality, they have a lot of dogs and can tell that they are all well taken care of and loved.
I would go dog sledding again , 2 hours was great for a first time but next time I would love to do a full day excursion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    6
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a wonderful experience with great company, amazing guides and beatific landscape. It is hard not to fall in love with not only the animals but the outdoor life. The guides encourage lots of love for the dogs and appreciate what they do for the adventure. I would most certainly do this again. I think the full day trip gives the best bang for its buck. Hopefully you can have Harry on your team as I fell right in love with this dog!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, incredible dog-sledding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have dreamed of going dog-sledding since we moved to Canada a few years ago. The Winterdance Dogsled Tour was an experience we will never forget. What an amazing time we had! The guides were so nice and helpful, and the huskies... well, they were the best part! We got to steer our own sleds (in teams of two) and teams of dogs (5 each), which was so fun. The environment we explored was beautiful, and half way through we stopped to enjoy a hot chocolate and bakes treat while our team of pups took a much needed break. We got to know our team of huskies so well during our half day adventure, and at the end of the day we were so sad to say goodbye to them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Winterdance Dogsled Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were a bit hesitant at first as my husband and I had never been dogsledding before and we are in our late 50's, however we had a wonderful time! The guides, the dogs, the scenery - all perfect. Next time it's a full day!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Guides, Amazing Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wow! What an experience.
My father and I opted for the half-day dog sled and it was time shared together that is truly unforgettable. Winterdance is truly first-rate and they make sure you have the most enjoyable time. The guide we had (Jess) was friendly, enthusiastic, and really had a passion for sharing the sport. What sets Winterdance apart is their extensive network of maintained trails on the southern edge of Algonquin Park as well as the authentic 'out there' feel. From the cozy admin cabin, complete with wood stove and without electricity, to the gorgeous lakes and marshes you will pass en route. This is the genuine experience. If you're thinking of dogsledding in Ontario, this is the place to do it. The dogs will be eager to meet you and the staff make you feel most welcome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterdance Dogsled Tours also viewed

 

Been to Winterdance Dogsled Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterdance Dogsled Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.