We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs' Up to the Pinestone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course to your Saves list
Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4252 County Road #21 | P.O. Box 809, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada (Formerly Delta Pinestone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Haliburton
Cheboygan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Thumbs' Up to the Pinestone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We recently spent 3 nights at this resort in a villa overlooking the golf course. What we were looking for was a laid-back comfortable
environment to relax. For this, the Pinestone was perfect. The villa itself was very nice and the golf course view an added benefit, esp. in the evening when deer grazed on the fairway.
We took one dinner at the golf course restaurant and it was delicious and more than fairly priced. We found the staff friendly, esp. Janet at check-out who offered many helpful suggestions for the next leg of the trip. The two reservationists I worked with were both excellent, believe their names were talia and Tammy.
If you are looking for a perfectly kept
resort, this might may not be the place for you. Building exteriors, fences, walkways
and entries etc. all needed work. The housekeeping staff was NOT ambitious, even suggesting to us the absolute minimum they would have to do one day. It was actually muddy when we were there (probably only time this summer) and tile in entry was not cleaned. However, the housekeepers were good once a request was made. For the price, we felt it was only fair.... It seemed like the resort was short-staffed the late August weekend we were there.
Once again, we had a great experience and enjoyed our time there. We appreciate Delta hotels being pet-friendly and would return if we were in the Highlands once again. Just
keep a laid-back attitude when you're there
and you'll enjoy it alot.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
59
79
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

After reading the other reviews for this resort, after having already booked a mother/daughers spa getaway, I was expecting to be disappointed.
However, our experience was quite the opposite to that described by others. The staff were gracious, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The meals in the Heatherwood dining room exceptional.
The spa treatments were excellent, and the young esthetician stayed an hour and a half beyond her regular working day to accommodate all of our treatments.
The package included dinner and breakfast and at both meals we had full access to everything on the menu.
At 255 per person, including a 125 spa creadit and two very excellent meals, we figure the room was almost free!
Would highly recommend it and would gladly return.

  • Liked — The staff were warm and friendly
  • Disliked — We could not have our spa treatments together
  • Tips/Secrets — Book spa treatments well in advance to get the time and the treatments you want
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

I really thought there was some mistake when I pulled up here for a business overnight stay (conference). This was a DELTA RESORT, right? Actually, it looks and smells like a retirement home, which is an insult to retirement homes. It's old, outdated, cramped, and falling to bits. The conference areas were a joke...lots of wood panelling and cheesy chandeliers. I almost laughed when I went into the "basement" for my room. The room is small and laughably underequipped for the price paid (which was over $215 CDN!!!!!!!) and had that old motel feel. The room featured a walkout to the lake, which was nice.

I really did laugh, I actually laughed. No room service. You can go to the restaurant to order, and then they'll send your food over. Food is mediocre. There seemed to be some confusion over the actual room service. Some staff said I could have called, others said I had to go to the restaurant. Fine.

Couldn't wait to get out. For $50-$75 a night, I would have said "ok, that's what you get in Muskoka in high season for that". At $150, I would have laughed. At over $215, I snort milk out of my nose.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

I was extremely disappointed with the Delta Pinestone. I attended a wedding at the resort and although the surroundings were beautiful, the front desk staff and servers in the restaurant were rude and unfriendly. After one particularly displeasing exchange with a the woman at the front desk where I was made to feel as though I'd inconvenienced her by asking a question, I was afraid to return. The request that I'd made (that my friend be able to check in to our shared room) was brushed off as silly. However, I insisted that she write down this person's name. Regardless, when my friend arrived, she was not allowed to check in to our shared room. There wasn't one wedding guest who did not experience problems of this nature - mostly with the front desk staff, but also with the servers in the dining room.
Even the pastor who did the wedding vows (clearly hired through the hotel) used the ceremony as a means of promoting the resort. He referred to the Delta Pinestone as 'the jewel of the north' several times during the ceremony.
The rooms were overpriced and resembled Motel 6, not 'the jewel of the north.' The spa was also overpriced and the service was slow (we were pushed back several hours) and sloppy.
If the staff had been friendlier, perhaps these aspects of the stay could have been overlooked.
I found this resort hotel unacceptable, and would caution against hosting a wedding there.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Golf there, don't sleep there
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2003

My wife and I stayed at the Pinestone for a night a had a nice time.
The resort is huge and had a "campy" feel to it which was nice. Since it resides directly on a golf course, it was very hard to watch everyone tee off so Id suggest any guy going to ensure to bring his clubs and tell your wife you're "taking a walk". The golf course restaurant was decent and reasonably priced and overlooked the 18th green (again guys this is painful if you don't golf). We ate at Heatherwoods, the nice restaurant and a had a good meal with good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course

Address: 4252 County Road #21 | P.O. Box 809, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada (Formerly Delta Pinestone)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Haliburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre: 160 Acres to Discover....Haliburton Highlands'largest resort, Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre Spa and Golf Course offers four-season amenities, a cozy ambience, spectacular fine dining, an on-site bar, an indoor saltwater pool with sauna, a fitness room with a view of Haliburton's nature, comfortable and spacious rooms, an outdoor pool with sundecks, a 14-acre activity pond for summer and winter activities, tennis courts, 24 hour business centre, free wireless internet throughout the resort, hiking, biking, cross-country skiing, and an on-site spa and salon. It is a perfect venue for corporate meetings; offering adventure team building, naturally lit meeting rooms and endless meeting possibilities. Weddings are very popular every season: both indoors and outdoors, with a capacity of 200 guests in the Highlands Grand Ballroom. On-site diningHeatherwood RestaurantIt's all about food quality, intimacy and attentive service at Heatherwood Restaurant-Haliburton County's causal fine-dining hot-spot. Chef's famous culinary creations, the extensive wine list and Friday and Saturday's prime-rib special attracts diners from all over Haliburton County, and leaves our guests raving about their Heatherwood experience. Open for breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily. Re-opening for dinner from 5:00pm - 9:00pm daily. Prime Rib Special Friday and Saturday nights. Reservations are recommended. Highlanders Bar & PatioCheck out the new vibe at Highlanders Bar! With its impressive slate bar top, wall of windows, sunny patio, stone fireplace and terrific food, it's no wonder Highlanders Bar keeps people coming back. Daily specials, a full lunch and dinner menu, fun theme nights, flatscreens showing every Leafs game, cozy chairs and funky music make it a hip gathering place for friends and family. Opens at 11am Monday to Saturday and 1:00pm on Sundays. 'Like' Highlanders Bar on facebook and follow us on twitter (HighlandersBar1) for upcoming entertainment and theme nights. 19 And over after 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course Hotel Haliburton
Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa And Golf Course
Pinestone Resort Haliburton
Delta Pinestone Resort
Delta Haliburton
Pinestone Hotel Haliburton
Haliburton Delta
Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course Haliburton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinestone Resort, Conference Centre, Spa & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.