We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PIZZERIJA EMA

PIZZERIJA EMA
Srednja vas v Bohinju 73, Srednja vas v Bohinju 4267 , Slovenia
+386(0)4 5724126
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Europe
1 review
“Big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

At the end of an excellent day in and around lake Bohinj, we stopped by since we'd heard this place was somehow famous. We arrived late and it was nearly empty. Service was slow. Later we overheard they'd had a busy day. We ordered a pizza each and each a salad. Prices seemed quite good, perhaps slightly higher than a typical downtown pizza place.
Yes normal size pizza, the waitress verified. When the food arrived we realized the portion sizes were meant for giants. In the end we were very well filled and brought almost a full pizza in a box.
Another time we arrived during peak hours, nowhere to sit (and surely long waits for anything other than pizzas) so then we crossed the road to the rustic traditional foods restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    2
    6
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Huge portions and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited here a couple of times during our stay in Srednja vas v Bohinju and would confirm the view of other reviewers that the portions are huge. We were told by our host that a pizza would easily feed two people and it was confirmed by the number of guests walking out carrying foil-wrapped parcels.
We tried to get a table on a Sunday night and it was packed but other evenings did not seem to be so busy but be prepared to wait for a table.
I do not recognise the comments about service as, despite it being very busy, the food arrived promptly and service was very friendly.
There is obviously a large range of pizzas but they also serve local specialties.
For families there is a trampoline for children to bounce on and for adults there are glorious views across the valley from the large outside eating area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrifying experience!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Today we were in the pizzeria Ema and had such a terrible experience that we will not forget it for long, long time. First I have to confirm that all what was written by previous reviewer is true because it happened almost the same to us.
We were 2 adults with 3 children. The place was packed, but we have managed to find a table inside, just in front of the kitchen door. We didn't like it, but have thought that in this way we will be watched better by the waitress and better served. We have ordered drinks, 4 pizzas and pasta. Have been served with drinks immediately and after 15 minutes also pasta came (please do not order it as it is really uneatable), but nothing was happening with pizzas. After another half an hour, still nothing, but we have noticed that other tables around us were served even though guests arrived latter then us.
We have also noticed that waitresses (all women) were quite often forgetting who ordered what and were wondering from one table to another to find who made the order. It happened to us twice (we were relieved that pizza has finally arrived, just to realize immediately that they weren't for us).
Since we were waiting for almost one hour, my husband asked one waitress what was going on and she replied that she has a lot of work and has turned her back and walked away.
My husband waited that she returned again and asked to call the owner, to what she replied that she is the owner and repeated to leave her alone because there are many guests she has to serve. We were astonished because again she turned her back to us and walked angrily to the kitchen. Of course there was no information about our pizzas, and no apology for the delay. At that point we heard man's voice coming from the kitchen saying that 'if necessary he will come out and take care of noisy customers' . We supposed he was talking about us.
Again we were waiting for about 10 minutes watching pizzas passing by to other tables, and finally one pizza was delivered to our table as well. It was of the size we did not ordered, was missing some ingredients, but worst of all it was pizza that my husband ordered, but the children were still waiting. Again we asked what is going on with other 3 pizzas and got stupid looks from some waitresses. Finally one brought us one pizza which we have ordered and another we did not. We asked to bring us the correct order and the missing pizza and again we were waiting for 10 minutes and nothing happened. At that point the first waitress which has taken our order showed up at our table and asked us why we were still not served. While standing there she has noticed that my husband's pizza was not as we have ordered and was polite and trying to listen to our complaints, but with no apology.
All of a sudden the owner-waitress materialized next to her raising her voice and asking why we were still making troubles. While I tried to explain to her again that we were waiting for more than one hour, that our children were hungry while all the other tables were served, she said that we should stop complaining as it is normal to wait. We have asked her why when we came, we were not told that we will have to wait so much, she replied that it was our duty to ask and not hers to tell. We have asked her to be kind and serve us with missing pizzas and we will sit down when we finish to discuss what has happened. To this she replied that she has nothing to discuss with us and she has accused us that we have refused one pizza which was served to us. To this we said that we did not order that pizza, but she took it out of the kitchen and said that this was exactly our order throwing the plate towards me while saying 'take this if you want it'. As the plate was flying towards me, I have pushed it away and the pizza fell on the floor. The owner-waitress vanished probably to the kitchen and when I went searching for her, the angry cook came out saying that we should leave the restaurant and that he will wait for us outside at the parking lot. We left the place with terrified and crying children, but we could not see the cook outside. Only when we were already in the car we have noticed that the cook was behind us talking on the phone. My husband went out to see what was going on and have realized that the cook was calling the police giving them our car number plate. What to say...!
I do hope my long story will be of a clear sign to those who would like to eat in the pizzeria Ema. It's true they have huge and cheap portions but be aware that if you complain, you might end up beaten by the cook or if you are lucky you will spend few hours in the police station explaining why you have complained. in both cases your cheap meal will be remembered for the rest of your life and your vacation spoiled for sure. For those who don't know, Bohinj has many good restaurants where you will find friendly, professional staff and excellent food served quickly for the same money or even less and you will walk away with nice experience and very good memories. Pizzeria Ema is something we really would not recommend to our worst enemy, but the choice is yours!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the worst experience of our lives!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

after two days of walking in the mountains we arrived starving. The place was packed because of some festival going on, but we got a table. They have quite a vast menu an usually the food was very decent. So me and some 10 friends orderd our food and then we waited. An hour passed, and we didn't think it was too long because of the number of people and we had a pretty good time chatting. But after two hours we saw that everyone that came behind us got their food ages ago, so we asked about our food. The little girl, she must have been around 14 years old, said that they forgot about us and that they will expedite our order. We got the food in about half an hour later and some of the dishes were just plain bad. So we asked, since it was their mistake, if we could get a drink on the house and the little girl came back and said she would pay for it herself, because it was her fault. We really didn't want a child to pay for us, because it was nit her fault if the restaurant took on more that they coul handle, so we tried to talk to the person in charge. It was the cook. So we talked to the cook, and he started yelling at us and pushing almost hitting the girl, saying it was her fault, and that he has been working for 12 hours. He also said that he has a break in 10 min and we will settle this like men and meet in front of the restaurant. The whole kitchen was terrified of him and the girl started crying. We couldn't believe what was happening since our plee was quiet and we tried to stay friendly and civilised. We payed the whole bill told him to forget it and left. But he waited in front of the restaurant with the sleeves up and shouted at our whole group that he is going to kick our a.. after some verbal exchange we left, quite shaken, because we never expected such reaction. Later we wrote what happened to the owner, expecting an apology, but we didn't even get a reply. I am never going back and none of my friends either. I am still sorry that we didn't call the police, because we felt quite threatened by the fat ugly sweaty cook.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radovljica, Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big size pizza`s and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Although the food there is generally speaking good and the size of pizza`s are really incredible, the service is sometimes a bit weak. Last visit at Ema was a terrible experiance. We`have been there with friends and we had to wait for pizza by a far too long...for about 50 mins, and we had to remind the stuff that we are waiting for the food.

Meanwhile, by our neighboring tables (on each side) they ordered after us and they got food before us! That was really incredible! We ordered just two things: and we got one wrong and for the other we had to wait way tooo long!

It`s not all in huge pizza`s...quality of service is equally important!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PIZZERIJA EMA also viewed

Srednja vas v Bohinju, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjska Bistrica, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to PIZZERIJA EMA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PIZZERIJA EMA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.