We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Studor 13

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srednja vas v Bohinju
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Studor 13
Save
You added Hostel Studor 13 to your Saves list
Studor 13, Srednja vas v Bohinju 4267, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Greatest place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I just spent 4 nights here and had a great time. It is in the perfect location to set off on walks in the Triglav national park which is one of the most beautiful regions i have ever been to. It is also situated in a small town so you get the true feeling of a small Slovenian village. The hostel is well equipped and very homely, the owners are really helpful and advised on some excellent walks that I won't forget. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

No backpacker travelling to the slovenian alps should miss this wonderful hostel! Studor is a perfect starting point for hiking tours as well as a perfect place to relax. The hostel is completely renovated, but still spreads the charm of old school alpine architecture and housing. The host family is very nice and helpful. Specially the owner Andy has plenty ideas and recommendations what to do and where to go. After all we had a perfect time and will definitely come back! Accommodation, service, area: stunning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I have to say that this was my favourite hostel in all of Slovenia! The guidebooks really play up the Celica in Ljubljana and the Situla in Novo Mesto, but this one was clearly superior. I also spent one night at Pac Sport's hostel, Pod Voglom, and was disappointed. The place is quite run down, but nicely run (everyone was very friendly and helpful). It is a big place full of groups and not really the place for a solo traveler to meet other people or find any quiet space. I'll review them separately.

Studor 13 was warm, friendly, and beautiful. Take a lovely old-school home, renovate it with love and style, put it in a flower-filled village in a stunning valley near Slovenia's largest permanent lake and you've got Studor 13. Andy was so helpful with advice on things to do and sent me on an amazing walk through the mountains and into old alpine dairy pastures with jaw-dropping views. The hostel felt like a home away from home. It was both cosy and modern. I enjoyed cooking and watching the sunset from the balcony with a glass of wine. Studor is one of a handful of small villages, which is all you will find next Bohinj Lake, a place that is far more beautiful than Lake Bled in my opinion.

Studor Village is about 3km from the town of Ribcev Laz, which is on the lake and has an info centre, supermarket, bike rentals, restaurants, bus stop etc. etc. But is is also within 5-15 mins walk from smaller stores and restaurants with character. It is easily accessed by car and bicycle although I had no problem walking from Ribcev Laz along the new bicycle and pedestrian path through the valley after a hike one day. The views along this walk are positively stunning. And the town of Stara Fuzina, also on the lake, is much closer and also has stores, restaurants and a tourist office in the high season.

The rooms are lovely (there are dorms and at least one private room) and the bathrooms were luxurious. The place is clean, quiet, and has tv, internet, wifi, local crafts to buy, good coffee, and you can ask for beer and wine but the shops are close enough. The hostel is next to a ranch that lets out friendly horses, which you can go feed and pet, and surrounded by homes that seem to compete in maintaining the most beautiful flower boxes. The views from the balcony are amazing; you see the valley and several massive monoliths (steep, solo moutains jutting out of a flat valley). While places close to the lake are cloaked in cold morning fog each day, Studor is sunny and warm! I extended my stay because I had found heaven!

Great place to relax, hike, cook, bicycle, kayak/canoe, swim in the lake, view waterfalls and gorges, eat out, paraglide, ski in the winter. There are quaint museums covering dairy farming and village life and so on nearby and a large water park with saunas and massages and slides to suit everyone. Check out their website and look up other activities in the area. This is a photographers dream. Andy is a photographer and offers courses and his wife works for the Triglav National Park, which is a great place to explore.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had a wonderful few days here back in August, before and after a trek up Triglav. Owner was fantastic and this must be the cleanest hostel i've ever stayed at. Lovely village (though don't expect much excitement) with other villages/lakes/mountains just a walk or cycle away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed two nights here and wished we were staying longer. We slept in the dorm, which we had all to ourselves, but even if it was full there was lots of room, with comfy beds and fresh towels. The whole place is very well looked after, and recently decorated with a lot of care. The breakfast was lovely, fresh bread, jam, cereals, tea, coffee.
We had our bikes to get about, which is probably the best way to get about. I imagine Andy could tell you where to rent bikes if you didn't have your own.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is one of the cleanest and best hostels I've ever stayed in. It's a beautiful house in a very quiet, picturesque village which is about a 35 minute walk from Lake Bohinj. The dorm rooms are spacious, light and airy and the one we were in had a balcony with a fantastic view of the village and the mountains. The owner is super-friendly and informative about the local area and there's a really good, simple breakfast every morning of fresh bread, jam and cereals. We used the hostel for our first and last nights of a walk to the summit of Triglav and it's perfect for this as the routes into the mountains start from just down the road. The owner was very happy to look after some of our baggage while we were in the mountains, another bonus. In addition to the dorm rooms, the hostel has a private double room. The only way I think this place could be better is if they hired out bikes - the hostel is right on a cycle trail but it's too bad that you have to trek all the way to the lake to get your hands on a bike. Anyway, this is a real gem of a hostel in what I think is one of the most beautiful areas of Europe. And if you stay here on a summer Thursday the suckling pig at the Rupa restaurant (about a 20 minute walk away) is well worth making a reservation for!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Can't recommend this place enough. EXCELLENT value. Beautiful, clean, newly renovated rooms. A lovely self-service breakfast. Very friendly, kind and accommodating hosts. Although not located right by lake, the location is manageable. We had bikes and happily cycled to and from the lake each day (approx 10/15 mins). The village and surrounding countryside is beautiful too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Studor 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Studor 13

Address: Studor 13, Srednja vas v Bohinju 4267, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Srednja vas v Bohinju
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Srednja vas v Bohinju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hostel Studor 13 Slovenia/Srednja Vas v Bohinju

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Studor 13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.