We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for four nights in July,(the week we had the heatwave), I have only just registered for trip advisor or would have posted review at the time we stayed. What to say about this wonderful place to stay? it was magical, it was the best bed and breakfast or indeed hotel we have stayed in, the house was beautiful in a glorious location. Izzy, Andy and their team are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them, the breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choice, food cooked to perfection and everything presented as befitting a 5 star establishment, if it were possible we would give the Old Rectory 6 star gold, we felt so at home and whilst we had the smallest room (yellow) it was my favourite, the bathroom was fabulous too, overlooking the garden and very spacious, the whole experience was an absolute delight, we can't wait to come back again, thank you Izzy and Andy for an unforgettable few days in your gorgeous home, Michele and Graeme

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Michelle and Graeme,

What a very generous review. Thank you for taking the time to send it. The heatwave last year seems a distant memory now after this terribly wet winter, but lets hope the weather picks up soon and guests can get out to enjoy the garden soon. I look forward to tea on the terrace once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
145
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Gorgeous rooms in georgian house set in the beautiful Ludlow Hills in Shropshire, I stayed in Yellow Room overlooking the stable yard, comfy bed, feather pillows & duvet, scrummy breakfasts and lovely accommodating hosts - Izzie & Andy. I took my cocker spaniel and horse who also had a lovely time. Fantastic bridleways , Izzie came along too with Tarmac the labrador and Bertie her well behaved horse and showed us the routes around this lovely part of Shropshire. Stables first class with hay and bedding provided. Purpose built brick loose box for Roxy with a well fenced paddock to herself with quality grazing. We'll be back ! Good pub in nearby Ludlow " The Unicorn" highly recommended evening meals as 3 Horseshoes doesnt allow doggies - Their loss! we spent our money at the Unicorn.

Room Tip: Website shows photos of rooms (3 very distinctly different) i'd booked the smaller as travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have wanted to write a proper review to describe this wonderful guest home.....and feel at a loss to describe a most perfect 2 nights...Izzy and Andy were such wonderful hosts, along with their charming son and 2 doggies....we felt that we were treated to a real "home" experience....dogs licking, horses rolling, food abundant and delicious, fabulous bed, tranquil views, and all the help we could possibly want for our trip planning. Izzy even spent time on the phone to help me locate an old friend. ....Most of all, these are genuine people who put their hearts into everything they do and we LOVED and APPRECIATED it.....for our first visit ever to England, I most certainly can't stop dreaming about this special B and B. Thank you so much....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Old Rectory is off the beaten track in the hamlet of Wheathill but the directions given on its website make it very easy to find and it's landmarked clearly by The 3 Horse Shoes pub on one corner and the red post box at the entrance to the property's driveway. A beautiful house offering 3 distinctive bedrooms with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. We stayed in the Green Room which has a super king size bed with pillows you sink in to and it is so comfortable and spacious. The bedroom is very well appointed and furnished with a decanter of sherry on the sideboard and a 'service en chambre' box filled everyday with homemade biscuits, a selection of teas and instant or filter coffee. Bottles of water are also on the side table with china tea cups and Lindt chocolates! Spacious en suite with a stand alone bath and a modern shower cubicle; bath robes, thick (big) towels and ..... hot water! We were greeted warmly on arrival by Izzy and her 2 dogs, Tarmac and Bella, who are very well behaved and very friendly. There are horses in the stables and hens which provide the fresh breakfast eggs and ducks and rabbits galore on the expansive lawn. Afternoon tea was a delicious homemade carrot cake and for breakfast there is a selection of fresh fruits and yogurt, warm croissants and pastries followed by a cooked breakfast of choice. I can recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon; husband can recommend the Full English - with toast and conserves to follow. The place is welcoming, peaceful and relaxing and there is plenty to see and visit in the area. Absolutely no negatives at all.The Old Rectory is a wonderful place and we think that, for the experience offered, it is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 3 rooms to choose from and all are well appointed and very comfortably furnished and equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were very much looking forward to our break in the south Shropshire hills but, after reading the previous reviews, we realised the Old Rectory had an awful lot to live up to – it does not disappoint! Trip Advisor’s almost universal 100% 5 star accreditation from hundreds of previous visitors is unquestionably deserved. The house and its secluded setting are nothing short of idyllic and the greetings, first from dogs, Tarmac and Bella, closely followed by Izzy, the Lady of the House, were warm and genuine.
Everything about our stay was first class; tea & scones served on the patio on arrival; clean roomy accommodation; great breakfast with lots of choice; thoughtful touches including sherry and chocolates in your room; sumptuous towels and bathrobes; comfortable lounge; a wonderful dinner (optional but well worth it at £30 per head); all this and excellent hospitality with a genuine and lasting invitation from Izzy & Andy to share their home. Others before me on Trip Advisor have already paid so many compliments to the standards of this house so I can add little but I can most definitely endorse every word.
The Old Rectory is a hidden gem in a wonderful setting – the surrounding countryside must surely be one of the most beautiful parts of England. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived late afternoon after a three hour drive from Holyhead ferry terminal. Coming to the gate of the long private drive was extremely encouraging. Quintessentially English in an idyllic rural setting, perfectly peaceful and beautiful. A magnificent stallion in the paddock, a stunning labrador to greet us. Chickens and ducks wandered around in front of the stables. The house itself is a gracious Georgian residence. Izzy's warm welcome put immediately in the right frame of mind to enjoy the experience. Stepping inside, the spacious entrance hall led to a delightful drawing room where afternoon tea and a huge home made sponge cake appeared. We stayed in the blue room, which was wonderfully appointed. The bed was soft and enormous. A decanter of sherry, tea and coffee making ingredients,(including fresh milk in a fridge on the landing) still and sparkling water were all available. Attention to detail was outstanding. Breakfast was wonderful; smoked haddock and a poached duck egg, and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were first class.We regret only staying one night, I felt quite changed by the experience, where a night stop
became something very special, and a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon to be greater by Izzy and her 2dogs the dogs were very well behaved and not allowed upstairs or in the dinning room or lounge. On arrival we had Tea and carrot cake (home made) We stayed in the Green room very well appointed with fresh flowers on the sideboard a decanter of sherry a very comfortable ,large bed. television,.Ensuite bathroom with a large stand alone double ended bath,shower all very new and comfortable.
Izzy made us feel very welcome in her home. Breakfast was a choice of full English ,smoked haddock and duck egg scrambled egg. Once or twice a week Izzy cooks a wonderfully evening meal which I was very pleased we decided to book.
Izzy also gave us good advice on places to go and see, and more importantly to eat.
THANKS IZZY a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.