We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gooodvalue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plough Inn

Save Saved
You added Plough Inn to your Saves list
Plough Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plough Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   46 Bushloe End (on B582), Wigston, Leicester LE18 2BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wigston B&B and Inns
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“gooodvalue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we have just stayedd here for 2 nights, lovely room very warm on what must have been the coldest night of the year. staff were very good and friendly. ate in the pub food very reasonable in price and no complaints from us. Breakfast was included and was very good. Will definiteley stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pau, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first visit in the area and stayed over with my son for 3 nights. After a warm welcome, we found the facilities were very adequate, and the room spotlessly clean. All members of staff were very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure that our stay was not only comfortable but also enjoyable, and it most certainly was! The food was excellent, as we enjoyed freshly cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner, and at a very reasonnable price. We would most certainly recommend the Plough Inn as it is excellent value for money for accommodation, meals and comfort, and for the value that cannot be bought : the great friendly atmosphere. We certainly know where we'll be staying when we come in the area : The Plough Inn!! We'll be back!

Liz C

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Plough Inn was recommended to us and we decided to give it a try as it was in a really good location from our usual accomodation. We stayed for one night as we were visiting family in the area. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and attention to detail was exceptional. We were not bothered by noise of any kind and did not hear any church bells during the night. What a refreshing change the menu was, plenty of choice, freshly cooked and delicious. Very good value for money. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We woiuld recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had to stay one night as visiting in the area. The staff are excellent, very friendly and happy to help. The food was really good too-some of the mains are only £5 so dont know how they do it for that price. The room (although a little small) was spotless and had everything we needed for one night except one thing.......EARPLUGS!! Unfortunately, there is a church around 100 yds to the front of the Plough and the bells chime every 15 minutes ALL night. I know this cant be helped but unless you are a very heavy sleeper or the noise doesnt bother you then, like me, you will hear every chime of the blessed things. Also, the room windows open up onto the pub carpark so that can be a little noisy in itself. Having said all this, I would defintely stay here again for the location which is near to my family and for the staff and food. I think all in all The Plough offers really good value for money and if it weren't for the noise then this little B&B would get 5 stars so well done to all.

Room Tip: Take some earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I needed to stay for a short business trip recently. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast included with the room price was superb :) Food in the evening was great as well especially the Sunday roast!!!

The atmosphere was fantastic very friendly and i felt very relaxed and at home. It is a family run pub and i felt like one of the family the staff made me feel very welcome, they were always happy to help and they were nice enough to show me where the local amenities were.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for a short stay. Great value for money and close to the main access roads into Leicester.

Room Tip: Room 7 is at the back further away from bar for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlp15Leicester, Owner at Plough Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi , thank you for your kind comments , we are glad we met your expectations and shall inform our staff of your pleasant stay here at The Plough , kind regards Karl and Diane .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Inn

Address: 46 Bushloe End (on B582), Wigston, Leicester LE18 2BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Wigston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wigston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plough Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karl & Diane welcome you to the Plough Inn, Wigston Leicestershire. Here at The Plough we offer exceptional quality affordable bed and breakfast accommodation in the Leicestershire / East Midlands region.All of our rooms are ensuite and consist of five twin rooms, one double room and one family room with a maximum occupancy of three people. All rooms also have tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing boards, colour television with freeview, hairdryers & trouser presses. The rooms are non smoking and pets are not allowed. The annexe for the rooms was built in 2004 and all rooms have been designed with the comfort of our guests in mind.The Plough offers an extensive menu during the week with breakfast being served from 6:30am till 9:30am, lunchtime from 12:00 midday till 2:00pm and the evening menus from 6:00pm till 9:00pm. On Sunday we offer a traditional "home cooked" Sunday lunch from 12 midday till 4:00pm where bookings are highly recommended to avoid disapointment. Our menus have been designed with freshly cooked to order in mind. All of our produce is locally sourced where possible Disabled access is available and coach parties are very welcome by prior arrangement.Located just of the A599 [old A50] next to All Saints Church on the B582. The Plough Inn, Wigston, Leicester, East Midlands offers a comfortable stay in a traditional English pub. Leicester city centre is just ten minutes drive away with the leicester tourist information providing information on local attractioins such as the Wigston knitting museum, Leicester Race Course, The Leicester Tigers Rugby Gound, Foxton Locks and the Grand Union Canal, along with the National Space Centre - all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.