We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very very special place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levuka Homestay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levuka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Levuka Homestay
Save
You added Levuka Homestay to your Saves list
Lot 3 Church Street, Levuka, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very very special place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this wonderful place. We have been lucky enough to stay in some wonderful places across the globe and Levuka Homestay is a real standout. It's one of those places, along with the surrounds, that when you think of it, it just makes you smile. I think it must be the combination of the fantastic rooms, terrific value for money, the awesome breakfasts, the welcoming manner of the hosts, John and Marilyn, and the 101 other little things that just make you grin from ear to ear when you discover them that make this place so, so special. John and Marilyn are a big part of this experience - their willingness to impart their local knowledge as well as their ability to provide guests an environment to relax and unwind is a winning combination. Ovalau is a great destination in its own right but staying at the Homestay just adds so much more to this fabulous place.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the top floor have better reception for the Homestay's free Wifi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
43
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My third stay at the Homestay was October, 2011 after 5 years. It was like coming home and visiting family. The place is kept in tip-top shape. The staff here 5 years ago are still here and still friendly and happy to help. They're well trained and do a great job. Lots of little extras like fresh cut flowers scattered about the room and bathroom; local Fiji toiletries, such as coconut shampoos and soaps, make it feel like the tropical paradise it is. John and Marilyn are the best hosts. Marilyn's breakfast, if possible, is better than it was 5 years ago. She offers even more delights with fancy breads along with the finest banana pancakes, homemade jams and spreads, of course fresh local fruits, and when you're full she gives you bacon and eggs. You don't need lunch. So, while it still felt the same, it was even better. John shares his wealth of knowledge. His decades of Fiji life lets him tell you all about Fijian culture, what to do and not to do, where to go and what to see, or, some days, do nothing at all. I will be back and am sure it won't be another 5 years.

Room Tip: I had an A/C room, but, at night, the fan was all I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

John and Marilyn are wonderful hosts and we had a lovely time! The rooms are beautiful, superbly decorated with a lot of attention to detail. The breakfast is out of this world. Definitely stay at Levuka Homestay when you come to Ovalau.

Room Tip: all of them are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu, Fiji
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is my first visit to Fiji, and staying at Levuka Homestay with John and Marilyn was the perfect start. Besides excellent rooms, facilities and breakfasts, they both gave their time very generously to explain the Fiji-way. I can't imagine a better way to start my Fijian holiday. Then again, like so many previous guests, I suspect that I will visit again if ever I find I am this way, just to catch-up.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Visiting Levuka with my young family, children aged 5 and 3, and parents in their 70's we were keen for a peaceful, relaxed pace and environment in a beautiful place. Levuka Homestay was perfect. The welcome from John and Marilyn was so warm, and they were great guides to the fascinating history of Levuka and Fiji. We thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the fascinating history of Fiji's first capital, seeing all the old colonial homes, and meeting locals. Tours to visit Silana village and walk the town were great fun. The architecture and design of the Homestay is beautiful, the gardens are lovely, and the breakfasts are superb. We would thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Earlier this year we visited Fiji, and after research and consideration chose Levuka as our base. This historic town where many cultures merged is still as delightful as ever. We stayed with John and Marilyn at Levuka Home Stay and we have only praise and admiration for their facilities, local knowledge and contacts, and most of all friendliness. It was our gateaway to enjoy the real Fiji and visit pristine tiny Islands and snorkel beautiful reefs. Occasionaly you make a plan and get it right, this time we got it perfect. We hope to return often.

Matthew and Sophie

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We spent five nights at Levuka Homestay and we heartily agree with the many rave reviews that cover all of the carefully thought out conveniences and aesthetics of John and Marilyn’s lovely Homestay. Visit the island of Ovalau and the town of Levuka, if you really want to feel the rhythms of old Fiji in an incredibly welcoming town. And stay at beautiful Homestay if you want the opportunity to not only have Marilyn’s amazing and infamous breakfast that sustained us until dinner, but also a chance to have engaging, candid, and informative conversations with both John and Marilyn who are extraordinary hosts with genuine insight into, and appreciation for, the country and Fijian people. Enjoy an opportunity to do a tour with Nox, the very gifted gardener at Homestay and you will also be so warmed by La’s beautiful smile and her attention to detail and beauty in maintaining your lovely room and terrace. The coastal walk with Nox was a highlight as was a day trip across the crystal clear waters to the island of Calaqui and the evening boat ride back under the stars. We also did Epi’s walk, but be forewarned that it can be very muddy for the full 4 slippery hours it took to hike up to his village. The en route conversations and the meal at the end that his wife prepared for us of traditional foods gathered from the land were extraordinary experiences though, and gave us real insight into the culture and the efforts and rewards involved in living off of the land.

Although John and Marilyn will readily arrange a lot of different tours for you around Ovalau (and provide you with very helpful descriptions of them in a folder in your room), Levuka is also a place to slow down and enjoy the quiet pleasures of Fijian life. Homestay is perfect because it’s so quiet and private while still being within very short walking distance to town. Everyone we met in Levuka and the surrounding region welcomed conversation and after a few days, locals were waving to us as if we were old friends. And as we opened ourselves up to the place and people (which happened quickly), these quiet pleasures became truly meaningful and memorable experiences during our three weeks in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Levuka Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levuka Homestay

Address: Lot 3 Church Street, Levuka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Ovalau Island > Levuka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Levuka Homestay - a new experience in bed and breakfast accommodation in Levuka. Stay in the comfort of our home which captures both the 'colonial' and the 'Fijian' themes that are so much part of the heritage of this town. We have become famous for our full breakfast, which is included in the tariff. This should start your day off well, ready to enjoy your day's exploration of Levuka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Levuka Homestay Ovalau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levuka Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.