We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent setting...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haga Haga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Haga Haga Hotel to your Saves list
Haga Haga Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent setting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had the Christmas 2012 week in the new 3 bedroom self-catering cabana- what a magnificent setting. It consists of 3 large bedrooms all sea-facing with balconies, each with their own bathroom and a kitchen, lounge and dining room with uninterrupted seaviews. We decided to treat ourselves to the Christmas eve buffet at the hotel- the food was excellent, atmosphere alive and the staff are always friendly (Rosie & Ivy & all the kitchen/waiting staff)- they all sang to us after the meal. Haga-Haga is a special place, and the hotel & cabanas are the perfect location for an unforgettable holiday. Thank you Neil & Sandy for looking after us so well...

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing but if you can, book the new self-catering cabana- think it is no 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. It means so much that you took the time to add your comments. We do appreciate it and any new potential guests will get great comfort in reading your review regarding your recent stay. Thank you from all the staff and management at the hotel. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the not too distant future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy staying at Haga Haga Hotel. It is ± 45 minute drive from East London - far enough out of town and yet not too far to travel if you have children. The rooms all have beautiful seaviews and are neat, tidy and clean. The staff are always helpful! It is a place to rejuvenate not just the body, but the mind and soul too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Nicola, Thank you for posting a review. Our new guests appreciate the comments previous guests have made and its good to know that you had a good rest and enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a family get together at this very well appointed holiday hotel. We were in a six sleeper self catering cabana which has everything that one requires! Lounge and all three bedrooms each with a balcony are almost at the water's edge! I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the maddening crowds. Family orientated so ideal for families with children!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Elrica, thanks for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. We are happy to hear you had a lovely break and we hope to see you and your family back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was the worst we experienced over our whole three week trip in South Africa which infortunately clouded our view of this hotel as the rates were the top end and we expected better value. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great stay. We aim to please all our guests and we are surprised by your comment re the food as we have never had a complaint about the food we serve as we only use the best quality. We have a wide selection of food to cater for everyone's needs from our al carte menu and you will see from all the other reviews the food standards are always excellent. We are very sorry re the road. Unfortunately the "money" they ear marked to repair the road "disappeared". A typical Government failure year in South Africa!!! We have now been advised the funds have now been sorted out to make the necessary repairs needed. You will find our rates are competitively priced, and you can check this online against other hotels along the coast. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days in Janaury and thouroughly enjoyed it. Food was excellent, quick and a great selection. Rooms were neat and clean with friendly staff catering to all our needs. The beach is superb for long walks and don't be surprised if you are the only person enjoying the solitude. We will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your review which we value. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with the customer service from Management and staff at Haga Haga. The self catering Cabanas are clean and rooms neat and tidy. Kids were very happy with their surroundings and lots of space to ride their scooters.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Shamilah, thank you for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you, Haga Haga Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent three nights over a weekend two weeks ago. We took my parents with who are both in their eighties. The accomodation was superb with great sea views and the food was excellent with the best seafood evening on the Saurday night I have had in many years. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. My parents enjoyed it very much and can't wait to go back ! In my opinion the best coastal hotel in the Eastern Cape/ Transkei Wild Coast area.
Andrew

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Andrew, We appreciate your review, thank you. We aim to please all our guests and work very hard to ensure our guests come back again and we hope you will be back with your parents. We are glad you enjoyed our Seafood and the views. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haga Haga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haga Haga Hotel

Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Haga Haga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haga Haga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haga Haga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.