We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life changing...I hope” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat to your Saves list
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat
192 Syndicate Road, Tallebudgera, Queensland 4228, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tallebudgera
Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Life changing...I hope”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Early days, but I'm hoping that my 5 days at Gwinganna will be the start of a "new" me. Staff are all amazing and so passionate that you cannot help but get caught up in the whole thing. I went as a big sceptic and have come home doing Qi Gong on my deck every morning, eating a better diet, and feeling much healthier (although I didn't lose any weight and don't expect to...the food is fab!)
We stayed in one of the villas which are just beautiful. A view to die for and more than enough space..although you might be surprised at how little time you actually spend in your room.
My only crticism was that housekeeping could be better (floors were some times less than clean and they seemed to have a deep aversion to replacing used toiletries).
I only had one treatment at the Spa, but everyone else (my wife included) raved about it. I spent a lot of my time doing various sessions in the gym and even ended up starting yoga.
Go.....and do Tribal Dance!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
20
76
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gwinganna offers beautiful accommodation, sensational food, the best spa in Australia (if not the world) all within a healthy lifestyle program that sends you home rejuvinated, feeling great and ready to take on the world. I have stayed at Gwinganna five times and on this last trip, there were several other guests who had stayed there four or five times. Why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Ask for the Orchard Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gwinganna Health Retreat is just the balm needed to soothe away the stresses and strains of modern city life, or any life really. Located in a beautiful bushland setting in the hinterland behind the Gold Coast it combines very comfortable accommodation in a range of cottages and villas with delicious organic food, a great timetable of activities in the morning and an amazing spa treatment menu for the afternoon dreamtime. Guests are offered a range of options for the active mornings which start with a cheery 5.30am wake up call, or can just sleep in and sit by the pool if they choose. The staff were all very professional and expert in their fields and very caring, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended, this place can change your life!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have recently returned from a 5 day Optimum Wellness retreat at Gwinganna. The whole experience was wonderful - the situation, the food, the passionate and inspiring staff, the activities and the spa treatments. The talks each day were informative and entertaining.
I would recommend that even the most active guest take some of the yin options eg yoga and meditation. Be sure to take Tribal with the amazing Steve!
I returned after the five days feeling renewed, both physically and emotionally.
The weekend stays are more in the nature of a spa break so I suggest the longer options for real benefit.. Be sure to reduce your coffee and alcohol intake the week before so that you do not experience withdrawals which detract from the experience.
Many people there were return guests or there on the recommendation of a friend who had been previously.
Do it!!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

what an amazing place gwinganna is . a hidden gem ! i opted for a 5 day wellness package and extended by adding a spa weekend. i enjoyed every single minute of this wonderful place and actually cried at the airport when i was leaving. i arrived tired and run down and left feeling re energised and healthy. its up to you how much you chose to partake in the programme. the morning begins early at 5.30 with tai chi followed by a walk or other activity after breakfast there is a stretch class and other physical exercise either yin based or yang based after noon is dream time and what an amazing spa gwinganna has. the food is so lovingly prepared and all organic i wish i could have food like this every nite

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Both my partner & I felt it was a privilege to have spent 5 days at Gwinganna on their 'Optimum Wellness' package. Unbelievable environment for the gym junkie to the sick, catering for EVERY desire. Wonderful, knowledgeable, passionate staff, committed to providing first class customer service. Amazing food! We will make this a regular event in our lives & look forward to our return to Gwinganna. Fantastic chi-ball-drumstick class, so much fun. Thank you All.
p.s. 'Carmen' was full of fantastic knowledge, wanted to bring her home as a personal trainer. Also, give up the caffeine a week before & enjoy your stay more :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I visit this resort two to three times a year. It is the perfect place to recharge. The organic food is amazing and does include meat and fish. The spa treatments are of a very high standard. This is a resort where you can be very active; but if you just want to relax that is fine too. I have been there with family and on my own. It is a resort that facilitates meeting fellow guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat

Address: 192 Syndicate Road, Tallebudgera, Queensland 4228, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Tallebudgera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tallebudgera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a world of busy, Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat stands apart as the destination to help you rest and revive and inspires you to live a healthier life. Whether you stay for a spa weekend over two nights or the popular detox program over seven days, you will connect with supportive professionals who will teach you resilience in the modern world.Australia's award winning lifestyle retreat is surrounded by ocean and valley views in the Gold Coast hinterland, with exceptional facilities including the stunning Spa Sanctuary, one of the largest spas in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy delicious organic cuisine, an extensive range of activities and stylish accommodation including luxury villas. Gwinganna.....for the rest of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat Hotel Tallebudgera
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat Australia/Gold Coast, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.