We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramster Gardens

Ramster Gardens
Chiddingfold GU8 4SN, England
01428 654167
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“May Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Never been here before. Wanted to take our visiting daughter somewhere different. The gardens were delightful and on different levels so that we could take different paths. Just missed the glory of the Azaleas but we could just catch the colour and beauty of what they were like a few weeks ago. The map was very helpful and very clear and we were given a numbered sheet which identified all the unusual trees and shrubs. The tea house sandwiches were freshly made and reasonably priced with a good pot of strong tea. A very enjoyable visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Blooming marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Everything the previous reviewers said and more. This is a beautiful natural garden that has evolved by the same family over many years. The rhododendron and azaleas were absolutely bang on in flower and the sun shone making it all extra beautiful. The way the garden has evolved allows you to view the plants from different angles with views from above and below. At the top of the hill Miranda Gunn has made her own collection of old, hardy, hybrid rhododendrons from 1738 onwards. These are deemed unfashionable, probably because of their size which is not a problem here. We visited with the Surrey Plant Heritage Group and Miranda kindly walked round with us, a walking encyclopaedia introducing us to her "friends". Not just rhododendrons either, they have a superb collection of Japanese Acers now over 100 years old with beautiful mossy twisted stems and huge trees, the more interesting ones numbered to correspond with the list you are given, also the white wisteria clambering over and through the shrubs as nature intended was in flower.
Afterwards we visited the tea shop and had a sandwich and home made cake. We were told the cream teas were delicious too. Give yourself plenty of time, probably three hours or more. We made an afternoon visit having visited Woolbeding in the morning.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful spring garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was the perfect garden visit. The gardens are amazing and full of the most unusual trees and shrubs bursting with spring colour. The blue bells provide a wonderful carpet beneath the magnolias, acers, rhodos and azaleas. They provide a coloured map and also a list of specimen plants. The teahouse staff are welcoming and the food is delicious. I organised a mini bus and Rosie was so helpful with all the arrangements.

I you haven't been here do go, and tell your friends they wont be disappointed. It is a little hilly in places but the slopes are gentle.

The toilets are brilliant unlike any you have seen elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant and peaceful haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Took a group of 26 here on a coach, easy parking for the coach. Reception was easy. The gardens are well laid out and a map is provided. The obvious attraction are the azaleas, camellias, and rhododendrons, but there are many other plants to be seen. The plantings of daffodils, bluebells and primroses are very naturally done. There are much statuary, and a new addition of a family of wild boar carved with a chainsaw from one of the trees that fell in this winter's storms! Of special note is the Millennium Garden, a place to sit and contemplate. Finish your visit with tea and excellent home made cake in the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasurable walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had an enjoyable morning walking around the gardens of Ramster. Some of the rhodedenrum trees were out but not all - even so it was a lovely sunny spring morning and there is plenty to explore and a beautiful lake. Then we had coffee and cake (they do gluten free as well) in the tea room.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramster Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ramster Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramster Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.