We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Grandeur Superbly Restored” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel E Ordono

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel E Ordono
Save
You added Hotel E Ordono to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   J. Peralta y calle Donato Marmol, Gibara 82100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gibara B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Majestic Grandeur Superbly Restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We visited this hotel for an overnight stay as part of an excursion. We arrive in the harbour after a catamaran trip from Guardalavaca and walked through one of the town squares past many tired looking buildings that had obviously seen better days. As we turned the corner Hotel Ordono rose before us as if it had been trapped in time to preserve it's glory. The experience of a bygone age did not stop there. As we were invited into the hotel the entire staff were there to greet us, a mariachi band playing in the reception area. We were all given a cold fruit punch drink and a cold wet flannel to cool us down. Both very welcome as it was in the mid 30's outside. The hotel had been totally renovated and had only been open for 10 months. The place was magnificent, pillars and candelabras everywhere. The rooms were set on galleried landings and furnished to reflect the high quality of of the rest of the hotel. One of the couples in our party had had their wedding the day before at the hotel in playa pesquero and we had informed our guide of this. The guide had a quiet word with the hotel manager and the couple were immediately upgraded to the honeymoon suite. They invited us to have a quick look around the suite. We were impressed with our own room but the honeymoon suite was almost palatial, they took loads of pictures to show their families. The mariachi band had moved from the reception area and had relocated themselves to the roof terrace where we joined a few of the guests for pre dinner drinks. The views from the roof terrace were really good and there was also an higher tower accessible by a spiral staircasethat provided an amazing view of the surrounding area and a sunset from your best postcard. I did not notice an elevator so I cannot comment on access for the disable other than no chance of getting up to the top of the tower. Everything was in perfect working order as other reviewers have stated. I cannot really comment on the food as I was too distracted by the hotels contrast to its surroundings that I would have eaten anything placed in front of me. The staff were the same as the majority Cuban hotel personnel, always smiling, pleasant and helpful to the extreme. Thank you to all involved in making our overnight stay such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Hotel Ordono is a true gem located in the Province of Holguin. The hotel management has done a wonderful job training this exceptional staff. Without a doubt, the best city hotel in the entire province of Holguin. The rooftop terrace is amazing and the rooms (even the standard ones) are well equipped, clean and comfortable. Great place for a quite relaxing getaway.

A great Choice

Room Tip: All rooms are great, upgrade when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights.. its great! Big rooms, nice roof terrace. Breakfast was good. Service and the staff were outstanding! Its a bit expensive for Cuba standards but would go there again. One guy at the reception even speaks a little German!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We saw the hotel, walked in and asked if they had a room. They showed us the 'Enchanted Room' and didn't want to leave! For three days we felt in royalty in our huge huge room with ornately carved and painted 20 ft ceilings and pillars. Showers and air conditioning worked perfectly. The 4th floor terrace had comfortable loungers where we spent many hours reading and relaxing. Recently restored, the whole building was lovely, but it was the staff that made the stay special- friendly, very proud of their town, helpful. They arranged for a guide to see the caves, made suggestions for lunch and day trips. We paid $90 a night, which included a full served breakfast and a mini bar with beer/pop/bottle of wine. The regular rooms for $70 looked nice too but not as ornate and no complementary minibar.

Room Tip: We choose the deluxe room on the top 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here just for one night, as part of a Thomas Cook excursion called Villa Blanca, at the end of January 2014. We were welcomed with a cold flanel, and a glass of juice, whilst a band played.
Rooms are quite spacious, and had all mod cons, and very good air con, I think I read somewhere that they have recently been renovated.
We had set menu for dinner and lunch which was chosen from about 4 choices, the food was very good, and well presented, as was breakfast the next morning.

I think the hotel is only used on a weekly basis by Thomas Cook, and by visitors that are maybe touring Cuba, and just want somewhere to stay for a night or 2, this is such a shame, because that means not enough people are getting to experiance the wonderful hospitality of the staff. We were treated likle royalty.

My friend got chatting to the reception man (I forgot his name), who has to supplement his teaching income by working at the hotel, would very much like if someone would by happy to donate any Spanish/English dictionarys if they are visiting, as these are very expensive and difficult to buy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a cycle tour around Cuba and this was probably our favourite location. The restoration work has been done with care and character and the staff were amazing. Best mojitos in Cuba and fantastic rooftop bar. The rooms are perfect with all modern fixtures and lovely big comfortable beds.
The town of Gibara itself is worth a visit as it is beautiful and quiet, away from bustling big cities.
I highly recommend this hotel and town as a must-do in Cuba, particularly if you want to getaway from the normal tourist traps and experience some perfect Cuban culture and character.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, some with stained glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ordoño I, Relaciones Públicas at Hotel E Ordono, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
We feel proud of your comment, calling us The most beautiful in Cuba . Our authentic culture and natural spots captive our guests, specially our cycling groups. You’ll always be welcome!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel looked good on Trip Advisor; but no pictures could actually capture its grandness. It is a tribute to the contractors who restored this Elegant hotel to its former beauty. We had a car, so arriving at Holguin airport was not a big deal to drive to this seaside town. It you are staying at an All-inclusive they have day trips for lunch. (Indulge). We had the hotel completely to ourselves before Christmas; Dec 9-12, 2013. We had the best room in the hotel-top floor with high high ceilings and columns in the room, ceilings were beautifully painted. Breakfast is included and was the best we had in Cuba--for your standard Eggs, bacon, toast, coffee. There is a restaurant and bar. One of the best features is the Roof top Terrace and sunning area with spectacular views of the Ocean and town. The staff were the best in all of Cuba and we stayed at various places over our month in eastern Cuba including Paradisus de Ore. Reception gals go the extra mile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel E Ordono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Ordono

Address: J. Peralta y calle Donato Marmol, Gibara 82100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Gibara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gibara
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel E Ordono 4*
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel E Ordono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.