We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth finding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Barlow Hill, Wincle SK11 0QE, England
+44 1260 227217
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wincle
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, British, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Village pub in the peak district, close to Leek, macclesfield and buxton. Everyone welcome, all the family, including children and dogs. We are open all day, everyday.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tucked away in the Cheshire countryside this Inn is well worth finding. We arrived late in the evening only 15 minutes before they stopped serving food but were made as welcome as if the entire evening was still before us. This is the perfect pub/restaurant. Interesting decor with information on the pub and its locality. We sat at a table near to the door and were advised to move to another table as the evening had turned chilly - the first example of the care and attention given. I had a seafood risotto and my partner had duck with hoisin sauce and noodles - both we're delicious! Only minor criticism was that we were too full for pudding. Coffee was served with home made Baileys chocolate and it would have been worth the trip just for that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    36
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mmmm, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've lived in this area for 24 years, and this is easily the best restaurant for miles around. It's not always consistently, and it has the odd bad month, but in general, it's an excellent place to eat, whether you want a romantic dinner, or you're arriving in walking boots with the family and the dog.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good lunch after a hike from Rushton Spencer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just had an excellent meal. One of the best Fish and Chips in a very long time. The Chicken main and the sausage sandwich eaten by my son and daughter was innovative, very well presented and delicious. The deserts were very good. We ate outside with our dog but would have been allowed in. The dog was given water and a biscuit. The service was quick efficient and friendly. I had eaten here a week or so before with nine friends when we ordered the Sharing Platters. These were very good value and enjoyed by everyone. The citrus possett desert was even better than mine! It was not on todays menu so its good to know that the menu changes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service second to none.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Wincle for a walk today as its our wedding anniversary. Friends had told us it was a good place to walk so we thought we would give it a go. Starting out late from Sheffield we arrived at 12:30 and decided to eat first. We found the Ship Inn. A gem of a country pub. First thing is the warm but not over the top welcome. Then the food, you can normally find fault with pub food but not this one. I had the steak and ale pie and its the best I have ever had. No fat just nice meat. Pat had pork belly, not strips of pork but a large chunk with perfecly cooked meat with a crackle top to boot!! If you are in the area give this place a try and I hope you will be as satisfied as us. Great experiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had lunch here today with a friend and it was a good experience. The pub is in a beautiful location and is very nicely decorated. We just went for the light lunch option and my oatcake with bacon and black pudding was something a bit different but also local - quite tasty. There were quite a few tempting options on the menu - maybe too many different things for quite a small place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.