We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Barlow Hill, Wincle SK11 0QE, England
01260 227217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wincle
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Little Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We've just had the pleasure of finding and enjoying what this pub has to offer. From the minute we walked through the door with the dog, we were welcomed by the lady behind the bar with a warm welcome and dog biscuits! The pub is lovely and very welcoming, the service exceptional and the food delicious. Great walks very close by. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back. Might even take the kids and parents!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Looks a lot better from outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Though The ship looked pretty from outside, found it pretty dull on the inside. we thought the beer and food a bit expensive. landlord and younger members of staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself and my husband travelled for hours to get to Wincle to trace my ancestors/family tree ,,,, we went into the Ship Inn for lunch ,,,,,, the food was great and the service was great too ,,,, we would fully recommend it to everyone ,,,,, Gill Chapman ,,,,,,,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top top pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great place to enjoy a really nice meal with family and friends - all year round. The landlord and his colleagues work incredibly hard to make sure everything is as it should be and to make you feel welcome.

Sufficiently extensive menu, great quality - and portion size. The beer was pretty good as well.

Will make this a regular jaunt

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Called in for lunch today after finding this place on a dog friendly pub websites whilst we were walking in the Roaches.
It was packed but we found a table. We had a range of food, the baguettes were delicious and the liver tender. Only complaint from me was that the beer choices were limited. Other than that an excellent place to stop.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.