We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chowder and even better dessert!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Country Corner Restaurant

The Country Corner Restaurant
14 Water Street | P. O. Box 40, Brigus, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A1K0, Canada
+1 709-528-1099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brigus
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Chowder, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: The Country Corner is a small locally owned and operated Cafe and Gift Shop catering to tourists and locals alike. We serve a limited local cuisine featuring local fish and vegetables. Our famous Blueberry Crisp boasts local wild blueberries that are very high in antioxidants. Our cod chowder features fresh codfish from our cold Atlantic waters. All our soups, chowders and sandwich meats are cooked daily in our kitchen ie: oven roasted turkey and pressure cooked beef and ham. We cater to Celiac and Gluten Free diet by blending our own flours to make the bread for our sandwiches and baked desserts served in our cafe. We will bake fresh for takeout on request with 24 hours notice. Visit us and find out how good real food tastes.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Chowder and even better dessert!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped in while visiting the area... Nice, bright & friendly place, felt right at home... Ordered the Seafood Chowder and Pea Soup -both delicious! then shared the Blueberry Crisp for dessert, topped by blueberry sauce and blueberry ice cream. It was delicious!! Highly recommend to others visiting the area...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch in picturesque Brigus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Brigus is a lovely quiet fishing village which is nice for walks and sightseeing... and they have a gem of a cafe at the Country Corner to boot! Lunch here is excellent, with delicious fish chowder, sandwiches, and gluten free foods on offer. The blueberry crisp tops off an excellent meal. Service is fast and friendly, and the location is cute and clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good food, good service, lovely atmosphere. Loved the lace curtains and local art displayed. They are open for breakfast & lunch, and close by 5pm - same as the only other cafe in the village.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“best chowder ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although there are many selections on the menu, I only ever have the cod chowder and blueberry crisp special. The chowder is thick with fish, potatoes, delicious seasoning and served in a bowl that is almost overflowing. It comes with a homemade tea biscuit. The blueberry crisp is thick with fresh berries, fabulous crisp top and bottom, covered in blueberry syrup and vanilla ice cream. A filling and satisfying lunch for a very reasonable cost. Excellent service. Too bad they are only open in the summer. One of these days I'll need to try something else on their menu, but their chowder and crisp special is their true speciality and worth every bite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty and good shopping too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The chowder was excellent, the blueberry crisp was excellent, the ice-cream on the crisp was real ice-cream. The coffee was not good though (sorry, it was very very weak and watery). The shop attached was well stocked and had a good number of well priced local crafts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Country Corner Restaurant also viewed

Brigus, Newfoundland
Cupids, Newfoundland
 
Bay Roberts, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Country Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Country Corner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.