We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of an Italian restaurant in middle of rural Wales.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Calabria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Calabria
Llandysul SA44 5JT , Wales
01239 851101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Llandysul
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of an Italian restaurant in middle of rural Wales.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Well worth the trip, and an adventure to find tucked away down twisty country lanes a proper little bit of Italy complete with terrace and fountain.

The pizza was really very good, and the breaded mushrooms on starter menu absolutely lovely. The kids enjoyed their lasagne. Thumbs up from all the family.

Was quiet at lunch tIme when we were there, but I hear dinner on weekend can be busy, so call ahead (long way to go for a disappointment). Also be warned closed Sunday night and Monday currently.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy in the depths of Wales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We attended a family funeral in this part of south west Wales, and the post-funeral meal was at La Calabria.
A very nice buffet was provided, which also included some hot dishes and hot & cold desserts - all was very nice indeed. Their selection of ice creams is most impressive - and VERY tempting too!
It was quite a surprise to find an Italian Restaurant "in the middle of nowhere", and in an agricultural area - a pleasant surprise though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked a table as we were staying in Rhydlewis.The food was reasonable but the service was poor.The staff were not attentive at all,when we asked for the bill we noticed we were being charged for drinks we never ordered,when we went to the bar to point this out and pay the bill was corrected but no apology from the owners wife or thank you.Such a shame we are wary about going back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked this restaurant as it was the nearest Italian to where we were staying. The food was reasonable but the service was very poor. We had to wait quite a long time before being shown to our table, previous reviews have mentioned lack of civility and eye contact from the waiting staff. This is exactly what we noticed. We were just not made to feel welcome. I think this restaurant needs to invest in some customer care training, I don't think a smile once crossed the face of the young waiting staff. Such a shame!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A true Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

One word says it all .... mouthwatering! I have never tasted food like it. Its exactly like as if the restaurant has been transplanted directly from Italy to West Wales. Will definately return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Calabria also viewed

 

Been to La Calabria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Calabria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.