We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand dame with wrinkles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of X2 Kui Buri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added X2 Kui Buri to your Saves list
X2 Kui Buri
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Moo 13 | Ao Noi, Prachuap Khiri Khan 77210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand dame with wrinkles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully located in a secluded spot, ca 1hour drive from Hua Hin. Nice beach, literally unspoilt and deserted. Very warm water (late March) but not crystal clear. The odd stranded jellyfish. Minimalistic Bauhaus architecture blends nicely with the surroundings. Beautiful,large pool with great views to the beach. Compound and.villas in need of major overhaul (woodwork, bathrooms, outdoor seating facilities). Very friendly, albeit not highly professional staff. Room cleaning services deficient. Good, but not very varied food.Overall good stay for a couple of days (limited activity programme). A good 4 star resort risking to slide if not revamped.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
69
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I have to start by saying this resort is perfect if you are looking for peace and quiet in a superb isolated environment.Its about 6 years old and getting a little frayed round the edges,some of the timber walkways are verging on dangerous but that just adds to its charm.My wife and I has spent the first part of our holiday on Cambodia and Bangkok and were looking for a relaxing 4 days but we didn't achieve our objective.We arrived at 1.30,check in was at 2,no surprise that the room was not ready.We were told to sit by the pool or the bar but not given any direction how find them.We settled down by the pool,which is very pretty,right beside Villa 3. We could see you occupants enjoying some sunshine in their loungers as we waited.At around 2.15, no sign of any staff or any guidance re the room,I walked back up to reception,still a delay,but room getting made up.We finally got in to our room at 2.45 and it was the aforementioned Villa 3,which was only vacated at 2.15.The remainder of the day was wonderful as was Tuesday,quite blissful in fact.Tuesday night ,we went out to our villa garden for a drink to find about 20 people in the villa next door eating a carry out in their garden,not quite as blissful.Wednesday we discovered that a photo shoot was taking place with the villa next door being used as a base.The restaurant manager,approached us at breakfast to,let us know,no alternative offered but we could sit in the bar if we wanted to!.We had about 5 hours of noise and disturbance,I complained once,it continued until around 3pm.Great ,we both thought ,peace again until around 1pm the next day when the hotel decided it was time for maintenance,much drilling and banging for the next 3/4 hours and no privacy at all.I mentioned all of the points to,the restaurant manager,he seemed to be the only management available,and he wrote of the price of our cocktails for that nice,which came to the princely total of approx.£8.00 I don't want to appear ungrateful but given our experience this token gesture was verging on an insult.this was such a wasted opportunity,we had high hopes and the hotel had the possibility of delivering but sadly let us down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Only 3.5 hours from Bangkok. It was a real pleasure having a break from hectic city life. The first impression when reached was a good environment. It was minimalist and spacious. The resort will be a very good choice for couples or lovers because of quiet atmosphere. It gave me and my family a quiet time of our own. Staffs were very nice and up to luxury standard. The pool was very nice.

The room was great as well as the ambiance which was simple, but gave a very relax feeling. Another thing i love was petanque field which would be a great activity for family or a group of friends to enjoy together. I have been to many resorts and top hotels,but rarely see this.

For food, BBQ buffet was awesome. That fine dining on Saturday night was unforgettable. I loved the fact that the food was very fresh and yummy. It was one of the highlight of the trip. However the breakfast a la carte should provide more choices of food. Other than that, everything was great!

We stayed there for only a night, but would love to go back there again soon. Thanks! X2.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in the middle of nowhere! Beautiful minimalist design. Great pool. Beautiful trees. Very tranquil. Perfect for those living in Bangkok wanting to escape the city and not feel obligated to do anything but absolutely nothing upon arrival (there is literally nothing around else in close proximity anyway!). Travel time, at least 3.5 hours from central BKK with good traffic. Arranging own driver to/from is likely cheaper than the rates offered by hotel.

A few suggestions;

Villa:
- Pillows were not very comfortable (very high and hard) - am not normally a fussy sleeper but as a result, did not have very restful sleep (which infact was the objective of our trip). We did ask for replacement pillows on our second night, but were brought pillows that were exactly the same, and lack of English language comprehension was difficult for us to explain what the problem was - so we gave up. Was regretting this at 3am in the morning.
Perhaps invest in a variety of different pillow types?

Restaurant:
- Whilst we appreciate that fresh produce may be difficult to come by in this remote area, the dining experiences were just average. Whilst the menu choices were sufficient, it was the actual the quality of cooking that was just ok - not excellent. On several occasions food arrived cold. Service staff also polite enough but not very friendly - a few almost bordering on rude. But on ambiance again, the design was lovely outlooking to the sea. Love the simplicity.
Perhaps the kitchen staff could use some more training in really mastering the current menu items to a higher standard with fuller flavours?

Reservation Staff:
- We really liked the idea that X2 does not tend to daily room service unless requested (so as not to interupt guests), and also promotes that it has no specific check out times unless your room is booked. When i made the reservation, I had requested a late check out via email and received no reply on this.
On the day of our checkout, the reception staff called us and ushered us out very quickly because they had a guest coming.
Perhaps staff reservation and reception staff to thoroughly read all enquiries and improve customer service manner.

General Staff:
- Understand that we are in Thailand, but it would be great if all staff had a good level of English language, also seeings as though a high percentage of guests during our stay looked to be farang. Perhaps some of the above comments would have had better outcomes.

All those comments aside - our overall stay was still lovely!
Our deluxe pool villa was very nice and private. We would be keen to check out the other X2 properties in Thailand also for comparison.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

X2 Kui Buri is truly 7th heaven on earth, or so called "Utopia" where dream met reality, it's just perfect in term of private, accommodation, services and dinning. We stayed at Beachfront pool villa number 3. The most beautiful villa in X2. The villa just a step to the beach and facing to the beautiful sea. We spent weekday 2 nights, it was very peaceful, all we heard was the wave sound, clear sky, warm sea breeze, white sand and crystal sea.The staffs were attentive with beautiful smile on their faces. Food and beverage were super tasty, recommended for squid camari and many selection of wines list and local beers choices, if you need special cocktail, you can just suggest to bartender and he will come up with spontaneous cocktail which doesn't even exist in a menu, I love their services mind, friendly and helpful. It's just a few thing at the restaurant that I would like to suggest the hotel should train them more about table etiquette and manner such as they should bring starter first then main course later after guest finished starter not just bring everything out in one time and also when we ordered different kind of beer they should change the glass. But all of these were just a few thing that didn't effect or destroyed the charming of X2, just only restaurant staff need to be educated a little bit.
X2 Kui buri is perfect for couples who need to getaway from city chaos or bored of big hotel chain. If you like to be in a private, lying on the beach, look into each other eyes, sipping cocktail, spend times together by the sea, watch the star at night just wrap you bag and runaway here. I love X2, staffs and special thanks to hotel manager, K.Supakit who makes this place such a heaven for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose Beachfront pool villa number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We met the driver from X2 at the meeting point, Vacation started right when you walk into the car, cold bottled water and lemongrass scented ice towels....nearly 4 hours for us from BKK to X2 Kui Buri, simply not the shortest drive. But driver had good selection of music for us and rest stop could be arranged.

Service: Front desk was very efficient to check us in and credit card was only requested upon check out. Our driver took our bags to our villa within minutes. HSKP service should only come to your villa upon request, but we found out they still come visit the moment they noticed you left for meals. which is not a bad thing either.

Villa: We had one of the two beach front pool villas. Location is great, we could walk down to the beach anytime (less than 10M away). The villa comes with a deck and a 10M long pool, outdoor shower and a small front garden. Is it 100% private? Not really, but we didn't get bothered much. Maybe twice a day, there were guests who just checked in to the resort wanted to see the beach and they walked and stopped in front of the deck. The moment the noticed we were on the deck reading and tanning, they walked away quietly. We pretty much spent the whole vacation on the deck, in/out the pool, short walk on the beach or quick dip in the ocean. Waking up with the sound of ocean wave and birds was really nice. Water pressure at the shower wasn't the best and the AC in the villa is hard to adjust, it was either on or off for us.... can't really find a good temp. We woke up too cold two nights and one night we decided to have the AC off while sleeing... but we had to turn it back on at 3am.

Restaurant: I know the selection wasn't the best. But there were enough options for our 3 night stay. and they were very helpful to come up with something off the menu.

Location: Since there is almost nothing around it... which made X2 Kui Buri attractive to us. The beach is very quiet, the main pool is also quiet (most villas come with their own privte pool). It's great not to see a lot of people and to be able to walk on the beach without noise.

Over all it's a great place to have a romantic trip or just want to have time to read/chill

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at X2 Kui Buri, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Management Reply
Greetings from X2 Kui Buri

We were delighted to read your review in regards to your recent stay with us here. It is always so nice to hear that our guests have had a great time and enjoyed the various aspects of our resort here for what they were designed to be. Your last line sums it up perfectly, X2 Kui Buri is the place to be if you really just want to chill or be romantic. We do try our very best to make it a very unique experience, so as to match the uniqueness of the location.

Just a couple of notes to say that in fact it is on the menu so to speak, to add some more choice to the dining experiences, but we do also encourage staff to inform guests that they can make personal off menu requests. Normally our chefs will do all they can to accommodate. I was also sorry to hear that whilst you had a great car and driver that it took 4 hours to reach us as normally 3 hours is more than enough. I wonder if it was a particularly bad traffic day?

If you ever wish to come back to stay with us again here at X2 Kui Buri we would be delighted to welcome you again….
Sincere best wishes
The X2 Kui Buri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arranged for the hotel to collect us from Bangkok and drive us back to them. Our driver was very nice and polite and the journey was very comfortable. It's more like 3 hours than 2 but still preferable to flying as you see more along the way.

Reception staff spoke the best English of all the staff around although I can't really complain as I believe if you're going to another country, you should try to speak their language not expect them to speak yours. Anyway, they were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Our private pool villa was beautiful and very comfortable. The pool is a good size and the garden is completely private. Our bathroom was very spacious and had an indoor and outdoor shower.

The property is next to a small village but no other resorts so we were the only ones on the beach and in the sea! The main pool is lovely and looks out to sea.

The restaurant was slightly disappointing as there wasn't enough on offer considering there is absolutely nothing else around. The food was pricey and Thai dishes were limited. One night, the staff offered to cook for us off the menu which was great and just what we wanted.

It's worth arranging for the driver to take you out to Ao Manao and other local areas or sites if you're there for a long time - we were there for a full week.

All in all, we had an amazing time - very luxurious, relaxing and private. It wasn't perfect but it was pretty close.

Room Tip: We had 15 and it seemed to be one of the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at X2 Kui Buri, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Greetings from X2 Kui Buri
Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experiences with us here during your recent stay. We were delighted to read that overall you had such a great time with us.

The main theme of our resort is indeed its quiet, private and peaceful location with deserted beaches as you have experienced for yourself. Of course having this sort of location does lend itself to other issues, such as limitations on produce supplies, that result in the limited menu as you have also noted; this is an area we are focusing on now. However, our restaurant staff are always happy to take personal ‘Off Menu’ orders, again something you have experienced and enjoyed first hand it seems.

Hopefully one day you will have time to come back to us and we will be able to introduce you to some of these new tasty delights we will offer on our menu!

Our best wishes to you, from your friends at X2 Kui Buri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to X2 Kui Buri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X2 Kui Buri

Address: 52 Moo 13 | Ao Noi, Prachuap Khiri Khan 77210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Prachuap Khiri Khan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Prachuap Khiri Khan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — X2 Kui Buri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
X2 Kui Buri Resorts is designed and built with a primary goal that they must "satisfy the spirit". This is partly achieved via architectural design, but more importantly through natural beauty of the location and the meshing of the structures with the canvas provided by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your X2 Kui Buri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x2 Kui Buri Hotel Prachuap Khiri Khan
x2 Hotel Kui Buri
x2 Hotel Prachuap Khiri Khan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X2 Kui Buri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.