We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quarter Deck Villa - especially great for families with little kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Vacation Villas
Save
You added Silver Sands Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Duncans, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quarter Deck Villa - especially great for families with little kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Quarter deck is one of several private villas rented through the Silver Sands booking system. It is a 3 bedroom villa (can be rented with only 2 bedrooms, as we did). The master bedroom has a double bed, while the 2 other bedrooms have 2 twins, which, when placed side-by-side are the size of a king. It was built in approximately 2000 and while it isn't one of the newer villas, it is relatively spacious and quite comfortable. The A/C in all the bedrooms worked well, and we only felt the need to use it at night as the rest of the day the villa gets a good breeze.

My husband and I were traveling with our 1.5 year old son. Quarter Deck Villa is well set up for young children, which was one of our reasons for choosing it. It's all on one level there's only one step to get from the living room to the outdoor eating area - and (big bonus!) that area is surrounded by a railing/gate so our son could not access the pool area without us. This was great, since we could easily let him roam the villa without worry. We could also close the door to the kitchen when he was being a nuisance in there - not that Ms. Jennifer or Ms. Evadney ever complained! They were great with him! All this to say, we were tremendously happy with our choice of villa given his age and the safety aspects required. We are told that Salt Ash villa has a similar lay out.

The one reproach I could make to Quarter Deck Villa is that the bedroom decor is a bit dated, the comforters should be changed (they're fairly worn) and the beds are rather hard. It never kept my husband and I from sleeping - but we did notice the mattresses being rather uncomfortable. Improving these issues would be of great benefit to this particular property. But even with these downfalls, I cannot bring myself to rate it lower than 9.5 out of 10. We absolutely loved the private pool and the meals and attendance provided by Ms. Evadney and Ms. Jennifer, respectively. Quarter Deck is clean and comfortable, it's 500m from the beach - a lovely walk and it doesn't feel far at all. And the beach itself is beautiful. Well worth it.

In terms of Silver Sands as a whole - it's a dream. Most of the visitors are either retired or young families. Everyone was great with our son, and seemed genuinely interested in him (everyone was friendly!) There's limited night life at Silver Sands (though they do seem to want to encourage a bit of night life during the week, but that seems to suit their clientele just fine.

The food is an additional cost to the villa. After doing some research, we thought the price would likely be $100 USD per person for food for a week. We found it to be considerably more than that - closer to $160 USD per person for a week. We are not "big" eaters and usually only had 2 meals per day, so this was a bit more than anticipated. Then again, unlike some other islands, Jamaica is not "cheap" by comparison to North American prices. Mots of the purchases are made from the Villa Mart on the Silver Sands Estate. Some additional purchases (seafood and some meat) were made by the cook, so from time to time we gave her cash for those purchases. We never felt our money was misused. Things just aren't cheap.

Note that alcohol at Silver Sands is also relatively expensive by comparison to other islands too. The beach bar serves cocktails for approximately $7 or $8 USD each (I recommend starting a tab!) That said, the quality of the cocktails is very good (the ingredients are of high quality and not watered down) - Chantal makes full strength cocktails - bless her! The Villa Mart sells beer, wine and liquor. It was approximately $12 USD for the cheapest bottle of wine and $23 for a 750ml of rum. It's comparable to prices in Ontario (Canada), but more than we had anticipated. Again, this doesn't seem unreasonable now that we're more familiar with Jamaican prices - but it's something to keep in mind.

It's important to remember that a tip of 10% (during high season) is recommended to be divided between the staff at the villa. While we initially felt this was quite pricey, they certainly deserve it.

Room Tip: Quarter Deck Villa is located 500m from the beach / bar and is near the main entrance to Silver Sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks very much for posting this detailed review of your stay with Mysilversands at Quarter Deck Villa. I am sure other travelers will find this very helpful, so your taking the time is much appreciated. I note your constructive criticism and I will be taking up this matter personally.

Evadney & Jennifer and all of us at Mysilversands are very happy you had an enjoyable vacation and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    23
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
81
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We always hope this gem is not discovered by too many people. Silver Sands is remarkable, quiet, beautiful and the most relaxing place we go. The staff in the houses truly only want your stay to be peaceful and perfect. Look to see what reviews there are for particular houses to find the one you would like best.

Room Tip: Look for good houses- on the beach is Endless Summer, Red Fox, Eirie Blue, Mai tai and the new Talla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We enjoyed every second of this vacation. Where do I Start? Beautiful , cozy on the beach Villa. Daphne our cook the most meticulous, friendly, organized, helpful, enthusiastic person. Daphne sets a high standard. Daphne takes care of everything, you can be sure to relax. And there is Jillian, a very special young lady, everything she does with joy. You will find little flowers everywhere, laundry done , beds made, Villa clean and much more. We have travelled for many years and we were truly " WOWED" by these ladies with the friendly hospitality and attention to detail. During our stay this week we booked our Sea Spray Villa for 2015. This place is a hidden Gem. Daphne & Jillian Thank you for making this our home for the week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks very much for this glowing review. Since you are seasoned travelers, your praise is highly respected and the fact that you took the time to write here is much appreciated.

We couldn't agree more that Sea Spray Villa Staff are the icing on the cake. I have known Daphne personally for over 25 years and when I think of Daphne, a smile just spreads over my face.

We are very glad that you had such an enjoyable vacation. You can be sure that Daphne and the rest of us at Mysilversands look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Spray Villa next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Eight of us spent a glorious 8 nights at Azure Cove in August of 2013. This was our fourth stay at Silver Sands and it just gets better every time. This is a lovely 5-br villa that is only a few years old. Bedrooms and bathrooms are modern and comfortable. The staff (Edda, Vanessa, and Carol) go out of their way to make your stay all the better. They make you feel like family from the moment you arrive. Housekeeping does a great job of cleaning and laundry. And the cooking - oh my. We enjoyed lots of traditional Jamaican dishes and they were all delicious.

The staff at mysilversands is great to work with. Never an issue there.

The Villa Mart is very convenient. We placed our initial order a few days before we arrived (first 2 meals plus a bunch of beer, rum, and soda). They provide free delivery and it is a secure place to use a credit card. Prices are a bit higher than in the town of Duncans, but it is worth it for the convenience.

We got lobsters, crab, and snapper from John Wesley a couple of times. He is a nice man who always takes good care of us.

The beach - all I can say is wow. It is a short 2-3 minute walk to the beach from the villa. The beach is simply gorgeous and well maintained. We have known Roy, the lifeguard, for almost 20 years. I am proud to consider him a dear friend. The beach bar and grill are nice to have so close by.

We also got a transportation package through mysilversands. The driver, Guy, was both friendly and entertaining. We did the following "road trips":
* Mystic Mountain and Dunns River Falls. The bobsled ride is an absolute blast.
* Rockland's Bird Sanctuary - Love it there.
* Turtle River Falls and Gardens and souvenir shopping in Ochi. This place is a hidden gem and is stunningly beautiful

My wife's birthday happened to be on a Saturday. We did the short walk to Leroy's bar, where Doug E. Fresh had a bon fire right on the beach for her. Then we danced the night away to the live reggae band.

All in all another perfect stay at Silver Sands. This was our fourth trip, but certainly not our last. Silver Sands is a wonderful place to stay with a group of people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
From your post, it is clear you all sure had a blast! Thanks for the great review which shows you have really come to know and love Silver Sands like an Insider.

You did not mention it, but I am sure you have also realized that when you shop at Villa Mart, it is so easy to return anything you do not want or use for a full credit. When guests shop off-site, at the end of their stay, they may leave behind a considerable sum in unused groceries. So the little saved in shopping elsewhere is more than lost.

FYI, Roy is now retired from lifeguard duties, but we still see him around as he is great friends with all of us at Mysilversands. Fi real!!!!

Mysilversands hopes it's not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you on your fifth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We adored our 2-week vacation at Seagull Cottage. The setup of the cottage worked perfectly for my husband, son, sister, brother-in-law and nephew. We would definitely recommend Silver Sands to other friends and family members. Cheryl and Molly were very accommodating - great Jamaican food - loved the hearty breakfasts. Enjoyed the convenience of hiring a minivan for frequent excursions - to Mayfield Falls, Black River, Negril, Cranbrook Flower Forest, Rocklands Bird Sanctuary. Drivers LaSells, Rickey and Patrick were great. We also hired Ken Gracey (from Brampton) of Doctorbird Tours to go to Kingston - excellent guide. John Wesley kept us in fresh fish. Shane's Villa Mart was well stocked and very convenient. Snorkeled one mile out from the beach with Mouftak - beautiful. Would love to return … hope to soon.

Room Tip: Seagull Cottage is two minutes from the beach; beach stairs are right across the road from the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very happy that Seagull Cottage suited your needs and that you will recommend us to your friends and family. Many of our guests rave about the villa staff and I am sure that Cheryl and Molly will be thrilled to know that you not only appreciated their efforts but that you also remembered them and mentioned them on TripAdvisor.

Many of our guests find Silver Sands too relaxing to leave for tours, but your report on all the trips you did with our excellent and safe drivers shows that you really took advantage of the Mysilversands services to explore the island and some of its more popular attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angmering village
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

WE have recently returned from a fantastic holiday at Queens Cott, 4 friends it was amazing the cottage is staffed by Nadine a wonderful cook, and Sharon the housekeeper, they made the stay very special. It has a wonderful beach just steps from the terrace, the sea is beautiful clean and safe. It is a gentle place,if you want night life disco's etc suggest an all inclusive hotel, This is a chill out venue. Will definitely return, we were there for 10 days and arrived back in the U.K. totally refreshed. Thank you again Nadine and Sharon for looking after us so well. Veronica, Vanessa Ian and Jill

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Mysilversands appreciates your taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback, telling others how the talented cook, Nadine, and housekeeper, Sharon, at Queen's Cottage made your stay special. You are right, Silver Sands is not the place for those wanting a lot of nightlife. As you pointed out, it is a quiet relaxing place with a beautiful beach, something that everyone needs from time to time. When you are ready, we will be happy to welcome you back to Queen's Cottage and Silver Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Saltash Villa & this house was wonderful. Although, compact compared to Pineapple Villa (which we stayed in 3yrs ago it felt homie & comfortable!
We take a family trip every 3yrs & this was the 1st time everyone got their own place. In total we had 15houses of various sizes. Everyone came & went from each house & we'd meet @ the bar area for karaoke & nightly entertainment unless we went out. Shontell who runs the bar is excellent!
As for my Villa Mrs. Elaine & Mrs. Adith were wonderful from beginning to end. We laughed together, taught each other about the cultural differences & Mrs Adith was on the ball negotiating w/ local fishermen & produce men!
I love silver sands in fact my Fiancee & I took our parents for the first time & next year they want to do another trip.
My only downfall is being younger I'd like to try an all inclusive resort 1, but if your looking for a place of total relaxation & seclusion unless you choose to go out. This is perfection!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premchad, Manager at Silver Sands Vacation Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I have no hesitation in telling you that all the staff at Mysilversands and all the villas' staff were extremely happy that your family reunion was such an enjoyable occasion. As you have discovered, Silver Sands offers a goldmine of opportunities for groups, whether they be family reunions, weddings and other celebrations, as the accommodation available is diverse with something for everyone - from small cozy cottages to large luxurious villas with amazing amenities. Individual houses give everyone privacy and "down-time" when they need it.And of course, Mysilversands will help you every step of the way, from your initial planning to when we say our goodbyes. Thanks very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Vacation Villas

Address: Duncans, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Duncans
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duncans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Hotel Jamaica
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Jamaica/Duncans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.