We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOved Primrose Path Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Vacation Villas
Save
You added Silver Sands Vacation Villas to your Saves list
, Duncans, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOved Primrose Path Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just got back from a week at Primrose Path villa in Silver Sands. It was wonderfull!! The house is spacious and well appointed. But what really makes Primrose Path is the staff. Jackie and Dion were great at taking care of us during the day. Jackie prepared delicious breakfast and lunch, and Dion kept the villa sparkling. They are two of the sweetest and friendliest ladies we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. And, Sheldon the night chef was fantastic! There wasn't anything he would not do to make you comfortable and happy. He was at our beck and call, and we so appreciated him. And he can really cook!!
This was our 3rd vacation at Silver Sands and by far our best! The mysilversands.com staff was the best as always.Looking forward to returning to Primrose Path and Silver Sand next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    27
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
87
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from Winedown Villa in beautiful Silver Sands. We were a party of 6 adults and 4 children and the house was large enough for everyone. The bedrooms are comfortable and common areas nicely furnished for relaxation. The pool is large but not too deep for smaller kids and the adults can still enjoy it.
The ladies at the house - Dassie and Olga - are wonderful. They will prepare anything you ask them to and did multiiple loads of laundry for us, folded and dry in no time. The food was all excellent. They prepared traditional Jamaican dishes and more North American favourites for those less adventurous eaters.
We had perfect weather and were able to enjoy the beach every day. On windy days the waves were great for boogie boards and on calm days the snorkelling was excellent. We took a trip with Errol out to the reef as well, which I highly recommend. Snorkelling down along the far end of the beach past Santa Margarita is the best, past the deserted beach and old dock. Saw several sting rays, star fish and conch.
The only problem we had the whole time was related to the little "no see-ums" which were out in force in the early mornings until about 9am and they arrived again about 4pm. We closed up the house but because the shutters have no screens, the house gets very hot and the bugs can still get in through the gaps. Luckily the bedrooms are screened and air conditioned so we retreated there early in the evenings when the OFF and Deet were no longer keeping them away. But then we couldn't enjoy the house with everyone. It would be a huge improvement if this lovely house had screens on the shutters in the common areas/kitchen. Otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the third time we have been to SilverSands but the first time we have stayed in Rum Jetty. This is easily the nicest villa I have ever stayed in and the first time I have had a private beach all to myself. Sitting out on the veranda in the evening just a step away from the sea is magical, the staff were wonderful and the meals delicious, particularly the breakfasts!
If we ever come back to SilverSands, which I'm sure we will, we will definitely be staying at Rum Jetty!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First let me start out by saying that this was our fourth trip to Silver Sands in the last five years and as always the staff of mysilversands was first class all the way. We were met at the airport by a representative from Silver Sands and the nine of us were quickly transported to the villa. Our staff of three - Hedda, Carol & Venecia - were there to meet us when we arrived and we quickly settled in and unpacked for our ten day stay.

Azure Cove is one of the premier villas at Silver Sands and it is only four years old, so we had some pretty high expectations. We had previously stayed at Ebb Tide, Windjammer & Kammar which are very nice older villas, but all three were kept in spotless condition. We did not always find this to be the case at Azure Cove. When we arrived the pool and hot tub were in less than clean condition and remained that way the entire ten days. The water clarity was fine, so the proper amount of chemicals were being used, but we only saw the pool guy a couple of times & all he did was sweep the dirt around on the bottom. The hot tub also never functioned properly as the temperature was always too hot & it never went down no matter how much we tried to adjust it. We took to bailing the hot water into the pool and adding cold water from the hose just so we could use it in the evening. So this was a little disappointing. The other cleanliness issue was with the floors in the villa. In the previous ones we had stayed in, the floors throughout the villa were washed on a daily basis and the poolman would keep the pool deck clean. This didn't seem to be the case here, as the bottoms of my feet would testify to.

The three girls were lovely ladies and always treated us with kindness, and if we had not been to the other three villas we probably would have thought everything was fine. Hedda is an excellent cook and we enjoyed many nice dishes (her mac & cheese casserole is the best). But what she didn't do was provide any of the nice extra's that the other cooks would do. We asked her several times to make festival and only got it the final meal. We brought nice roasted yams back from our jerk guy and asked her to do a yam & cheese casserole we had at a couple of the houses. She assured us she could do it, but the next night they just came out roasted and not very appealing so this was disapppointing. She made one bannana bread (after being proded by one of the girls in our party) and one key lime pie, but again only after being asked. The other cooks would be suggestting things like calloo, corn meal cakes, festival, goat, desserts, etc.

I'd like to say we never complained about any of this to them, because in reality it didn't do much to hamper our vacation. The mysilversands staff called several times over the ten days to see how we were doing and we told them everything was fine. With a little more attention to detail, I'm sure these issues could be resolved.

As far as Siver Sands is concerned, all I can say is what a great little piece of paradise this place is. The mysilversands staff and the staff at the Villa Mart & Bar are all top notch people who should be proud of the great job they do. The swimming beach is beautiful with fine white sand. It's a great area to vacation with lots of things to do close by. If you've tried the all inclusives and you'd like something a little more homey & slow paced, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Twelve of us stayed at Pineapple Villa in early February. For some of us this was the third trip to Silver Sands. The staff, house, along with the entire Silver Sands experience, was just excellent. Two of of couples said it was their best vacation ever, they were not inexperienced travelers. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 5th. annual march trip to Silversands and the second stay at Saltash. After a week in Negril, it was a nice change to relax in Duncan,s Bay. The lady,s at Saltash are super nice and the food is always top of the line. We had everything from jerk chicken to chicken lasagna, grilled pork loin, and I even had some private baking lessons, learning to make one of my favourites, gazzoda,s. We really like the layout of this villa, there are garden doors from the master bedroom that lead right on to the pool deck, and breakfast and lunch was served at the really cool bammboo dining set, poolside. The kids enjoyed the pool, and the cable tv,although I would rathere they didnt watch it on vacation, they are kids though. Its only a short walk to the beach where they played in the waves most days. If your looking for a quiet relaxing vacation Silversands is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our 19th trip to Jamaica, which we obviously love, and our second trip to Silver Sands. This villa was definitely worth it. Amazing food--Miss Una and Scotty were fantastic--Christopher took care of our needs and started our days with Blue Mountain coffee. Miss Alice kept the place spotless, which wasn't easy with 6 teenagers with us. Our vow renewal was special as well, with Pastor Derek Bennett ensuring our happiness.

We always felt very welcomed, safe and secure. Having 6 teenagers at a resort can be scary, but we had no qualms here. The kids could run wild and I was not concerned. Fresh lobster one day, cocoa bread the next, the food went from high to high! Perfect chocolate cake, perfect pineapple upside down cake....never have I had it so good in the tropics.

I highly recommend Jamaica, and especially Endless Summer for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncans
29.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
13.1 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
21.5 mi away
Half Moon, A RockResort
Half Moon, A RockResort
#4 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Vacation Villas

Address: , Duncans, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Duncans
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duncans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Hotel Jamaica
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Jamaica/Duncans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.