We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at Saltash, as good as the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Vacation Villas
Save Saved
You added Silver Sands Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Duncans, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
windsor ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Our second stay at Saltash, as good as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 5th. annual march trip to Silversands and the second stay at Saltash. After a week in Negril, it was a nice change to relax in Duncan,s Bay. The lady,s at Saltash are super nice and the food is always top of the line. We had everything from jerk chicken to chicken lasagna, grilled pork loin, and I even had some private baking lessons, learning to make one of my favourites, gazzoda,s. We really like the layout of this villa, there are garden doors from the master bedroom that lead right on to the pool deck, and breakfast and lunch was served at the really cool bammboo dining set, poolside. The kids enjoyed the pool, and the cable tv,although I would rathere they didnt watch it on vacation, they are kids though. Its only a short walk to the beach where they played in the waves most days. If your looking for a quiet relaxing vacation Silversands is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
73
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our 19th trip to Jamaica, which we obviously love, and our second trip to Silver Sands. This villa was definitely worth it. Amazing food--Miss Una and Scotty were fantastic--Christopher took care of our needs and started our days with Blue Mountain coffee. Miss Alice kept the place spotless, which wasn't easy with 6 teenagers with us. Our vow renewal was special as well, with Pastor Derek Bennett ensuring our happiness.

We always felt very welcomed, safe and secure. Having 6 teenagers at a resort can be scary, but we had no qualms here. The kids could run wild and I was not concerned. Fresh lobster one day, cocoa bread the next, the food went from high to high! Perfect chocolate cake, perfect pineapple upside down cake....never have I had it so good in the tropics.

I highly recommend Jamaica, and especially Endless Summer for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in Pot O' Gold; the most affordable and smallest villa available. It was a worry free vacation all around. They pick you up at the airport with an ice cold Red Stripe. Just the drive to Silver Sands was amazing, our driver Billy gave us quite the history and tour along the coastal route to Trelawny.

We were met by our maid/housekeeper; of whom quickly became like family and we hated to part from her. We thought it would be very awkward having a maid; but she made us feel right at home, made us authentic meals, took us to a near by fishermen's beach to buy lobster, and we even made her meals, as we are not used to be waited on. We even gave her a day off, that she truly appreciated. The staff at the Villa Mart were most helpful and very inviting. Our villa was right next to the Villa Mart and Bar and grill, which was not loud at all, a lot of cars in the day, but we were at the beach most of the day anyway. And, the bar was closed sometimes by 8 o'clock, we were never bothered by noise.

The maid keeps a tab with the Villa mart that you pay when you leave. For two of us we only spent $250.00 US in 7 days, that even included things to bring home, a couple beer, case of pop etc. You also make a tab at the beach bar and grill... the drinks are DELISH! I suggest trying a Dirty Banana and their Pina Coladas are wondrous too. It was so convenient to have a tab, so you could be lounging and swimming and just run to the bar for a quick drink that you can take right back to your lounge chair. The beach grill made amazing jerk chicken too.

We got hooked up with Errol, the fishermen that takes people out snorkeling to a near by reef(about a mile out) and fishing as well. We went out snorkeling for an hour and it was only $15 a person and they supply the flippers and snorkels. I was worried that I couldn't back in the boat, but his helper pulled me right in. ;-) The reef was GORGEOUS we saw: sea turtles, fish every color of the rainbow, stingrays, schools of squid, jelly fish, sea biscuits, urchins, large fish, sword fish schools, conchs, etc. We also went fishing one morning, it was $150.00 for 3 hours; they supply the fishing rods, bait, and guide. We didn't catch anything, but our guide; Mustaq caught 4 sword fish and a huge water-back Jack. We gave him the fish except one that we brought back for our maid to cook. WHICH WAS AMAZING, of course! It is not high class fishing, it was in a 15 foot Boston Whaler, broken off fishing rods, but it was well worth it and was a experience of a lifetime. Down the road, you can spend $650 for 4 hours of fishing, so being able to fish right at Silver Sands for that price was grand. Even if you do not want to go out snorkeling, you can snorkel right off the beach, like 10 feet, there is a reef, and you can see schools of fish, conch shells, etc. The beach and water were just amazing.

We went on one day tour; which the driver that picked us up gave us his card, he said if you need to go anywhere, call him. So we called him and he hooked us up with another driver Melvin. Silver Sands only lets certain driver come in, so you know that it is safe. Melvin took us to Green Grotto Cave, Dunn's River Falls and Scothies Restaurant (amazing jerk chicken.) The ride was about $100.00 + tip. The cave and Dunn's were kind of a tourist trap, and the vendors at Dunn's River were very awkward. I'm glad we had a day of traveling, but next time I would rather go off the beaten path and learn more about Jamaica and meet the locals. Talking to our driver Melvin was the best part We asked him like 5,000 questions about his country, customs, etc. and so forth, and he was very pleasant and seemed not to be annoyed. He even made Rum Punch that night and brought us some by our villa.

The hospitality that the Jamaicans have is amazing. Everyone is SO laid back, caring, from the drivers, to the Villa Mart staff (Shane and the girls were awesome), to the lifeguards, etc. When you leave it feels like you are leaving your friends.

The villa itself, was not that up to date, but we kind of new it wouldn't be, and for the price and the wonderful service we received, we are not complaining. There was two flat screen TVs. No internet, which sucked, but it was a blessing, and we could not even get on the internet on the patio, because we booked with a different company and could not get the code. It was very nice to be 'disconnected' from life back home!

Seriously, nothing bad to say about Silver Sands. It was a trip of a lifetime, I have never been so carefree ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I just stayed a week at Saltash and enjoyed every minute from start to finish. Elaine an Aldith are the most amazing care takers and spoiled us our entire visit. Villa was just perfect for the two of us, the pool and view of the sea was incredible! Elaine's cooking was to die for, you must ask her to make her banana bread and lime pie. I could go on and on, but if you are looking for a great place and wonderful care, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Unit 7, Nutshell, for 2 weeks at the beginning of Jan. We had a great time with 2 other couples. We also were very spoiled by the 2 maids, Mavis and Natoya, who looked after cooking, cleaning, and washing, and making our stay such a memorable vacation. The villa has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a relaxing hot tub.

This unit is 30 metres from the beach, great location. Lounge chairs and cabana's are available for free. Beach towels were supplied by our villa. There is a small grocery store at Silver Sands, 70 metres from Nutshell. It stocks the basics along with beer and hard alcohol. There is a bar and a restaurant over looking the beach.

Silver Sands Estates is a gated community with security at the main entrance and security guards throughout the property. We always felt safe on the grounds.

We walked around Silver Sands everyday morning enjoying the peacefulness and the great views of the island. By the time we got back Mavis had cooked breakfast for us, whatever we wanted. After breakfast we would relax and read a book on the beach. We ate meals when we were hungry, Mavis is a great cook!

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from silver sands hang time we had a absolutely amazing trip. The villa was exactly what we were looking for. Our maids name was Lucile cooks name was Ingrid they were accommodating in every way. Best of all we have been going to Jamaica for the last 15 years and we have made some great friends along the way. Our friends were able to come to our villa n hang out n break bread with us. I really can't say enough good things about our trip to silver sands. I will never stay at a all inclusive resort again after our stay at silver sands

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Grandma & Grandpa Clayton finally made the trip to see what our annual excitement was about. They were tended to with exceptional care and hospitality by the wonderful staff headed by Jackie. Dionne ensured their every comfort, while Jackie and Sheldon worked culinary magic with our meals. Even the care-taker brought his ray of sunshine while tending to grounds. Grandpa plans to bring his fishing rod on the next trip & Grandma announced she will certainly be back too! The beach was their play ground and the villa was the palace. :-)
I firmly believe that we are all entitled to be treated as Royalty once ever so often, and when at Primrose Path there's no doubt we are!! LOL!! Thanks Jackie, Dionne & Sheldon!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Vacation Villas

Address: Duncans, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Duncans
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duncans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Hotel Jamaica
Silver Sands Vacation Villas Jamaica/Duncans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.