We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than any 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Birdwood House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auckland Birdwood House B&B to your Saves list
Auckland Birdwood House B&B
12a Moore St, Hillcrest, North Shore City 0627, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than any 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Its is a beautiful house decorated with the best taste by their wonderful hosts, Barbie and David. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and beautiful. The bathroom is spotless and spacious with a nice shower. Even the towels are heated. The breakfasts were delicious banquetes. The Birdwood house is conveniently located in a nice residential area not too far not too close to the noisy city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave&Barbie, Owner at Auckland Birdwood House B&B, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your helpful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Comfortable beds, clean facilities, and a bountiful breakfast is what we believe a B&B should be all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Thank you Barbie and David for a wonderful, relaxing stay following our wedding in Melbourne. The breakfasts were incredible, and we felt very well looked after. The room we stayed in was lovely - you have thought of everything! The little bottle of port and the chocolates were my favorite touch. If we are ever back this way again we will be coming straight to you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Thank you Barbie and David for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home. Everything was done to a high standard, decorated with beautiful art. As we are in the same business we have a good idea what makes a good Bed and Breakfast, you were perfect hosts. We stayed in the Kereru room, it was spacious very comfortable with en-suite. The breakfast table was layed fit for a queen, we choose the continental breakfast which was lovely. We would highly recommend this place to stay . We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay in Birdwood. Excellent location with easy access to all main touring routse. Beautiful bedroom and exceptional breakfasts. Excellent hosts made our first trip to New Zealand very enjoyable and one to remember. Definitely Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at Birdwood house. The room was very comfortable with many thoughtful touches. Barbie and David are excellent hosts and the breakfasts were the best we had during our whole trip. North Shore is across the water from the CBD but there is an efficient bus service to take you into Auckland and driving there is a doddle if you are used to British roads! I would recommend his B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Our final weekend in Aukland couldn't have been better under the care of Barbie and David in Birdwood House. Superb food, clean and luxurious rooms, helpful and meticulous hosts and breakfasts to die for!! Without knowing much about Aukland we were not sure where to stay but North Shore proved very handy to travel into the city centre and Ferry terminal at Davenport. ThiS b&b is highly recommended to all future travellers- you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Birdwood House on 30th and 31st January and Barbie was the perfect host. Her home is very elegant and the Tui bedroom and bathroom were spacious and luxurious. Breakfasts were superb with lovely homemade preserves. We could not have asked for better accommodation in Auckland, only wish she could have a B & B in England!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Birdwood House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Birdwood House B&B

Address: 12a Moore St, Hillcrest, North Shore City 0627, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > North Shore City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Shore City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdwood House is located in the North Shore suburb of Hillcrest, 15 minutes from Auckland CBD. Enjoy our newly restored colonial farmhouse-style villa, wrapped with verandas and surrounded by native bush with mature trees on one side and a courtyard on the other. Featuring the very best of old and new, you can expect beautifully appointed rooms with quality linen, and a superb two-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auckland Birdwood House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Birdwood House B&B North Shore City, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Birdwood House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.