We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Out of a Fairy Tale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burg Trendelburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Burg Trendelburg to your Saves list
Hotel Burg Trendelburg
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Steinweg 1, 34388 Trendelburg, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Right Out of a Fairy Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed only one night our way to Dresden, but wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities, especially the spa. Although the rooms are modern and spacious, the hotel has retained the look and feel of a fairy tale castle throughout the public spaces, complete with creaky stairs, dark wood paneling, and filled with medieval relics - museum meets luxury hotel. Splurge for dinner also - it was one of the best dinners we had.. Truly a unique spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This castle was awesome! The decor, the facade, the bedroom - they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite with the duvets arranged in a heart. The food at the restaurant was also excellent. The staff was very attentive - I didn't get the name of the receptionist, who doubled as our waitress, but she was pretty awesome: Friendly, good with recommendations, spoke fluent English, and she was always on hand whenever we needed her, yet gave us a lot of space and privacy during dinner. Wifi was also available. It was a very quaint and charming stay. Even the toiletries smelled divine. I can't recommend this place more. Totally loved it. I felt this was one of my best hotel stays ever and definitely one to remember fondly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one night in this 700 plus year old castle. The rooms are large, filled with antiques, and completely lovely and charming! The beds are made up quite romantically with the blankets folded into a large heart shape. It is fun to open closet doors and find your bathroom in one! Lovely set up and excellent free wifi service which was a great surprise! We ate dinner and enjoyed drinks with a majestic view over the area. What a fun stop on our Fairy Tale Road adventure.

Room Tip: Pack light...you might have 3-4 flights of stairs to carry things up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My fiancé, daughter (11 years old at the time,) and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in July 2010 as one of our stops on the Fairytale Road. It was around $200 a night. We are independent travelers and never use tour guides or travel agents when traveling in Europe (just Rick Steves travel books) and we just happened to stumble upon this hotel on the internet so we were not sure what to expect. We really wanted to stay at Sleeping Beauty’s castle in Sababurg but it was booked for the dates we needed. We did visit it though.

As another reviewer has already stated this is a 700 year old castle. The castle itself is beautiful and the scenery was amazing. We really enjoyed exploring the castle and the surrounding area. The only down side was that they don’t allow anybody to go into the tower which is a shame since this is “Rapunzel’s Castle.” The front desk staff was friendly and they spoke English. There was a wedding taking place at the castle one of the days we were there and, as a newly engaged person, I think that would be a magical place to get married at! There isn’t much near the castle in the way of grocery stores or tourist attractions and a car is pretty much a necessity to get around in the area and along the Fairytale Road route in general. We used the castle as a launching point to make day trips to other points along the Fairytale Road.

The restaurant at the hotel has amazing views of the country side and we really enjoyed the continental breakfast. If I remember correctly the breakfast was included in the price of our room. Dinner wasn’t bad either although we only ate dinner at the castle one night.

As another reviewer already stated the castle has no a/c which was a problem since it was very hot in Germany when we were there and our room did not have a cross breeze. It was cool at night outdoors but since our room wasn’t positioned to have a cross breeze it was very hot in our room since there was no air circulation. Thankfully the front desk had a small oscillating fan that they were able to lend us. That made the room a little more comfortable at night but still not great. The room wasn’t comfortably cool until we opened the window in the room and propped the hallway door open. That created a cross breeze but of course we couldn’t sleep with the door open. The door also had some type of sensor on it that beeped when the door was left open but if you just ignored it for a minute or two it would stop so we were able to keep our door propped open when we were not sleeping.

Our room had one full size bed so my daughter and I slept in that and my finance slept on the floor. He rock/mountain climbs as a hobby and he had brought the pallet he sleeps on while hiking/climbing just for situations like this so it wasn’t a huge deal. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not so much. The room was a decent size though especially considering this was Europe and rooms tend to be much smaller on average than they are in the United States. It was very quite at night even with the window open. The castle sits up on a hill overlooking a very small town so there was little to no traffic. The sunsets were amazing from our room though and in the absence of city lights the stars were very visible from our window at night. It was magical.

The room had a private bathroom with shower (with great water pressure and plenty of hot water) but the shower was in a weird location. It was actually detached from the bathroom and was in the entrance area of the room so my fiancé had to leave the room when my daughter and I took showers and we left the room when he took a shower. The fact that the shower was located in the bedroom area didn’t do much to help with the heat situation in the room since all the steam only made it hotter in the room. I cant remember if there were wash clothes in the room or not. I learned a long time ago to bring my own wash clothes when I travel in Europe since they aren’t a given like here in the United States and I recommend you do the same if you are use to using one.

There was no wifi connection at the hotel which was an issue for us since we are independent travelers and don’t use travel agents or guides and as a result we book hotels and research what we want to do in the area as we go. As another reviewer stated though there was a T-Mobile hotspot in the area and we were also able to pick up a weak signal on it for our laptop.

There is no elevator in the hotel so if you have a problem with climbing stairs and/or travel with lots of luggage like I do and don't want to lug it up flights of stairs this might not be the place for you to stay.

All things considered this was a great place to stay. It was very exciting for my 11 year old daughter and I highly recommend you stay at a castle along the Fairytale Road especially if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

It´s romantic. It´s spooky. It´s a fairytale. It´s also a bit worn down but I´m planning to go back because of it´s charm and history. I just love the place. My first visit there was 1989, my second twenty years later in 2009. It will not take twenty years until my next vist.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night while doing a self-planned trip up the fairy-tale road. The staff was exceptional. When we arrived, the manager checked us in, then walked us to our room. We'd reserved the room without asking for anything for our kids. They had upgraded our room, plus gave us an extra bed and a play pen for our son and daughter. The room was huge. It had nice touches to it. At dinner and breakfast, they already had a table set up for us, including a high chair and a gender specific napkins for our kids. They really thought about us and tried to make things easier on us. The food was good, but pricey. The waitresses were great. They made sure that the kids were served the meals quickly. I highly recommedn this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing break, especially if you have kids. All of the staff speaks fluent English.
There is a spa and Sauna on the grounds, but we didn't partake.

I do not recommend this hotel for people with disabilities or people needing to carrying large items into their room. There is no elevator. There are steep, winding stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights as part of our Germany tour with Adventures by Disney. It was in a 700-year old castle, located in the gorgeous countryside of Trendelberg. This burg was on the fairy tale route through Germany and was the inspirations for Brothers Grimm’s story about Rapunzel. When we arrived, Rapunzel and the knight made an appearance and gave us a historic tour of the castle.

The lobby, staircases, and common rooms were very historic. Don’t miss going down to the cellar. Each room layout was different, as the original edifice was not designed to be a hotel. The rooms were up-fitted with electricity and bathrooms and are relatively modern. Some of the room furniture was antique. Bed was adequate but the pillows were not comfortable. There was no TV (good thing) and no A/C (bad thing). Believe it or not, I got a weak but serviceable T-Mobile Hotspot Wi-Fi signal (€29 for 30 days was reasonable since T-Mobile seemed ubiquitous in Germany). The view from the room was spectacular. Eating on the terrace was very peaceful. Service was excellent.

Overall it was a nice stay for the view and historic nature. Because we visited during a heat wave (near 90° F) in Germany, having a somewhat uncomfortable bed and no A/C made an otherwise fairy tale visit less than perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burg Trendelburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Trendelburg

Address: Steinweg 1, 34388 Trendelburg, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Trendelburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Trendelburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burg Trendelburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely well maintained historic castle from the 13th century. Origin of the fairy tale Rapunzel by the Brothers Grimm. 22 individually designed rooms romantic, with antique furniture. In the main building with four-poster beds. In the fairy tale Rapunzel tower haunted room. All rooms with Wi-Fi and modern bathrooms. 4. In the tower there is the extraordinary spa with Massagekemenate and unique castle-tower-organic sauna. New since 2014, the salt house "princess mouse skin" with 2 tons of pure low salt from the Gottingen saline. Magical Castle restaurant overlooking terrace and enchanting courtyard with over 350 years old chestnut. The "RAPUNZEL TOWER" with more than 40 meters height is worth a visit. With Dungeon Museum and silhouettes of the Brothers Grimm fairy tale, created by artist Albert Volkl, he inspires young and old alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Trendelburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burg Trendelburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.