We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In the West - not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wing's Restaurant

Wing's Restaurant
21 Betts Ave., Yorkton, Saskatchewan S3N 1M1, Canada
306.782.0278
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 55 Restaurants in Yorkton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Yorkton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best In the West - not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We tried Wings based on the reviews here. It's a shame Yorkton food is so bad that mediocre food is heralded as extraordinary. Maybe we just tried them on a bad day but the rice was overcooked and mushy, the shrimp very small and overcooked, the chicken dry and overcooked and the Wontons in the broth average, the broth itself tasteless. My apologies for using "over-cooked" so much, but nothing quite says overcooked like overcooked! I will say the chop suey was tasty and the prices more than reasonable but I probably won't give this place a second chance. If you want good Chinese food skip this province and head to Alberta!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEUDORF SASK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been going here for years. The food is superb and reasonably priced. Yes the interior is not impressive but the food is and that is what counts. I took a visiting family member from the States there and she said it was the best Chinese food she had ever had! No food coloring, thin batter on the chicken and shrimp, perfectly cooked and not soggy vegetables, delicious non-greasy fried rice: what could be better?!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Wings has been the best and most consistent Chinese place in Yorkton for over 10 years. Outstanding value and quality, always tastes the same because it's family owned and operated. Fresh ingredients and great food!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton SK Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So SO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Menu choices were not clear - girl who took our orders could not answer the questions we asked about menu choices. Could be cleaner...
And you have to pay with cash.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Order take-out only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having read previous reviews, our expectations for Wing's atmosphere was low but Wing's food, was high. This place is dirty, dingy, stuffy and lacks almost everything needed to bring me back for second EXCEPT the food. The waiter lacked any service skills and his clothes were covered in mud; the cook who brought us our food wore an apron that appeared never to have been washed. Service was poor! This is NOT a place where you want to dine in! However, the food was good and so I would recommend ordering TAKE-OUT!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing's Restaurant also viewed

Yorkton, Saskatchewan
 
Yorkton, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Wing's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wing's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.