We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic, scenic, peaceful gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallheo Cannery Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bella Coola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tallheo Cannery Inn
Save
You added Tallheo Cannery Inn to your Saves list
Across North Bentinck Arm from Bella Coola, Bella Coola, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Bella Coola B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“historic, scenic, peaceful gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Words cannot describe this place. History meets scenery meets wildlife meets hospitality. The 5 minute boat ride is a treat, the accommodations delightful, two beaches, trails and buildings to explore, glaciers in the distance. We had a wonderful peaceful time there and wish we could have stayed all week. Garrett and Skye couldn't have been better hosts and gave us an incredible tour of the cannery. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They are all charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I and another photographer were in Bella Coola for a 6 day tour on the ocean visiting old villages and other scenic locations. We arrived two days early just so we could make a special trip to the cannery on the recommendation of well known photographer Chris Harris. From the moment we were picked up at the dock in Bella Coola by Garret and ferried across the harbor to the old Tallheo Cannery site, I knew we would not be disappointed. Garret was a very enthusiastic tour guide, and made us welcomed to his home. Even though we had an overcast sky and a drizzle of rain, the beauty of the site was amazing, and the lighting conditions were perfect to catch the "mood" of the inlet surrounded by snow capped mountains. After a few hours of photography it was time to take the 5 minute ride across the inlet back to Bella Coola, knowing that I would need to return, and stay for a few days next time around.

Dennis Robinson
Victoria BC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Four of us ladies travelled to Bella Coola October 2013 to watch grizzly bears and stay at the Tallheo Cannery. Our time at the Cannery was beyond my expectations. A trip to Bella Coola is not complete without a stay here. Set in the most beautiful settings the Valley has to offer, Tallheo Cannery and it's hosts Skye and Garret Newkirk provide an actual experience back in time. This is a historical marvel; furnished with original artifacts in the bedrooms, bathrooms, tool rooms, and an actual General Store set up just as it was during the time of the Cannery's operational days. The stunning location of the Cannery exposes Fjords, snow capped alpine, creeks filled with spawning salmon, and the history of the peoples who formed this province. Be sure to ask about the room upstairs in the bunk house that faces the rising sun!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a hikingtrip in North Tweedsmuir we went 'down the hill' to Bella Coola. We stayed at the Cannery for one night and it was great! What a beautiful place! I loved it and hope to stay there again really soon!
It was one of the best places i ever slept.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After exploring most of the inlands of BC we set forth to Bella Coola. Our time at the Tallheo Cannery Inn was simply amazing. The snow-topped coastal mountains combined with the historic Tallheo Cannery offered a beautifull scenery and a great place to spend some time. Lovely to relive the history of the place via the old general store or one of Garrett's tours. The hosts Garrett and Skye were amazingly kind, making our days at the Cannery Inn one of the best of our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful place. We went to Tallheo Cannery Inn for a wedding. It was the most beautiful wedding I've ever attended. The view was breathtaking. The place was amazing, so much history and so much to see and discover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Tallheo Cannery Inn. The scenery is breath taking and the hospitality of Garrett and Skye is outstanding. I'm a photographer and I spent hours making my way through the old net loft, the main floor of the Cannery, the old store and several of the other buildings. Then there were the scenery pictures and the pictures of the bear with 2 cubs I took on the boat tour. Oh yes and the water falls and the hotspring which is just the perfect temperature for a soak over looking the water. Our accommodation was in a 1920's style room which was clean and so tastefully decorated. I loved looking through the old windows and going back in time as I looked at the other old buildings, the mountains and the ocean. Congratulations to Garrett and Skye (and Garrett's Dad Jim) for retaining the weathered exteriors and the vintage look throughout. My cameras and I are definitely planning a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tallheo Cannery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallheo Cannery Inn

Address: Across North Bentinck Arm from Bella Coola, Bella Coola, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Bella Coola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bella Coola
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talheo Cannery inn is on the site of salmon cannery that closed down 30 years ago. It's at the bottom of a 3000 metre mountain with a glacier beside a deep fjord. Sensational views across the bay. Jim the owner picks you up in a boat and it's a five minute ride from Bella Coola to the cannery with its tumbledown buildings. Guests stay in the former ladies' bunkhouse. We had a double bed with views across the bay. We cooked our own supper in the cook house while Jim told us lots of grizzly bear stories. If more than six people staying they will get a cook to come over from Bella Coola. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tallheo Cannery Inn Bella Coola, Bella Coola Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallheo Cannery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.