We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Horizon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Horizon Motel to your Saves list
New Horizon Motel
2037 Hunter Frontage Rd. (Highway 3), Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very fine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This motel is clean, quiet and very comfortable. The owners are lovely and welcoming and take great pride in maintaining their property. I highly recommend it. Very good value! The rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms very clean with toiletries. Rooms have good air conditioners, small fridge with small freezer and blackout curtains. Carpets are spotless. We meant to stay one night we stayed for four!

Room Tip: On the second floor you will get less walk by traffic if you get a centre of the hall room as stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are going to share the story with our staff. Have a great trip in Cananda and stay healthy until next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
37
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in July for two nights. We got the cheapest room (Queen standard) and it was still great. The reviews we read on here were spot on. It's an older motel but Daniel and Helen do a fantastic job of keeping it clean and updated. We saw a newer building behind us that I think were the suites. Daniel checked us in and being our first time to the area he told us all about the restaurants and recreational areas. He also suggested we go to Owl Mountain Ranch for some horse-back riding, which we did and was so much fun!

The first thing I always check is the bathroom, especially in older properties, and it was great. Clean, well-kept, well stocked (even had eye make up remover), tons of towels. The only thing is that the A/C wasn't as cold as we would have liked it to be. The breakfast included in the rate was delicious and every morning Daniel and his wife Helen are there to greet you with a warm freshly baked muffin. We ate at Kool-Treatz next door, good burgers/wraps/salads and lots of ice cream dessert choices.

Oh, and they asked both our names when we checked in, and every time we saw them afterwards they greeted us both with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. It was a great encouragement. See you again next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the New Horizons Motel in mid August 2012. The service from the owners Daniel and his wife Helen was absolutely outstanding. They accomodated last minute changes that I had to make to my reservation, going the extra mile with trying to contact me while I was in transit etc. The motel is an older style structure that they have taken every effort to keep well-maintained and and VERY clean. They care about your stay and do their best to accomodate. Upon our arrival, Daniel told me about the local hikes in the area, providing directions, maps etc. The motel breakfast included with the price of the room offered warm, home-made muffins along with yogurt, coffee, tea, six types of bread for toast, various spreads and lots of fresh local fruit. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nicely remodelled. We felt very well attended to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope your family had a safe trip back home. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I were recently returning to Alberta from a trip though BC. We arrived in Christina Lake late on a Saturday night desperate to get some rest. We didn't not have any expectations for the accomodation, we just wanted to get some sleep and lucky for us there was still one room available. We ended up with the jacuzzi room/king bed and we could not have been more pleased with the accommodation. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable - and extremely quiet. We had the best night out of our entire trip. The breakfast and landscape was so nice - what a great surprise this motel was! We will definitely be back to Christina Lake and will stay here again.

Thank you to the hosts for the excellent hospitality - a warm welcome late in the evening is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We will continue to come back. Location is great, close to the lake where our family are.Super clean, lovely breakfast with the fresh fruit even fresh. Blueberries . Did not hear any road noise. We were late arriving but the manager was waiting for us. A very nice friendly gentleman. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious time to write a review. It is always great to get compliments from our guests, especially for the jobs well done by our staff to make rooms clean. Thanks again for the wonderful words. It was a great encouragement. See you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here unexpectedly on an overnight after an aircraft I was ferrying broke down. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. Our hosts were friendly and extremely hospitable. I intend to stay here with my family on our upcoming road trip to BC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of a 2 week road trip in the US and would like to thank the owners for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The room was spacious and clean - with plenty of space for our family for four. We had a very quiet and comfortable sleep and enjoyed the fresh tasty breakfast and the obvious care and attention to detail of the owners. The girls liked the outdoor space and we had a game of volleyball on the grass area. A great location and just a quick walk to the lake. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others passing though or staying at Christina Lake - Young Family from Vancouver BC

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Horizon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Horizon Motel

Address: 2037 Hunter Frontage Rd. (Highway 3), Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 25 Travelers' Choice Award Winners in Canada. A BC Select Property located at the east entrance of Christina Lake community. Executive King or double queen rooms or suites, some Jacuzzi tubs, Free WiFi & complimentary continental breakfast, specialize in golf packages, family holidays & reunions, select corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Horizon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Horizon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.