We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hideaway - Christina Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christina Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunflower Inn
Save
You added Sunflower Inn to your Saves list
159 Alpine Road, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Courtenay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet hideaway - Christina Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I must have loved it - I'm grinning as I type this! This is a beautiful waterfront log home 5 minutes from the village. Peaceful quiet surroundings with private decks overlooking the lake and the mountains, but just a handfull of steps from the walk on beach.
Weatyed in the smaller but comfortable room with private bathroom and really enjoyed the attached deck.
Food was great with lots of healthy options.
Great host and met some fabulous people.

Room Tip: we had a smaller room but there are 2 other rooms that are larger "suites" and really are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay, and Kathleen was super helpful and very friendly. We were just trying to have a little get-away from Nelson, and it worked out super well. Blue sky, clear water, and a lovely deck to take it all in. We went mountain biking on the deer point trail which was very fun singletrack riding just above the lake. Thanks so much for the hospitality!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

In our planning for our anniversary weekend, we searched B&B's in the Grand Forks area. We chose the Sunflower B&B in nearby Christina Lake. Great choice. Kathleen was very welcoming and inviting to stay at her B&B. She was so sweet and generous. Our room was very spacious with reading and sitting area. The layout was wonderful. And the view was perfect. The lake was right there off the deck. After settling in we took a quiet walk in the area. With the peaceful surroundings and a skiff of snow too, we were very refreshed and settled in to some tea and a movie. A breakfast with a view...pretty hard to beat. Her log home with the wilderness flavor and a sunrise over the lake it was hard to leave. We loved it all and hope others will experience what we did...a first class B&B. Thanks Kathleen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Me-O Beach, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We loved our time at the Sunflower Inn at Christina Lake. After a day of driving it was great to relax on the deck and swim in the lake.....Sept 28!! Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed our conversation with Kathleen and appreciated all of the tips about the area that she gave us. Definitely worth a visit, when we're in the area again we will return to the Sunflower Inn....highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

Spent a fantastic night here. Wish we had booked longer! Stunning location and the host, Kathleen, was very helpful and pleasant. Gorgeous breakfast out on the balcony. A must if you're planning on staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have been enjoying this B&B for so many years, we have lost count of the times we have stayed here. We often stop here for one night on our way to points further west (this time, Sooke, BC), but have also stayed up to 6 nights at a time for a lovely lakeside retreat.

This time I was struck by the sense of coming home again, but a home that is maintained and improved upon between visits. The proprietor has become a friend, yet the service is as impeccable as ever. Although the weather this year was uncooperative, and we were not able to breakfast on the deck overlooking the lake, the view was still so lovely and the conversation so pleasant, we had few regrets that we couldn't swim or sunbathe. We spent two nights, one going west, and one coming back home. Both were a real treat!

Definitely one of my favourite accommodations. As well, Christina Lake is beautiful for swimming (once as late as October, but not this year), boating, hiking, and biking.

Room Tip: Reserve early. We love the lower floor--we reserve both rooms for a group of 4 or 5 and enjoy our o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Inn

Address: 159 Alpine Road, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Christina Lake
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront log home situated on English Bay in Christina Lake, BC, Canada offers three guests units that have ensuites or a private bathroom. Each unit has queen size bed(s) with duvet(s). There is a lower level deck with lounges and chairs for guest use, a guest fridge, and a private dock for swimming. Hiking and biking trails are close by, the Kettle Valley Railway Trail is one of them. Golf packages are offered. Wireless internet is available. A marina is close by. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.