We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B &B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake House
Save
You added The Lake House to your Saves list
309 Harby Road, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy the lake and save!
Ranked #1 of 21 Clearwater B&B and Inns
Whistler, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant B &B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was a fantastic find A beautiful setting with wonderful accommodation and food Sandie & Neil were the perfect hosts. We stayed for 2 nights but that is not long enough to enjoy the lake & it's wild life & Wells Grey Park. We were there on the opening night too which made it even more special. thank you Sandie for your excellent local information advice &thank you Neil for being such a great chef. Would not hesitate to go back & certainly would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SND1, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks, Neil, for the great review! We wish you had been able to stay longer too! Thanks to all four of you for being part of our opening night! Thanks too for the lovely drawing of the house you did for us! We shall treasure that! I still smile when I think of Jo's impromptu swim from the paddleboard! :) Hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Neil and Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quemado, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Whether first-time visitors to the gorgeous lakes, waterfalls, and mountains of Western Canada (as we were) or those who return routinely, this accommodation is perfection! Celebrating our 20th anniversary, we wanted the most romantic and quiet setting possible - and we found it.

The Lake House is a brand-new B&B lodge, very tastefully built from huge hand-hewn logs, with an interior that's extremely comfortable and functional, not to mention beautiful! Our hosts, Neil and Sandie Robinson, are not new to Clearwater, or B&B's, for that matter. They previously owned another very success one in the area, but decided that building a smaller B&B on the beautiful and intimate Dutch Lake, would offer a better location to their guests. We are very glad they made that decision. It has allowed them to provide an even more personal experience - we were pampered, with attention to every detail, when not relishing the privacy of our own celebration.

The bedroom furniture is all handmade to match the log décor, with thoughtful little touches in each, added by Sandie. The views of the lake, with its small island are breathtaking - particularly in the morning and afternoon when reflections drift across the glassy water. And they can be seen right from your bedroom suite!!! Don't forget to look for the little painted turtles that relax in the sun, as well as the beautiful loons, ducks, and Canadian geese, as they float about, directly in front of the lodge. Take a romantic canoe ride together, try your hand at paddle-boarding (no current to tackle), throw in a fishing line, or just relax and enjoy the view.

The gourmet breakfasts created by “chef” Neil were absolutely piquant - we even asked for a number of recipes - and always left the table satisfied and ready for lake activities provided by them, or sight-seeing and hiking in Wells Gray Provincial Park, located steps away. Although we toured Jasper and Banff, as well as British Columbia, we found that we far preferred the serenity, natural beauty and excellence, offered by The Lake House. Thank you Sandie and Neil...we can't wait for our next visit!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are three rooms and all offer the same quiet intimacy and amazing views, directly from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SND1, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Wow Annie! What a fabulously detailed review! Thank you so much!!
It was a pleasure having you and Michael to stay. We are so glad that you are living so nearby (well US is near compared to Europe or Australia!) so we hope very much to see you both again!!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and wish you all the best. Neil and Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilze, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had the honor to be the first guests at The Lake House. In the last 10 years we have traveled a lot, but in terms of customer satisfaction are Sandie and Neill extraordinary. Neill is beside host also the cook who does this more then fine. Sandie helps you with questions, give you advise for the highlights of the park and making sure that the rooms look fantastic. We stayed for 2 nights. They have 2 canoes which we have used for going to the nearby restaurant across the lake. The luxury rooms are nicely decorated with handmade furniture. Our bed was really excellent! When we wake up, we can see the lake from our bed! You can see that Sandie and Neill have years of experience in running a B&B.
If you are searching for a luxury accommodation, with a lot of hospitality is this the right place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SND1, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review, Remi and Heleen! It was wonderful to have a full house on our opening night and we could not have wished for a nicer group of guests! We were so delighted that within minutes of your arrival you were out on the lake in a canoe! You were a pleasure to host and I hope you continued to enjoy your holiday in Canada! Thanks again! Neil and Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 309 Harby Road, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2014. Previous owners of Clearwater Springs Ranch - Travelers' Choice(R) 2013 Winner B&Bs and Inns. Luxuriously appointed guest suites in this new, hand-crafted, log house. Each suite has a view across the pristine lake, teaming with loons, painted turtles, otters and other bird life and wildfowl from the bedroom and your private patio. Delicious breakfasts, free use of canoes and paddle boards and swimming from our private pontoon in the warm spring fed lake compliment the Wells Gray Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.