We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you spell the Lodge name?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helmcken Falls Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Helmcken Falls Lodge to your Saves list
Helmcken Falls Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6664 Clearwater Valley Road | Wells Gray Park, BC, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“How do you spell the Lodge name?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Besides having a difficult name to remember the price charged for one night here seems high. But one night can be enough to see all the sights and wildlife which are close to the road. The road in from clearwater is paved, scenic and takes about 20 min. Once there the lodge itself seems home built but the rooms are well kept and have a good sized balcony overlooking a golf course. The family that runs the lodge is friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a wilderness experience close to the highway. We got a 50% discount through booking.com in June but I doubt that would be available in July or August.
Did not try the restaurant but saw the menu. A hamburger was $15 whcih did not seem unreasonable considering the wilderness location. Bring a cooler if you want to save money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    23
    17
    22
See reviews for
18
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, there is no doubting that. It is a fair way off the main road and well in to the National Park but oh boy is it disappointing.

We arrived after a long day of travelling, food options here are very limited and if they aren't for you there is a long drive back in to town.

The rooms are shocking. They are poorly furnished, poorly maintained, dark and generally unpleasant to be in. There were three of us with two smallish double beds with a bedside table. That was the room taken up. The balcony looked unsafe and I refused to go out on it. There was no aircon and the door mesh was broken. The end result was a room full off flying creatures that decided to feast on us.

We stayed in the room for 30 minutes and decided that it wasn't for us and checked out and found a hotel in town which was about the same price but with a room three times the size with aircon and a kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived as a party of 8 adults, after driving 4hours to be offered lemonade and crisps!! Alarm bells should have rung then - rooms were dark, very tired bedlinen and worn, and in someplaces dirty.Not the most hospitable welcome especially after the previous 3 accomodations we had stayed in. HF is isolated and a good 25 mins drive from Clearwater so make sure you take provisions with you, although there are no storage facilities within the lodges.There is a vending machine in the 'reception area' and that is all. There is a restaurant but this wasn't open outside of normal breakfast/dinner times. We decided not to stay and checked out after 3 hours and found alternative accomodation, which was superb.

Room Tip: Research this accomodation thoroughly before you make your mind up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The lodge is just outside Wells Gray Park, which means its a good 35km from Clearwater. This means any trip into town for a meal involves a fairly long, if pleasant, drive.

We ate in Clearwater (warned by previous reviewers) and arrived after 9pm, and were given the impression the owner had either almost given up on us arriving at all, or we were keeping him from closing up.

We had been 'upgraded' to a cabin room - which was nice, but fairly basic. We had to request a hairdryer - come on, this is 2012 not 1912! There was no safe, no fridge, no internet (although it works fine if you pay extra). Again, these are basic hotel necessities these days! We couldn't make a cup of tea, as only a coffee machine was provided - we tried, but the resulting drink still tasted of coffee, of course, so was undrinkable.

As was the tap water - a high concentration of iron and minerals means it is pungent, even for just cleaning your teeth - bring bottled water. That's part of the fun of staying somewhere rural.

We had breakfast one morning - its very overpriced for a cold meal of yoghurt, fruit and cake. Didn't bother the next morning and got a cheaper hot meal in Clearwater.

Its a lovely spot, though, and handy for visiting an amazing park - we spent a day with Gy Ovenden who showed us the highlights and introduced us to plants and birds in the area. Wells Gray isn't as well known as some other parks, but is really a hidden gem. We saw numerous bears on our travels to and from Clearwater in the evenings - though they are much more shy of visitors than the bears around Banff and Jasper, who carried on eating at the roadside ignoring the snap of camera shutters.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parabiago, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

After spending 1 night here on our way to Jasper, our feelings are quite mixed. The setting is beautiful, we had the chance to spot a bear not far from the lodge and sweet hummingbirds just outside the reception; staff was friendly and gave us some good advice on where to have a walk to try to see some mooses and other wild animals. Rooms, on the other hand, were dated, barely lighted, smelt musty and quite dirty: they urgently need to be renovated. Since the lodge is in the middle of nowhere (a plus in my opinion) we had no other choice than to have dinner at the inside restaurant, but alas I must admit that I won't remember that as the best meal we had during our trip in Canada. In summary, I do not think this place is worthy the price you pay: if you can, try to book in one of the other (far better looking) lodges of the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLOOPS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our third year going to this fantastic lodge
Rooms and Meals were great. Cross country skiing for 22 km then back to lodge for a relaxing dinner
Not sure what others expected but if you are wanting a great get away at a fantastic price this is it.
Thank you to the staff for making it such a nice weekend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed for one night en route from Jasper to Whistler and having read previous reviews expected the average standard of sleeping accommodation, worn and tired might be a good description. If as indicated in a previous review, the rooms are being upgraded piecemeal, thats understandable.
The welcome was good our main concern was the food. Average dinner but expensive. The breakfast is 'continental' no boiled eggs, no sliced ham or cheese. We paid $29 for coffee and toast!
If you are passing through ask before you have breakfast. In hindsight we should have driven on to Clearwater for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helmcken Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmcken Falls Lodge

Address: 6664 Clearwater Valley Road | Wells Gray Park, BC, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Helmcken Falls Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helmcken Falls Lodge was constructed in 1948 as a Hunting Lodge in Wells Gray Park.The Lodge itself now houses our reception and gift shop and also the 110 seat licensed restaurant and lounge with a balcony overlooking the Trophy Mountains.We have 33 rooms in total comprising 25 standard rooms and 8 log cabin rooms.The original heritage cabin, built in 1926 offers 2 self-contained rooms both with Queen beds.All our rooms have ensuite private bathrooms.Our standard rooms have 2 double beds and our log cabin rooms have 2 extra long double beds.We also offer horseback riding and guided canoeing and hiking in Wells Gray Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Helmcken Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmcken Falls Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helmcken Falls Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.