We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at Nakiska: almost as good as our first visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nakiska Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nakiska Ranch to your Saves list
Nakiska Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   5944 Trout Creek Rd., Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our second stay at Nakiska: almost as good as our first visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We’ve reviewed a couple of places in BC and Alberta and a couple of times we mentioned that: We will go back to that place. It were not just word… we did go back! What is our experience the second time? Let’s find out if it’s is as great as it was before:

The lodge room: The room in the lodge is fine, but we would recommend to stay in one of the cabins. The room has everything you need, it’s clean there is a private shower and toilet. The downside is that you can hear your neighbours sometimes and that you don’t have a view. The two separate beds in our room are somewhat strange for us as a couple.

The cabin: The cabin is just perfect (see the pictures), we’ve rented the mountain view cottage and it’s the best they have! It’s clean (besides the old rug in the living), spacious enough and it just feels very nice (this is rather subjective… but the feeling you have about a place is important!). There is a kitchen with all the necessary utensils (there is no dishwasher), but the counter is small. There is no television (for us no problem) and no internet connection, but the owner is working on it and told us that there will be an internet connection next year. The decoration and –for example- the linens aren’t modern, but it does fit in the total picture and everything is clean en beds are good.

There are some remarks/downsides: in the bedroom you sometimes hear some sort of pump working, it didn’t annoy us, because it wasn’t loud and not continuous. The towels were not replaced and there is no light housekeeping. We don’t know if it’s a ‘start-up hiccup’ because the owners (see later on) started in May 2011. But it prevents us giving a full star rating for this property.

Surroundings: It still is beautiful, with a nice large well maintained garden, and of course the beautiful views!

Location: It’s a 30 minute drive from Clearwater (so don’t forget to get all your groceries
and to fill up your car, because you don’t need to drive back to the village). You can easily reach all the must see spots in the park form the ranch.

Owners: The new owners who started May 2011 are just as friendly as the previous owners. We’ve talked with Lars about his plans with the property and with his wife about the question how life works in Clearwater. We had some questions and needed some additional towels and the provided them without a problem.

Other remarks:
The breakfast is still great –although a little different than before, due to the different owners- but we think that the breakfast is overpriced.
Bear in mind that there are a lot of mosquitos in the middle of Wells Gray Park (you should prepare yourself decently if you plan to stay in that Park, or in other Parks in Canada. Mosquitoes are part of nature, buy a decent repellent and wear appropriate clothing). All the windows are equipped with insect screens, so inside the cabins or rooms it should not be a problem.

Conclusion: We want to go back there again (maybe we will this winter!). The new owners work hard and we expect that the next time we visit they will receive the full rating.

The park: You must see the alpine flower meadows (but check if the flowers are blooming!), and we think that Rays farm is impressive (how could anyone has ever lived there back in those days).

Remark: Although we wrote this review in English, we are Dutch so… we hope you don’t mind grammar errors...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
18
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galmpton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nakiska ranch is in Wells Gray national park and it is a 30 minute drive to clearwater lake and 25 minutes to clearwater town. The log cabin we stayed in was for two people and it was a good size for the two of us. It had a private patio with a barbeque outside the cabin. The view is very nice with mountains in the background. The beds were very comfortable too. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in a room in the lodge. The room was enormous, but had no character. The beds and linnen were old, short and uncomfortable. Also the 30 mosquitos in the room weren't welcoming, the insect screens did not fit properly. The diner that they offer is expensive. We found it to much money for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

+ location right at Wells Gray Park
+ great views and wildlife watching

- small cabins and dated.
- small beds
- pricy
- breakfast too expensive.
- many mosquitos

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed 2 night in one of there beautiful cabins. There are so nice and clean and so quiet in the night.
We saw a black bear outside our cabin window. We walked up trough there forest and and it so beautiful.
We definitive coming back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

For 2 nights we had the De-luxe cabin, which was a free standing loft type cabin with the bedroom on the first floor, kitchen, living room and bathroom downstairs. Private terrace and barbecue, long chairs etc. and friendly squirrels!
Location is great, about 2km from the main road leading to Wells Gray park, which entrance was only a few km away, very convenient to explore the beauties of the park: the lake, the waterfalls, the bears...
At night, we had total complete silence, which is quite unusual anywhere these days. If you like nature, a peaceful environment, and want to relax away from the world, then this is your place. It felt like "the little house on the prairie". We regretted our previous stop near Kamloops and wished we had come one day earlier.
The owners appear at first not so friendly but I think it is more a language issue, (they asked us if we spoke German as they are Swiss I think) and being shy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed two nights in on off the rooms in the main building. Overall an acceptable place to stay.

+ Located near the entrance of the Wells Gray Park.
+ Good breakfast.
+ Clean big room.
+ Nicely located in a nature setting

- Bathroom is not connected to the room.
- The room is very noisy when it rains. There is metal on the roof that produces really loud ticks when water hits it.
- A part of the staff does not speak fluent english.
- The rooms don't have a lock
- Not many diner-options nearby

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nakiska Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakiska Ranch

Address: 5944 Trout Creek Rd., Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nakiska Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nakiska Ranch offers country living in an incredible natural setting of towering forests and flowering meadows. The Lodge is nestled in a grove of fir and pine trees while the spectacular Trophy Mountains crown the horizon. Cattle and horses graze peacefully nearby, as our Lodge borders onto beautiful Wells Gray Provincial Park. Many species often roam our magnificent surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nakiska Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nakiska Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.