We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Motel

Save Saved
You added Fort Motel to your Saves list
Fort Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort Motel
433 and 451 24th Street, Fort Macleod, Alberta T0L 0Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Fort Macleod
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are staying anywhere near Fort Macleod or Lethbridge stay here. This is an very unassuming motel when you drive in but so neat and tidy. The owner is so friendly and helpful. Recommended where to eat dinner (a super place). The rooms are outstanding so so clean, all renovated plus they have a small kitchen which included a toaster oven, microwave, fridge, kettle,all the dishes,AND a Keurig coffee maker. The desk clerk will give you either coffee or tea. They also have real glasses and cups for coffee and tea. There is a nice flat screen TV with cables to hook up to your computer.

The bathroom is not large but very functional.

One of the best places I have stayed in for a long time. In addition, the price was super.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Three Hills, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a first! In all my decades of travel (my parents yanked me to parts of the world as a kid & now I travel for leisure & business), I've never come across a place to lay your head at night where the reception/office door was locked at 4:00pm. Seems to me that's about the time travellers begin to straggle 'Inn' (pun intended). I had to ring the doorbell a couple times before a kindly gentlemen greeted me outside. Obviously this is a small operation, so my guess is that the host who checks you in is also likely doing chores around the place & wants to ensure his office is safe while unattended.

Not the most attractive on the outside, but the rooms are well equipped and clean. Tiny kitchenette if you care to prepare your own meals. If not, your host is quick to ask if you know the area and happily offers advice for the various local culinary options.

Being in the 'cowboy' region of southern Alberta, your room decor mildly reflects that culture.

Yup, a little quaint & definitely a 'mom n pop' operation, but for the very reasonable price I'd say you're getting better than average value. Should I need to stay in Fort Macleod again, I'll certainly check into this place again - presuming, of course, they answer their doorbell!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My night was spend very well. i enjoyed the quietness and the soft beds. i felt very comfortable there. It's very close to the grocery store, and the gas station. and it's also close to the restraunt. i also had a very awesome sleep. the beds r very soft and comfortable. it was an amazing stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel room was very clean and organized. My stay was good. I enjoyedit and it was a very nice spacious area. There was a lot of plates and utensils and pans to cook with. The oven worked fine and the fudge actually kept our food fresh

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

it was my first time there,,n it was good i wouldnt mind stayin there again! =) ouur room was clean n it looked nice...and its downtown close to everything!! :) and if i was to go to fort mcloud again i would concider staying there! and the owner was very nice..most likely ill go back n stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Newly renovated, clean comfy and very friendly desk. Everything was well taken care of and a nice location in the center of town. A one hour drive from Waer Lakes National Park. Easy to recommend the Fort Motel as an excellent value and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Fort Motel. Our room looked like it was in a new unit and we were very pleased with it. It was set up very nicely, was clean and spacious. It had a large toaster oven, along with refrig, microwave and coffee maker, a few dishes, etc. The bed was a little too soft, but it was a very decent place, the owner was very nice and the price was super. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Motel

Address: 433 and 451 24th Street, Fort Macleod, Alberta T0L 0Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort Macleod
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Fort Macleod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Motel Fort Macleod, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.