We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smitty's Oyster House

Smitty's Oyster House
643 School Rd., Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0, Canada
(604) 886-4665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Gibsons
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gibsons, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good place to go if visiting the Sunshine Coast. Great young cooks and wait staff that make for a fun time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    19
    7
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service to upsetting to enjoy the great food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Believe it or not the food is tasty and the overall scenery and atmosphere is nice. I have been going sporadically for several years. But, the service is consistently in the "terrible" category. This not an exaggeration nor uncommon. The last time we came we waited for about 15 minutes even though there were seats all over including the long tables. At one point the waitress/hostess (wavy dirty blonde hair) began to walk towards me making eye contact. Just as I was about to say "Hi, table for 4" she turned and answered the phone instead which began to ring just as she approached. We stood there for about 5 minutes before the waiter came to me and said we are a little full right now and could we wait. The same waitress/hostess came up to me right after the waiter and came right up to my face and said "full" and walked away. I was shocked, and found it almost unbelievable. Literally, two minutes later, we were being seated at the long table which I and others avoid as much as we can, as there is no privacy and you are jammed in with other people. The waitress told us we could not sit side by side and that was the rules. Which we did as the other two people in our party had not arrived. In general the waiters/ waitresses have more interest in each other which can be seen when they either shouting across the restaurant to each other, ignoring paying customers, or their show of who is the meanest or the baddest (a common theme). Its kind of like a lot of young partying frat guys and one mean girl (wavy dirty blonde hair) serving you in a restaurant. Unfortunately, the staff are completely oblivious that this makes people quite uncomfortable.

Its obvious to anyone reading these reviews that service is a serious problem and over shadows any good food or times you are about to attempt to enjoy. I would love to eat here more often but the staff is unbearable. It is unfortunate that the owners have decided to ignore these reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oysters? Come to Gibsons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I may say that in this restaurant was not the best meals I've ever had, but if you come for Oysters it is difficult to find the best. Always fresh and tasty. You wait for too long? It is because they open them in front of you if you are sitting in the bar and because everybody love them. Take a beer, a wine, talk with friends and enjoy waiting time because the paradise is coming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Save your time and money. Wait staff more interested in socializing with each other and their friends masquerading as real customers. Attitude is shocking. Long wait times for expensive mediocre food. Nice view if you can tolerate the abusive arrogant staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best mussels ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Rented a boat from Horseshoe Bay. Pulled up right out the front of Smitty's and moored to their private dock. Very easy. Arrived at 12:30pm and took the last 2 seats at the bar - recommended for the view. The place filled up within 15mins! Good timing for us.

Ordered the mussels, fresh raw oysters & deep fried halibut pieces. The mussels were the best I've ever had. So fresh and delicious. Oysters & halibut were great too. Prices were as expected. Not cheap but not overpriced.

Servers were friendly.

Would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Oyster House also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Smitty's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smitty's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.