We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but not good enough on price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfish Pub

Blackfish Pub
966 Venture Way, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0, Canada
604.886.6682
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 41 Restaurants in Gibsons
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but not good enough on price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The food are good, non-alcohol drinks like ice tea are free to refill. But the stake is too small. They have 8 oz stake, but it feels like 6 oz. good chicken wings!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“social club for the servers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been at this pub when the place was buzzin' and had great service and good food. This particular Friday night was quiet, only around 8 tables occupied. When we came in we had to look for a clean table and after finding one we waited 15 minutes to be noticed. It seem it took 3 servers to ring up one customers order. We finally got our beverage and our order came
fairly quickly ,although I was pretty disappointed in my meal. While the small bit of halibut in the wrap was hot it had way too much lettuce in it and the wrap was ice cold, and I mean freezing. The server did not come back to ask how it was so I ended up eating it the way it was. We asked for our bill which came quickly however it took another 15 minutes for her to come and pick it up. All the servers down at the other end of the bar having a hen party. A rather disappointing night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than the lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This pub has better food, hotter waitresses, and a better atmosphere than any pub on the coast. Unlike the lighthouse the bathrooms here have no cameras. Hey mom..im famous..no thank you. Keep doing what u r doing blackfish ..skirt up...shirts pulled down..I will be back for more ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Enjoyed a romantic breakfast on a weekend getaway with my hubby. Service was great, and the seeing was clean and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere with lovely patio in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

At the end of a very busy day, we could hardly wait to grab a seat on the inviting patio at the Blackfish Pub !
Lovely place, clearly liked by many people, it get pretty busy.
Very good menu (I had the grilled chicken, cranberry and brie on a baguette with sweet potato fries and chipotle dip). I overheard other people also ordering this while we were there. The lime Margarita was HUGE and a real treat after a whole day in the car. Highly recommend this Pub

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish Pub also viewed

 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Blackfish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.