We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge
682 Gibsons Way, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0, Canada
604-886-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Gibsons
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gibsons, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food is excellent here, particularly breakfasts. Best egg bennies ever. BUT the service is poor and not for lack of experience. We were kept waiting for 45 minutes while the server told us that everything was being made fresh for us. We peeked in the kitchen and our food was sitting on the grill, already prepared, while the chef had a break. The server seemed to want everyone to make a reservation rather than drop in. Fair enough, but there were empty tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I will never recommend this place to anyone ever again. After this summer I have taken my mom once and was made to wait more than 45 minutes for a clubhouse sandwich. I then tried to take my relatives here twice and was turned away! TWICE within 4 days, although the restaurant was not full at all and the tables all had reserved signs on them. This is after the fact that as a local we have been supporting them during the winter months, to get turned away not once, but twice with no explanation is utterly rude. TO bad what was once a okay place to eat is now a NEVER go here place to eat!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Great quality ingredients and does not disappoint. Great view from the deck and cosy inside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This little restaurant tucked away on Gibsons Way just blew us away with it's excellent food. It is a mum and pop restaurant, the menu is not extensive and they only serve breakfast and lunch BUT the chef makes his own mayo, has home made hamburgers, cures his own corn beef for his Reuben sandwiches, and so it goes. The results are simply so delicious you won't find this calibre of cooking anywhere else. Steak sandwich was great and also the salmon stuffed with prawn fish and chip dish. Plus the prices are very affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts creek
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Food in Gibsons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Chophouse(formerly Blackberries) and the food and service has been superior in both cases. For lunch today the boys had the bacon cheesburgers with fries and I had the club sandwich with salad. On the previous visit we had the classic breakfast. The food is from quality ingredients and smoked and prepared on site as much as possible. Salad is from the local farm. All is very good. The only slight downside which is a small price to pay for good cooking is it may take them a while to prepare the meal for a group as everything is prepared from scratch or near to it. Worth a visit or two. Only open for breakfast or lunch right now

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.