We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the finest B&B in North America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
120 Swallow Road | RR 10, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
1 review
“Possibly the finest B&B in North America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Deer Fern's location offers flora, fauna, views and tranquility. The suite is as fresh, clean and nicely appointed as any you will ever stay in. In-the-suite breakfasts are to die for and your hosts love their work and guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
54
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

While I am not a usual customer of B and B's. I have to say I was not just pleasantly surprised, I was overwhelmed. The place is immaculate. The garden is a beauty to behold. The food was equal to any five or six star hotel in any city in North America.

I traveled to the Sunshine Coast with my young daughter. It had been years since I was last there.

Our hosts, Cathy and Bob, were a wealth of information. They left us alone when we wanted to be alone and helped us with local information when we needed it. They provided maps, local 'hot' spots to get the best ice cream cones, lunches, and where to see some of the historic sites and some of the great galleries.

Overall this was a most enjoyable and relaxing weekend getaway. I would highly recommend Deer Fern.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north55th
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Very well-designed, well-equipped, and most-comfortable accomodations. Loved the privacy offered by a private entranceway. Kathi has profound hospitality, conversation and culinary skills ....very accomodating. Would most definitely stay here again. A great retreat on the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

This has to be one of the most wonderful B & B's we have ever stayed at because Kathi (the host) makes you feel so welcome. The accommodation has all the things you would want to find (comfortable chairs for relaxing, shawls for a cool evening, a huge selection of videos, coffee maker etc. and a fridge). The breakfasts, served in your suite, are divine. Kathi is a phenomenal cook and she produces a gourmet's delight every morning. From Deer Fern you can walk down the road to the beach. During our last visit there was a new born fawn under the California lilacs in the garden. You'll wake in the morning to the sounds of the birds and the tranquility of really being "away from it all". We have been staying at Deer Fern for the last few years on a regular basis, both for pleasure and when on business and it really is a treat every time we are there. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 Swallow Road | RR 10, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
~ A Reputation for Business Traveler Excellence.~~ Private. Elegant. Fresh. Luxurious.~~ Consistently Perfect.~ ~ Breathtaking Water View + Forested Acreage.~ ~ This Fresh and Gorgeous Room has a Lovely Warm Ambiance~ Private Entrance. ~ Ocean view on forested acreage.~ Corporate, Business, Executive Quality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Fern Bed And Breakfast Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Fern Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.