We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Alpine Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge Motel
10005 - 100 Street, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grande Cache
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The overall hotel is mayor outdated and needs a serious inside refurbishment.
Anyway our room was clean and that is the only good thing about it. Walls and door are thin and there is no privacy.
No amenities in the bathroom.
Staff polite and price reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall not a horrible place to stay. Was a decent enough price for what we got. $79 a night. We got some speech about a weekly rate that never came to be.
The staff was friendly, the attached restaurant was nice.
The place itself needs a facelift. The outside looks great the inside looks old. For having a kitchenette it was missing a lot of bare essentials like forks and spoons! The dish soap was watered down and had floaties in it. Gross! The bathroom was really nice!!! The beds were "queen" but were actually doubles I think. The windows have no screens which meant that leaving the window open cause the rooms are way too hot leaves your door lock available for any hand that wants in.

It just needs a bit of a once over and some money put back into it or at least tell people you don't have a lot in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The room was big enough for two people and TV was new and the bathrooms seems like it's been renovated. Price was reasonable.
Kitchen had big refrigerator to keep some groceries.
I enjoyed our stay at this motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The first things I require of a hotel is that it is clean, quiet, and comfortable. Alpine lodge delivers on all three. The room we were in, though has furniture which arrived from 1985, it did so in perfectly good condition and is quite serviceable. Along with the two queen beds, there is a console housing a modern flat-screen TV with sufficient channels to allay boredom, a couch, and a recliner. The kitchenette worked well for me to prepare us a fine breakfast to start the new day. If I had a complaint, our room's thermostat kept the room too warm so that we had to crack the window to let in a bit of air. Overall, good value and a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed here while on a business trip for a few days during winter.

The place seem to have underwent some renovations, The room I stayed at was big, with 2 beds. It was also clean, comfortable and warm. It had all the amenities such as kitchenette, TV, wireless Internet, desk, couches, etc.
The carpets were clean, the bedding smelled fresh, and the countertop, desks, stove and fridge were all wiped clean.

I travel a lot for my work, and have seen and experienced many, many, many different motels/hotels in Alberta -- some of them are fantasitc, posh 5 star ones...while others were just plain scary gross...For the price, this was a very good motel and I would definitely recommend it to my friends, family or coworkers.


Also, it was only $69 night + tax. (I played hardball and they were kind enough to give me a discount)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were driving by to look where to stay a night, and decided with this motel. This one looked cleaned and well maintained compared to other ones. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and it seems like new carpets. If i drive by again at this little city, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at the Alpine Inn because the Best Western was booked. Worst decision ever! In my entire life I have never stayed in a place so gross. The carpet is loose, and so dirty you have to wear your shoes in the room. The pillowcases were so dirty and stained we had to wrap our pillows inside one of our sweatshirts. Electrical outlets are broken and exposed. Bath towels are well used and frayed. Lights dim when you use the microwave. It's just bad... gross Gross GROSS!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Motel

Address: 10005 - 100 Street, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Grande Cache
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grande Cache
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Grande Cache
Alpine Lodge Motel Grande Cache, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.