We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blues puppy (guitarist of "Stephanie Harps Experience")” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Main St SW, | Box 879, Slave Lake, Alberta T0G 2A3, Canada (Formerly Sawridge Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Slave Lake
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“blues puppy (guitarist of "Stephanie Harps Experience")”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The staff and owners treated us like family and the service was very professional and top notch . very visually appealing staff and the food wow!! The food was gourmet and soon delicious and if ur a fan of meat just like I am well your mouth will thrive in juices of their succulent meat

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I switched from travelodge to here for part of the summer, we had to leave this hotel due to the festival slave lake has every summer, things got a little loud for me. That being said it isn't the hotel's fault and cities should be able to enjoy summer festivals. Other than moving due to noise, the hotel staff was very friendly, the morning breakfast staff also were quite polite and always happy to see you in the morning. As far as quality/amenities etc.. its well priced given the hotels in the area and its far from the worst hotel in slave. They are short staffed but the staff they do have is pretty good at their job.

Room Tip: hot tub is non existant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I will begin by saying that I've stayed at this hotel during the last 6 summers. The last two summers has been under new ownership. I stay at the hotel for a period of 4 months between May and September.

The new owners took over this hotel after it had been neglected for many years. It was formally know as the Sawridge Inn. But they have been working hard to upgrade the facilities. Boilers and ducting as well as some exterior work has been completed. The furniture in the restaurant, The Landing, is now new and they have just finished painting. Also, The Ridge Tap House also underwent renovations. At the moment, their WiFi and TV offerings are both in need of upgrades and I was told that this will happen shortly.

The rooms are clean, especially in the newer renovated part of the hotel. The staff are very helpful. The food at The Landing, Fairways and The Tap House is great. The morning breakfast buffet has one of the biggest selection of food and is free when you stay at the hotel. The noon buffet at the Landing also has a large selection and again, the food is excellent. A great deal as well.

Room Tip: The new rooms are quite nice. If you want a room that is a little larger, the older ones seem a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I spent time at the Slave Lake Inn for the Wounded Warriors Weekend.
Although the hotel and its night clubs were understaffed, the staff did their best to ensure everyone was taken care of. They were pleasant and friendly! The hotel itself has been remodelled and the rooms were clean and up to date.

Like every small business, the lack of staff makes for a stressful time for both customer service persons and the traveller, but the staff here were honest about their predicament, and worked as hard as they could to aide everyone. The hotel is centrally located and close to pretty much everything a person could need access to!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel allow you to keep 6 on your motorcycle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I travel to Slave Lake often and I choose this hotel first every time. The location is very central, and close to other immenities. The staff is welcoming and very courteous and friendly. My room is always clean and the "sturdy" walls help to muffle just about any sound in hallways or adjacent rooms. The free breakfast each morning is the best you will find without a doubt. The restaurant also offer a nightly supper buffet which is ALWAYS delicious. The vegetables are never over cooked- crunchy and fresh, and there is always a very good selection of items from tender and juicy roast beef, to chicken or fish dishes and even things like cabbage rolls or ribs. I eat here every night when I am in town. Through the summer months however, the restaurant does not offer the dinner buffet due to lower demand, however, the menu also has many delicious selections, and daily specials. A great place to stay at a very budget friendly rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

So this place had my 82 year old great uncle stuck in a room with no air conditioning. I showed up and complained and took me all night to have him moved to a different room. What a pig stye with brick walls. Captain Obvious would love this place....it is a pig stye. Sleep in your car!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had a few good sleeps here, room was clean and service was good. Only thing that was bothersome was the dripping taps in the very small bathroom. But all in all for a renovated building it wasn't bad.
Wish I could have stayed longer to pull some fish out of that huge lake!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre

Address: 1200 Main St SW, | Box 879, Slave Lake, Alberta T0G 2A3, Canada (Formerly Sawridge Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Slave Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Slave Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms & SuitesWith 171 beautifully appointed rooms to choose from, we guarantee your stay in Slave Lake to be a memorable one.Our executive rooms are designed and furnished to meet the requirements of our discerning corporate clientele. Slave Lake Inn offers luxurious jacuzzi suites, perfectly suited to every special occasion. All guest rooms provide air conditioning, mini fridges, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, pay-per-view movies/music and coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slave Lake Inn And Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.