We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good place to stay in slave lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 Main Street SE, Slave Lake, Alberta T0P-2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Slave Lake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very good place to stay in slave lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

very nice rooms with flat screen televisions and a comfortable bed. the room was very clean and the complimentary breakfast was very good as well i will be staying here again if i come back to slave lake

Room Tip: be specific about what you need as they have a variety of room styles to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

First off, I ALWAYS try to stay at one. We're AMA members so we get a discount too (avg ~$20/night).

I can't decide what I like best:

1. The bed/pillows. How can a bed be firm and soft at the same time?

2. It feels like I'm staying at an expensive hotel but I'm not paying an expensive price.

The room is large, long size bed, bathroom bigger than my own. It is spotless. Lots of hangers for clothes. I forgot toothbrush & toothpaste and they helped me out. TV had a reception thing going on but I could see and hear fine.

I haven't eaten breakfast here yet but it's always tasty at other locations. Good selection for a comp breaky :)

Lots of quick-service options close by for food (McDonalds, Tim Hortons). Lots of parking (even when fully booked).

Best part? The nice man at the front desk (whom I told I love) got me a last second room at 11pm at night. Slave Lake has little to no vacancy and I'll be here Tuesday to Saturday for work. I had a reservation in High Prairie (so I thought - I even had a confirmation email; see my TA post on the Peavine) for Tuesday & Wednesday night and here for Thursday & Friday night. I called from High Prairie, desperate not to drive home to Peace River or stay at a seedy motel in High Prairie. Last second cancellation = fantastic news for me.

Thank you HIE. I love making a pillow fort on my comfy bed, eating pizza and watching TV!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Thinking twice is not an option, JUST BOOK IT. When you walk into this Inn the first impression is it feels like coming back to a place where one in considered special. The first thing one see’s is a very large bowl of fresh fruit that is offered daily for the guests. As you approach the front desk you are greeted by a warm smile and a willingness to help. These receptionists actually listen when they book you in, insuring that all of your needs will be addressed.
The rooms are spacious, clean and give the impression of a well cared for place to call home during your stay. The cleaning staffs are courteous and attentive and do their best to insure that your linens are exactly what you hope for always making their best efforts to keep your room clean and organized. The microwave, small fridge and assortment of utensils are all one needs to snack in your room.
The business center located on the main floor is equipped with an up to date computer combined with a functional printer. The printer is supplied with adequate paper to fit most client’s needs. A small gym and hot tub room are also available for one use.
The people who look after the free breakfast do their best to insure that everything is always fresh and hot for all to enjoy. The smiles and willingness to help just seem to be present everywhere.
We normally stay at this Inn about four or five times a year and never have found a change in the service. Tiffany the manager deserves praise for the way she trains and guides her staff insuring that when you stay there it always give you the feeling like you are coming home. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have styayed here several times, each time is as good as the previous. Well looked after, even with the amount of traffic it sees, A lot of oil field activities in the area but this property seems to manage to maintain its standards even with the high traffic load.
Staff friendly and willig to help with directions or restaraunt suggestions
Will return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I come to Slave Lake to work several times a year. We are always warmly welcomed and accommodated to the best of their ability. Tiffany, the manager, is very helpful, friendly, and caring. She has bent over backwards to make our stay special.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel (away from the highway) are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaceriver alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed here for two days at the beginning of september. i had origanally booked another hotel but had heard a few bad things before arriving so changed to the inn. that was probably the best move i could have made. checkin was fast and freindly with fresh coffee and fruit availablein the lobby also comp. newspapers, the breakfast was the best ive ever had in a hotel and that alone would have me coming back. the rooms are comfy and spottless, carpets curtains and bedspreads, evertthing is so clean .in short there is nothing negative to say about this hotel. job well done by all the staff and thanx for a great stay.

Room Tip: i don,t think you can get a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We work away from home all summer and stay in a lot of hotels. This one is very clean, has a great breakfast and I do agree with the last review, towels are grey but they are clean so it is no big problem. Last time we stayed at hotel across the street and it was awful. would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake

Address: 1551 Main Street SE, Slave Lake, Alberta T0P-2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Slave Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Slave Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Slave Lake, Alberta Hotel Offers Convenient Location The newly built Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Slave Lake, AB is nestled near the shores of Lesser Slave Lake, just off Highway 2 and Main Street and right next door to the Cornerstone Business Centre. Within minutes of Fraser Timber, Sawmill Pulp, Acclaim Energy, Vanderwell Contractors LTD, and Tolko Industries as well as many others, our Slave Lake hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access will keep you connected during your stay, and the business centre and meeting facility will help you conduct business while on the road. Leisure travelers will enjoy lodging at our Slave Lake, AB hotel while they experience everything that this 'Jewel of the North' has to offer. Nature lovers can hike on the Frontier Trail and observe the many species of birds and other creatures native to the region. Slave Lake Provincial Park offers sandy beaches and beautiful views, and it hosts the popular Sand Sculpture Championships every year. Gilwood Golf & Country Club and St. Bernard Mission Church are both nearby, as well. During your stay at our hotel in Slave Lake, take the time to enjoy a workout in our fitness centre,and be sure to try one of the many choices at our Express Start hot breakfast bar each morning. Check out our great Slave Lake hotel deals and book with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Slave Lake
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.