We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the widerness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siwash Lake Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in 100 Mile House
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siwash Lake Ranch
Save
You added Siwash Lake Ranch to your Saves list
Box 39, 100 Mile House, British Columbia V0K 2K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“Luxury in the widerness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Privacy and service, a staff that could read my mind,unbelievable settings and food I could not have imagined. What a treat this was. I had no idea that service and hospitality on this level existed in this country. The vistas, the beautiful log home,and comfortable beds were exceptional, but they were nothing compared to the staff and how they treated us. The food was unique and delicious (even for us vegetarians at a cattle ranch:-) .Still the overwhelming impression we left with was the staff, and their efforts to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Thank you Allison Roy and crew .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Male
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

the perfect combination of everything: it was my dream to stay in a wonderful Log House (I'm living and working in The Maldives :-)) with a cosy, private atmosphere, to enjoy a hot coffee in the crispy morning air on my porch; to ride wonderful horse in a pristine environment; to feel welcomed as a friend, to unwind at the fire place and enjoy a good glass of wine and food,to learn about horses and horsemanship, about the land and its spirit.... my dream was fulfilled. Allyson and her team including the wonderful dogs and of course the horses made it possible and I can only highly recommend... my dream was fulfilled and I will be back one day :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

From the moment Rob and I stepped through the doors into the main log house at Siwash Lake, I was aware of how effortlessly cozy and comfortable it felt, but it took awhile for it to became apparent just how much effort and thought went into making it feel that way - for us!

We were greeted warmly by Allison, the owner, and on the way to our room, passed by the living area, with its overstuffed sofas and a huge beautifully worn coffee table in front of a two-story stone fireplace . . . I wanted to drop my purse then and there, and curl up in the pillows.

But our room beckoned - ours being the Lakeside Room, with its puffy queen size and pillow laden bed, overlooking our very own covered porch with wooden love seat. The porch overlooks the grassy slope in front of Siwash Lake with its backdrop of evergreens and Aspen trees and a small dock leads down to the lake, where we could see a row boat and canoe ready to untie should we choose.

We sat up in bed overlooking this wonderful scene each morning, with our coffee, tea and muffins (after a quick tap at the door told us our tray was sitting just outside). This was also the signal that breakfast would be ready in an hour in the DR.

So here we are, lounging on one of those very comfortable sofas, in front of a crackling fire, with our appetizer of the day, a really tasty lime hummis with baguette slices, and a glass of our favourite -Reisling (all wines are local - and pretty darn good!), and writing my review.

It is Day 2 of our stay, and this morning after a satisfying Frittata and bacon breakfast, we met Tamara, our Cowgirl Horse Guide extraordinaire, and as we hadn't ridden horses in decades, she took the time to explain everything we needed to know about our two horses, Chip and Belle, and we got to know them before we headed out. The care and respect that these people give their horses, and all the animals (pigs, cows, chickens, dogs . . . ) on the ranch, is incredible, and very obvious. It was something I sensed while looking at their web-site, and which made me pick this ranch above any others. As well, we were given a good recommendation from a co-worker.

We lucked out with perfect weather, and Tamara took us on a wonderful two hour horse ride on trails, through brush, over meadows, past lakes . . . all the while Spot, Ferny and Lilly, the three ranch dogs, raced ahead poking their noses in everywhere, barrelling into the water, then racing back, looking at us expectantly, like, "Hurry up you guys!" We had such a great time. Hubby wants to be a Cowboy now . . . and OK, maybe I kinda want to be a Cowgirl :)

After lunch, the clouds opened up and it poured, giving us the perfect excuse to sit here on the couch reading and writing till Happy Hour.

(I'm writing the rest from home now)

So, I can't believe I waited this long to write about the food, which started out great, and then just got better, turning into some-kind-of-wonderful every time we tasted a new creation. We were happy with the portion sizes - they aren't huge - the meals were inspired, and the perfect size for us. We've had pan seared scallops, smoked salmon on baguettes, fall-off-the-bone ribs, spot prawn pasta, griddle cakes with sausages, chick pea salad with turkey and avacado wraps, and the BEST rhubarb crumble I've ever tasted. Geez! I forgot to ask for the recipe!

I thought I should mention that there were many activities that we didn't do, and that was by choice. We just wanted a quiet relaxing couple of days. Next time! And there is a large man-made pond under construction that they will be stocking with trout and I look forward to that.

So it was truly a wonderful stay - even unexpectedly so. It is quite a drive on the gravel road to get to the ranch, and it had rained a fair bit before we arrived making the road muddy, and we weren't sure what we'd find at the end of it, but it was totally worth it. The road would be absolutely fine in the summer months.

The staff were all so friendly and made us feel comfortable right away. You can't help but get to know them a little while you're there, and it feels like you're leaving friends behind when it's time to leave. The morning we left, not only did Allison come out to the car to say goodbye, but Chef Wendy (wonder what fantastic thing she's dreaming up today!), Tamara, and Jackie, our Server, came out too! Oh, and so did the four dogs! I know, I said three dogs earlier . . . but Allison's Hubby brought home the sweetest, still-to-be-named puppy while we were there.

So there you go! We'll be back!

Oh, and I forgot! On the drive in we only saw one deer, but on the morning drive out we saw more deer, two of the biggest eagles we've ever seen, humongous (and I mean HUGE) cows crossing the road, some goats, horses . . . it was like icing on the cake :)

Room Tip: You know, we only saw ours, but knowing the care to detail that we saw, I would say it would be a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My family of five (three children 9, 11 and 14) spent a week at Siwash in
late August. It was a fantastic holiday. All of us had a favourite
activity. Siwash is known for their exceptional horse program, which is
one of the main reasons we chose the place. My girls and I rode every day.
The youngest is horse crazy and takes English lessons at home, but our
teenager wasn’t so brave. Luckily the owner Allyson is passionate about
her horses and teaches western style riding with such care and attention
that both girls were in heaven the entire week--with their two horses that they
wished they could bring home with them. I myself was able to overcome my
fears and learned to sit a canter really well. My husband and son tried
riding with us and then opted to spend most of the week fishing, shooting and
doing wilderness survival. We all loved a swim in the lake out front of
the main lodge every day before dinner. And I kept up my fitness with a
walk in the woods before breakfast each morning.

The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We stayed in the
two-bedroom suite which was plenty of space for us all and the kids had
their own bathroom, a definite plus! Beds were so comfortable it was hard
getting up in the morning. All the little touches made such a difference,
for instance there is a choice of pillows on the beds, between soft and
firm, night lights in the bathroom, bottled water dispenser in the rooms
and so forth. It was as comfortable as being at home, but with as much
style and luxury as you get from any urban five-star hotel (except no
noisy air conditioning because the folks at Siwash are really green, which
was no problem as nights cooled down nicely for sleeping and there was
always a nice summer breeze anyway..)

What made this holiday most special for us all was what I would describe
as the spirit of the place. With all the nature around and the gorgeous
setting, plus guides and staff who were so knowledgeable and passionate
about the place and who treated anyone and everything, including us, the
environment and the ranch animals with great respect, it was really
inspiring. It was rewarding for our kids to be immersed in that. I’d
highly recommend SLR to others who are looking for an upscale, adventure
holiday, genuine peace and quiet, and to do something different and step
out of their comfort zone. Siwash is really remote and wild, and the rates
might seem lofty for some; but the resort was over flowing with generous
experiences for us all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for a week with our two children (8 & 11) enjoying riding, shooting, fishing, cards, swimming in delightful isolation and womderful scenery. The kids saw coyotes, wolves (they claim), foxes, bears and all manner of things. It was a trip they will always remember and demand to go back next time. If you can take a copter in and/or out it is even more pleasant! Picnic-ing at high altitude on the slopes of Mount Robson was unique!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

Great people, well cared for horses, postcard views, 5 star food and rooms...all on solar power! This is a piece of heaven on earth, worth every penny! A week was not nearly enough...can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful and much cherished memory of our time at Siwash. On arrival we were greeted by Wendy and Jane who immediately made us feel very welcome and at ease. Jane showed us to our room and from then on attended to our every need and ensured we wanted for nothing. Allyson introduced herself to us shortly after and spent time assessing our riding ability to ensure we had horses to suit, she wasn't wrong, Pepper and Chip were just right for us and we spent many a happy hour with them over the next 6 days. A very patient and knowledgeable Kevin ensured we were capable of riding unguided and after the second day we were on our own which was the highlight of our holiday.
Wendy, the chef, delighted us every day with a variety of different dishes, which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The ranch was just as described and more, very professionally run but warm and welcoming, home from home.
The location is perfect, tranquil and together with the lakes and riding made this a wonderful holiday even though it was only for six days.
We chose Siwash Lake Ranch to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and Allyson and her team made this a very special occasion for us - we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siwash Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siwash Lake Ranch

Address: Box 39, 100 Mile House, British Columbia V0K 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > 100 Mile House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in 100 Mile House
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this luxury dude ranch and wilderness resort – an intimate and private hideaway for adventurous people who seek the finer things in life. Here you can ride to your heart’s desire, fish for trout in wild lakes and streams, sleep under the softest linens and dine on exquisite home-grown organic cuisine. Canada’s top eco-friendly luxury destination according to the Globe & Mail and ranked among ten luxury dude ranches by Forbes Traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siwash Lake Ranch Hotel 100 Mile House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siwash Lake Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.