We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time at Red Pine!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre

Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   497 Victoria Street East, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1T9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time at Red Pine!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel/motel we ever stayed at. I think the only reason this hotel still operates is because of the hockey tournaments nearby (or maybe someone trying to hide from something, as you're out in a very isolated area). If you don't have to deal with an emergency situation, it's not too bad, but if you do, don't rely on staff to know what they're doing. They don't even know how to call 911! Hope they learned some lessons from the last incident! When fire alarms rang, there was only one staff available and he investigated the source of smoke instead of evacuating the buildings first! Staff was not always easy to find. Also, they knew they had issues with the water in rooms being too hot or too cold (all rooms complained about this, as you couldn't take a proper shower) but they did nothing about it. Some rooms have heaters that sound like race car engines, so if you land one of those rooms, good luck getting some sleep. Their pillows all sink so when you finally get to sleep, you wake up with a kink in your neck. Oh, and don't expect much from their morning breakfast. The restaurant is a small space offering little choice. You're better off visiting the nearby Tim Horton's. When we complained to management, they basically shrugged it off and made it sound like we were being unreasonable. Nothing was done to acknowledge their mistakes. We will not be staying there again...unless management changes and the whole facility is rebuilt!!! Good luck if you decide to stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPI2011, Manager at Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

While we sincerely regret that your impressions of the Red Pine Inn were so negative, we would point out that thousands of repeat corporate guests, personal travellers and hockey parents would disagree. Apparently the lengthy correspondence we exchanged with you regarding the circumstances of the fire alarm that night did not mitigate your rationale for the criticisms expressed. Incidentally, we received written, positive reviews from two of the other 50 hockey families staying with us that night.

With regard to hotel management’s immediate response to the fire alarm that rang a few minutes before midnight on November 15, 2013, the response by the hotel’s Manager-on-Duty (MOD) conformed precisely to official protocols established by the Town of New Tecumseth Fire Safety Officer. The MOD, who was one of three personnel on-site that night, including the General Manager, determined within five minutes that the fire alarm was, technically, a false alarm. It was caused by the actions of an unmanaged youth who purposefully stuffed hockey tape into a hallway PTAC’s heating assembly, thereby triggering the alarm. The PTAC unit was immediately disengaged by the MOD, who then ensured that all guests had exited the building’s guest rooms. The fire alarm rang for 15+ minutes longer because, by law, it may be shut off only by the ranking Fire Official upon his arrival at the hotel with the fire response team.

Fortunately, there has never been a fire at the Red Pine Inn during the six years of the current ownership although there have been several false alarms.

We thank you for wishing “Good Luck”, in your Trip Advisor review, to the many thousands of future guests who will choose, and enjoy, the accommodation at the Red Pine Inn in New Tecumseth (Allston) Ontario.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
16
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Decent motel for a hockey tournament weekend. A little strict on the rules for hockey teams with kids and no real party room or alternative for the kids to hang out. The pool room is ok but a little dated and was short of towels. On the positive side, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was recently updated but it is a bit weird and inconvenient having the sink and mirror located outside the door and right beside the entrance door. Old school CRT TV in the room if anyone cares about that. Free Wifi. The staff was pleasant and helpful when needed. Not bad overall given the price point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Red Pine Inn for a weekend hockey tournament. We were a small group (four rooms) that were put on a floor with two other hockey team groups. As a hockey dad, I understand the mini-stick games in the halls and people socializing in the hallways. What I don't get is people doing that exact same thing until 1:15 in the morning. I also wasn't really big on the parents setting up a barbecue outside of the door at my room, not their end of the hotel, filling my room with smoke and the smell of spiced meat.The staff were all very nice, and tried to put a stop to it, but their attempts weren't too successful. As an added bonus, one of the kids from the group down the hall jammed a slipper in the hallway heating unit and set off the fire alarm at midnight, sending everyone out into the cold for an hour or more. As we had games in the morning, it pretty much ruined my stay there. I understand that hockey tournaments are a large part of their business, but I'm thinking having an 11:00 pm cutoff for hallway parties might be a good thing. For $150/night with taxes I should expect to get some sleep.

On the plus side, the room was clean and comfortable, and the little mom and pop shop restaurant serves a pretty good and reasonable breakfast. Parking is also plentiful and you can usually get close to your room.

Room Tip: If you are not with a hockey team (or you are, but with a small group), make absolutely sure you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

stayed here for a hockey tournament
booked 2 nights
called the week ahead and asked if cancelling 1 night would be a problem and were told told no that's ok by person at front desk.

went to cancel the one night and the hotel REFUSED and charged us 300.00 for 1 night. we attempted to contact the manger for 2 weeks but it seems they have meetings every day all day.

we did get a discount rate through the hockey team and were willing to pay the normal rate for 1 night but this hotel refused

we have done this at at least a dozen other hotels with NO problems

so if your staying here for a tournament think again this hotels actions have cost them any future business form my sons team and we are telling everyone we know to avoid staying here

I was hoping to work this out with the manger but since they are never available this is not possible

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPI2011, General Manager at Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay on October 18.

Our hotel policy for hockey teams is 2 nights minimum stay. All hockey teams are made aware of this policy by the sports management company before agreeing to reserve a block of rooms through the sports management company.

We were notified by the sports management company, that you had booked through their online website and confirmed the booking as the minimum two night.

Your statement in regards to not being able to speak to the managers is inaccurate. Two managers have confirmed speaking with you at the front desk.

Your hockey team had 15 rooms on that weekend; all of your team members stayed two nights and understood the hotel policy at the time of booking with your sports management company and at check in time.

We host over 50 teams in our hotel every hockey season; unfortunately you are the only guest that has disputed our hotel policy, even though you were aware of it, before you confirmed your online booking.

Despite our disagreement, we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alliston hotels

Woodstock
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 15 for a hockey tournament.
We had 2 mix ups which were fixed and cleared up immediately. And both those parties were upgraded.
Hotel was fairly expensive but was a nice place to stay.
Had a free (very basic) breakfast. Rooms were clean.
It was very centrally located to arena, food, Walmart, etc.

We stayed in building 500 which seemed to have a lot of hockey teams so it was nice kids could have fun.

You must walk outside to get to pool. I wish I had realized that to bring a house coat or something. It was chilly!

All in all we were happy here.

Note you can't cancel without 7 days notice. Difficult when playing hockey to know if you will play on or not. We stayed and made the best of it.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just went to a wedding in Tottenham and stayed at the Red Pine Inn for Friday and Saturday night. The hotel was beyond expectations. The beds in our room were very comfortable, and the hotel was so clean and well kept The staff at check-in were great too! I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Inn was clean, the central grounds were cute, but it was missing a certain swag that all excellent hotels strive for.. almost felt old and tired. I stayed for one night but would give another hotel a chance before I go back. It really wasn't a bad stay, I didn't have any negative experiences, the staff was ok, but there wasn't anything that jumped out at me. The price didn't match the experience, the continental breakfast was disappointing and the interior character needs to be fluffed up a bit.

Room Tip: Skip the continental and try and menu instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 497 Victoria Street East, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Alliston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Hotel & Conference Centre located on a 5 acre land. Red Pine Inn features onsite restaurant, indoor salt water pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness centre. The Conference Centre can accommodate up to 120 people. Pine Room Restaurant opens for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Contact us for your upcoming stay or special event. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Pine Inn And Conference Centre
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Alliston
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre Alliston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.