We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nottawasaga Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alliston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nottawasaga Inn Resort
Save Saved
You added Nottawasaga Inn Resort to your Saves list
6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Toronto
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“An interesting place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place has potential however the following needs to occur:
-a huge overhaul on their rooms specifically upgrading to a higher standard as currently the rooms are motel quality.
-expand parking as spaces between parking spots were small and difficult to manoeuvre.
-avoid booking large groups of sport teams and student groups. While this may increase your revenue it actually decreases the credibility of your resort.
On a positive note I found the dining options were great and the food quality was impressive. The staff were friendly and hospitable. Like I said this property has huge potential and with a few upgrades it can become a star location in the area. Close proximity to Toronto, not too far and not too close. Perfect location in a picturesque area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for submitting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and would like to take this opportunity to address your concerns.

We have been continuously improving and renovating our property over the last 2 years, including a renovation to our lobby and the Riverview Room, as well as the second phase of our bedroom updates and meeting room improvements. Continuous and timely improvements are important to us and we strive to provide the best combination of comfort, atmosphere and value to all our guests.

Our all season resort caters to a variety of clientele throughout the year including corporate business, private functions, sports teams as well as vacation travellers. As a member of the hospitality and tourism industry, it is our responsibility to provide the highest quality customer service and facilities to all our clients no matter what aspect of the business market they comprise.

We appreciate your comments on our culinary offering and our team and we’ll be sure to pass along your feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    85
    55
    26
    22
See reviews for
130
56
5
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent the weekend at Nottawasauga for my cousins wedding. As we have a 2 year old, we got a 2 room suite. There was a lot of room for him to run and play. He could have his naps and we could still visit and watch tv or talk in the other room. The bathroom was large. The hotel was very busy with several weddings and other conferences, but they did they did their very best to accommodate any request we had. The buffet was great! The only minor complaint was the smell of the water in our kitchenette. I believe it was from lack of use. You had to jiggle the handle of our toilet to get it to stop running. Other than that, we had a great weekend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort, and should you decide to plan another visit this year you should definitely consider joining us on a long weekend and enjoy the extra special family friendly activities that we offer for all ages. For the future, please know that our Front Desk team is available to assist with any concerns that you have with your room throughout your stay. Do come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I feel bad writing such a scathing review because of the few employees we encountered who were so nice - hard-working breakfast waitresses, our fridge delivery man (that's right - the mini-fridge is EXTRA!), housekeeping, etc. But this place deserves to be brought to light for what it really is...which is a small-town establishment that happens to be the only gig in town...by far. It caters to towns people who want to golf or people who need to marry in the area. Please DO NOT be fooled by the website like I was...the photos are not representative of the feel or the look of the place. We thought this would be a cute weekend spot to hit with friends of ours who also have young children since it was so close to Toronto. Since both families usually hike up to cottage country for summer thrills, we thought Nottawasaga 'Resort' could be a fun getaway without the 3 hour drive.
Best assets:
The indoor pool
Mini-put
Arcade centre
Worst drawbacks:
Booking process
The other people who stay there...enough said.
Rooms
Balcony
View
Privacy/Noise
Food
Elevators
Condition of the building
Overall, the hotel feels as though it's an outdated conference and sports centre. The hallways are dark and outdated, the elevators are disgusting, and the rooms and balconies are pretty sad. Our coffee maker in our room was in the bathroom 2 feet from the toilet, which is pretty darn disgusting. You have to order a fridge for $10/day should you wish to have one in your room.
The buffet breakfast included in our stay was pretty average. It felt like something off of a cheap cruise ship.
There is no room service, no bellmen to help with luggage, etc., so it's pretty DIY for a resort.
And the best part? The hotel claims in their in-room welcome binder that "there is to be no noise after 11pm to ensure everyone has a quiet and restful stay". We were staying on the third floor (river view, right above the mutual patios on floor 2), which had 10-30 people from 6pm-2am partying with potlucks, guitars, rum and cokes and God knows what else ladies in their 50's and 60's have at parties in Alliston. We called the front desk on both the Fri and Sat night to complain and at one point one of the employees said to my husband (at 1:30am) 'well we can't help it if people are having a good time'. For all of our lost sleep, we managed to get a 10% discount on our final bill (big deal). People were yelling and running through the hallways at all hours and upon their check-in, our friends were greeted by a hen party of women wearing thongs over their clothes doing dares for a stagette. If you have an appreciation for class or like your vacations to feel a little better than a bad Holiday Inn - RUN! We will never return.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the river side in the summer if you want a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay and we have reviewed your comments with our team.

Our website offers a comprehensive overview of the many facilities and amenities offered at the resort allowing our guests an opportunity to discover all that we offer prior to booking a stay.

Our 575-acre all season resort offers an unparalleled line-up of amenities and activities including 45 holes of golf, indoor pool with 100ft waterslide, indoor mini golf, 70,000 sq.ft. health and fitness centre, nature trails, international and national sized soccer fields, an on site arena with two NHL sized ice pads and more which make us a popular destination for both business and leisure travellers from throughout Ontario and many parts of the world.

We are currently in the process of many updates to the property including the recent completion of our lobby and Riverview Restaurant renovation and the second phase of our bedroom updates. The feedback that we have received on the changes has been quite positive to date.

Our hotel does not have porter service; however, we do offer a large supply of luggage carts in our main lobby to assist our guests with transporting their luggage to their guestrooms.

We certainly strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy a restful and relaxing stay and we thank you for reporting the noise disruption to the Front Desk team, who had our security staff investigate and deal with the situation as reported. We apologize that despite our attempt to correct the situation the unruly actions of other guests disrupted your stay. We did try to further offer our apologies for the disruption for offering you a discount off your stay.

We appreciate all feedback and I have personally addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments in order to offer improved services to all our future guests. We hope that you will reconsider visiting our resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had dinner at the Riverview Restaurant last night. The entree's were limited and the buffet looked awesome, so we went for the buffet. But when we dug in, it tasted flat like it was leftover from lunch or the day before. We ate everything anyway as we were hungry after missing lunch on our trip. By the time we got home about an hour later our stomach started to roll, we spent the night on the toilet. We had the runs so bad that we were very thankful we had more than one bathroom.
It was very busy that night and would find it hard to believe that we were the only ones who became ill.

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not stay in any of the rooms and only there for dinner so we can not rate anything but...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Wr W,

We have received no other complaints from guests or staff members who dined from the same buffet as you which would indicate that the illness you experienced is from food that you ate prior to visiting the resort. Food poisoning takes 16 – 24 hours to set and as a result the food that you consumed within our restaurant would not have made you ill within an hour’s timeframe. It would have been caused by something you ate the day prior.

Food safety is our utmost priority and we have strict policies in place regarding food handling procedures. We use the only freshest ingredients in our dishes and all of our foods come from federally inspected and HACCP recognized establishments. All members of our kitchen team have been trained and certified through the Food Handlers Certification Program administered by the local health unit.

Should you wish to speak further about this claim please do not hesitate to contact a member of our management team.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for a wedding and found the hotel and area a little confusing. The rooms are in one section and wedding facilities in another. Both were on the fourth floor with no connection between. Down one elevator to the 2nd floor and back up another to the fourth again. Things are not signed that well. If you've been here before, i guess it would make sense but somewhat confusing getting around in one building. The wedding facilities were beautiful and the food was excellent. Very accommodating for special requests. Hallways are a little noisy but we weren't terribly bothered by that. Staff could certainly take a lesson in trying to keep it down in the early morning. Chatter and walkie talkie cranked up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Psmiley, thank you for submitting your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. Guest feedback is vital as it helps us to identify both our successes and challenges so that we can better serve our guests in the future.

Our resort celebrates a rich and vibrant history and over the years we have undergone many expansions to grow into the 269 guestroom property that we are today. While all areas of the hotel are accessible through connected hallways and signage is displayed, we apologize that you found it difficult to navigate your way throughout the resort. I have shared your concerns about signage with the appropriate departments for further review and discussion.

We encourage all of our guests to enjoy their leisure time and as a result we do have a strict noise policy in place after 11pm. In the future, should you feel the disturbance has gone on too long, please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk team so that they can attend to your complaint immediately. We certainly apologize that you were disrupted by our Housekeeping team in the morning and I have passed along your feedback our Housekeeping Manager.

Thank you again for posting a review and for your kind words about our wedding facilities and food. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending a wedding. Overall impression is that it was a nice resort but we would probably not come back because we were expecting more for the price and found the resort busy and loud.

The resort was pretty and our room was clean and comfortable. We were disappointed that there was no mini-fridge in the room, which should be standard in hotels at this price point. We booked a river view room with a balcony which was lovely and worth the extra $10 a night. But we had a large deck right below our balcony where groups (family reunion, etc) liked to gather. So it was often pretty loud and we would have to shut the balcony door.

Parts of the hotel seemed dated. The elevator was small, dirty and didn't feel particularly safe. We took the stairs most of the time. They allowed smoking on the balconies and decks so we would often have to close our balcony door to stop the smell.

They seem to have a lot of events going on (weddings, reunions, conferences, etc) which they seem to do well, but considering the size of the resort, there were multiple events going on at the same time which made it busy and loud. There were people talking loudly in the halls and children running up and down the halls at all hours of the day and night.

We did not use the pools but they seemed clean and well maintained and they had lifeguards on duty. We stopped by the arcade (games for $0.25-1) and there was a nice selection of games. The indoor mini-golf was a lot of fun ($5 per person). There are a lot of golf courses nearby, so it could be a good place to stay if that's your thing.

We ate a meal at one of the 3 restaurants. The food was nothing special but it was fine and convenient to have dining options on site. The service, however, was terrible. The server seemed bothered by any request we made (pretty standard stuff, like asking for menus and asking what the soup was that day). Once she dropped off the food we never saw her again and eventually just wandered up to the front and asked to pay when we were ready to leave. All of the other staff at the resort were friendly and helpful though.

There wasn't anything wrong with the resort, it was a nice place, they have a variety of activities and they seem to do events well. But I would not choose to stay here again unless I was attending an event or maybe if I was an avid golfer as it wasn't worth the negatives.

Room Tip: The river is nice but be aware that if your balcony overlooks a deck that it may be loud and smell o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay and would like to address your concerns.

We appreciate your comments and wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that we have been continuously improving and renovating our property over the last 2 years, including a renovation to our lobby and the Riverview Room, as well as the second phase of our bedroom updates and meeting room improvements. While elevator upgrades were not included in our lobby renovation we do have them serviced regularly to ensure that they are in top working order for our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you found your room to your liking and that the balcony came in handy! Our rooms do not come standard with a mini-fridge, but one can be requested at time of booking and added to your room for a small fee. I have shared your feedback regarding the patio noise, hallway noise and concerns with guests smoking too close to the building with the appropriate managers for further review and discussion. For the future, please know that we do have a noise policy in effect after 11pm and that our front desk team is available to assist with any concerns that you may have during your stay.

In regards to the customer service provided by our restaurant staff, we are disappointed to hear that this was your experience and will ensure that management in this area is made aware of this instance and immediately initiates some customer service coaching with the individual involved. Our aim is to always provide friendly and professional service with a positive approach.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We strive to ensure our guests have an overall positive experience and we wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could have remedied the situation. Please know that we are always available to address guest inquiries prior to, during and after a stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent hotel, with large facilities: 2 nature trails, 2 ice rings, soccerfield, indoor- & outdoor pool, gym, squash facilities, kids playing dome, 45 holes golf course besides a friendly and good services.
Nice to relax in the spacious terrain of Ontario, one hour above Toronto

Room Tip: Do you wish more silence, take a room at the parking side Do you wish a nice view, take a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay the Nottawasaga Resort. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your stay and that our team, service and facilities met your needs. Thank you too for pointing out that we are just a short drive from Toronto - we're the closest resort to the GTA! Do come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nottawasaga Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottawasaga Inn Resort

Address: 6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Alliston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both meetings & getaways we offer more recreation than any other Ontario resort! 45 holes of golf, NHL arena, indoor pool, waterslide, sports dome & more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nottawasaga Hotel Alliston
Nottawasaga Resort Alliston
Nottawasaga Inn Resort Alliston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottawasaga Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.