We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views & Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nottawasaga Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alliston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nottawasaga Inn Resort
Save
You added Nottawasaga Inn Resort to your Saves list
6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our trip to Nottawasaga was for a wedding. I must say that it has been one of our better experiences with a hotel stay coupled with the celebration of a marriage.

The rooms were clean and stocked with all necessary amenities. The grounds of the report were beautiful and the wedding was a blast. We really enjoyed the cocktails on the terrace patio. The bar/wait staff were exceptional.

From our friends to you - thank you for making this a great evening for all of us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Nottawasaga Resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time here for the wedding and that the event was a success! Please pass along our congratulations to the newlyweds and we hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    87
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
131
58
5
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

So we booked the "Deluxe Getaway Retreat" for the long weekend. Our room (with fireplace and 2 person jacuzzi in the bathroom) was great - except that it looked out onto the exhaust system of the roof of the building in front of us). Unfortunately, all of the other rooms were booked due to a wedding and some other events. It ended still being an okay room, but since this is the only time I am likely able to get away this year, it was a bit of a disappointment because we came up there to be away from the city and closer to nature/green space. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, accommodating and professional. We needed a second suitcase rack and they called over for someone to bring it and apologized bc it would take a few minutes. The poor girl (Elizabeth, I think it was) showed up (out of breath and apologetic). We had turn down service (!) with a chocolate on each bedside table. Unfortunately there was a wedding party booked on most of our floor, so we were woken up at 1:30, 2:30 and 4:30 a.m. (the last by a child yelling and the father not telling him to quiet down) by people returning to their rooms. It was a bit frustrating, but fortunately didn't last too long (on the down side, I was awake all night as a result : 0 ( . The a/c was easy to program and worked well, I like that the tv could be closed up and pushed back into the cabinet. We had a large closet and lots of towels and really lovely lemon verbena toiletries! The bed was comfortable. Our package included 2 dinners at the Mahogany Room. The first night we booked for 6 p.m. and it was nice, food was good. We had the salmon and the chicken. We both preferred the chicken. The second night we d been golfing late so had booked the latest dinner time (9 p.m.) and had the trout and the steak, both were good (would have loved some dill on the trout/lemon butter sauce). Kris (our server both nights) suggested boxing up dessert for us to take back to our room (we were too full to order any), so did so nicely, adding some fruit garnish and extra big slices! The restaurant manager was very very professional, proper and friendly. I liked that he came around to every table to check on things. We dressed up for both dinners (not everyone did, they did end up letting in people with jeans, because you can't really turn away customers when there's nowhere else at the resort that's open to eat) and were glad we did. It added to the entire experience. We did the mini putt (included in our pkg) and the arcade and they were both a heck of a lot of fun (just myself and my beau, no kids)! For Sunday brunch (in the Riverside Restaurant), we liked the variety and Adriana was our server - lovely, friendly, professional. Our second brunch was at the restaurant off of the lobby and it seems like it was the same food as from the more expensive brunch (Riverside) with less variety - still great for the price! It was my first time golfing and the young woman at the golf place (club house?) was kind, patient, and very helpful. It was a great first time golfing (having a great instructor -beau- didn't hurt)! We took one of the hikes through the woods (between houses and the golf course, but still nice) as well as a little wander through the Wedding Garden. The lobby is well-appointed and elegant. The staff were all very, very helpful. I was a little disappointed that there was no ice skating rental (we would've brought our own). My biggest complaint is that there's SO much to do, we both came home tired!! Definitely a fun place to go, with tons of things to do! I wish we could afford to come for a week, so we could do everything and have time to sleep more!

Room Tip: If the view is important to you, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for joining us for a long weekend getaway and for taking the time to write a review.
You are most certainly correct that our 575-acre all season resort offers a wide range of activities and amenities for our guest’s enjoyment in both the summer and winter months and we are delighted to hear that you were able to experience our 45-hole golf course, games room, mini-golf and restaurants during your stay.

We apologize that you were woken up by the jovial wedding party and please know that we do have a strict noise policy in effect. In the future, should you feel that the disturbance is going on too long, please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk staff so that they can attend to your concerns immediately.

Thank you again for posting a review and we’ll be sure to pass along your kind words to Kris, Adriana and the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had the great opportunity to stay two nights her for a conference.
The staff were fabulous.
The food for the conference was amazing and always plenty of it.
The grounds are kept beautifully well, I can see why wedding take place here.
The outdoor pool was crystal clear and clean.
I would highly recommend this resort for one and all

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have balcony's which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent conference. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay, from the food to the guest rooms and facilities. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I think if you knew what you were getting into, this place would be fine. It's dark, old, run down, not that expensive but not cheap, and it is next to 45 holes of golf. We were there for a wedding and stayed a couple of nights. We had been looking forward to the stay over after reviewing the website. They need to make the website a bit more realistic so as to avoid mismatched expectations. For how much activity we saw at the golf course, we were surprised by the staffing, and how slow they moved things along - and by the look and age of the rental clubs - if you lived in Toronto and had your clubs, it would be a much better experience - courses are actually quite nice for the town. Again, if we step back from our missed expectations, we were probably ok - but it's about how we thought we were mislead. Good place for hockey teams and lots of kids. Not so good if you don't have a team travelling with you. We found the room to be noisy as well. Would not stay here again - but leaving more of a cautious review here.

Let quite

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience and we’re sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We have received good feedback on our renovated lobby and bedrooms to date and the second phase of renovations to our standard bedrooms, which now feature a contemporary and fresh look, was completed in early July. We are also on the cusp of starting our Riverview Dining Room redesign and renovation as part of our continuous improvements at the resort.

Our website offers a comprehensive overview of the many facilities and amenities offered at the resort allowing our guests an opportunity to discover all that we offer prior to booking a stay.

We’re sorry to hear about your difficulties on the golf course and can assure you that this is not the norm. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a 4 to 4.5 hour round; however during busy times there may be delays that are beyond our control. We would certainly love for you to give our course another try so that you can experience all that it has to offer.

You are most certainly correct that our resort tailors to a variety of clientele throughout the year including corporate business, private functions as well as vacation travellers. While we encourage all of our guests to enjoy their leisure time at the resort, we do have strict noise policies that are in place and enforced by our security personnel after 11pm. We wish that you would have brought your noise concerns to our attention so that we could have remedied the situation immediately.

Thank you again for posting a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to our entire team and we strive to ensure that all guests have a positive experience. I have personally addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments and should you wish to speak further about your stay please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We will be going back next summer..again. The resort has a lot to offer and for $99 you can't beat it. We have gone here for years and have never been disappointed. The hotel staff is friendly and accomodating. The room was recently renovated and the beds comfortable. Price of green fees are very reasonable. A+ for this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our special $99 room sell-off! Throughout the year you can also access value-conscious and last-minute specials directly on our website, for both mid-week and weekend stays.

Thank you for your kind words about our recent bedroom renovations and we’re pleased to share with you that our next phase of renovations will include a redesign of the Riverview Dining Room. We hope that you will be just as pleased with the changes when you return for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been travelling to 'The Nott' for the past 19 years as a group of friends taking advantage of their 'Stay and Play' package. We play 4-6 rounds over 3 days and absolutely love the trip every time. Over the past 19 years (I've had the opportunity of visiting for work events as well), there have been renovations made to the lobby area, but rooms and facilities (aside from minor facelifts) have pretty much remained the same. We have even noticed that the buffet breakfast menu (and some of the staff) haven't changed either (which adds to the charm, for us anyways)!

Service - always top notch and willing to help where they can. My buddy forgot his toothbrush this year and they came through for him;
Rooms - getting tired, but they have been updated; never a complaint about cleanliness from us. Ask for river views unless you want to look into the parking lot - these rooms provide a balcony or walk-out vs. only a window
Golf - 27 holes on site and another 18 a short drive away; Our favourite 18 is Hill to Valley, but the Ridge plays hard and always presents a challenge
Food - as I mentioned, the breakfast buffet menu hasn't changed in almost 20 years. We have not taken advantage of the other restaurants as much, but when we have we haven't been disappointed. If you're looking for gourmet, high end items, go elsewhere.
Pools - always clean, the indoor pool has a water slide that kids will love. Hot tub is inside as well. Outdoor pool has a great, expansive deck with an ample number of chairs;
Other facilities - the workout space, arcade, mini-golf, tennis courts, bacci courts, soccer field, walking trails, and arena make this a 'one stop shop' for anyone who enjoys being active. Add the events during holiday seasons (e.g., fall foliage deals and New Years celebrations) and the value for money is wonderful for families and friends alike.

Overall, we love this place and plan on returning regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for river views; walk-out rooms on the pool level are appealing as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi JF, we are delighted to hear that we have been a choice destination for your golf group over the past 19 years! Our Stay‘n Play Golf package is certainly an excellent choice for those looking to enjoy unlimited golf on our 45 hole course.

We appreciate your comments and we are excited to share with you that we are in the middle of completing many updates to the hotel including the recent introduction of new menus into several of our dining rooms, the second phase of bedroom renovations as well an upcoming redesign and renovation of the Riverview Dining Room. We’re certain that on your next visit you will be quite pleased with the changes.

We do have several restaurant options to choose from ranging from casual to fine dining. With a focus on gourmet dining the Mahogany Room may be more to your liking and has a multitude of options that will certainly satisfy your culinary desires.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next year for your 20th golf getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

For the second year Nottawasaga has become the host of our annual golf tournament. It was the 29th year anniversary this year and now has those who had babies playing in the tournament as young adults. The facility has been completely renovated and is very competitively priced. It is definitely a destinations for groups in the summer. Lots of hockey tournaments and weddings too. We added in hockey as well for Sunday. Those non-golfers enjoyed the nature trails and pool.
Our group is an informal gathering with long term friendships. Staff are very group friendly and anxious to please. There were a total of 80 of us in the group. Looking forward to booking again next year. This resort is perfectly suited for our group. The less than 1 hour drive from Toronto is very attractive too. Looking forward to experiencing the spa next year too.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are very reasonably priced with 2 queen beds. Upgrades are worth the look however could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review about your recent golf tournament at the Resort. It’s wonderful to hear that you now have several generations participating in event and that it has become an annual tradition! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your stay and that our team, service and facilities met your needs.

Thank you too for pointing out that we are just a short drive from Toronto - we're the closest resort to the GTA! We look forward to seeing you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nottawasaga Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottawasaga Inn Resort

Address: 6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Alliston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both meetings & getaways we offer more recreation than any other Ontario resort! 45 holes of golf, NHL arena, indoor pool, waterslide, sports dome & more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nottawasaga Hotel Alliston
Nottawasaga Resort Alliston
Nottawasaga Inn Resort Alliston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottawasaga Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.