We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nottawasaga Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alliston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nottawasaga Inn Resort
Save
You added Nottawasaga Inn Resort to your Saves list
6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Vancouver
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ageing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was there for a business conference. The rooms were old and not designed for business, plugs and phones in the wrong places. The lobby was very nice but like other reviews the renos stooped there. The food was average, all our meals were at the hotel, but adequate, I felt the chef was trying too hard with the sit down meals, buffet was better,salad choice was exceptional. The staff were friendly and the mini golf was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay despite some concerns. We appreciate your comments and wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that we are in the middle of many updates to the resort. We’re sorry to hear about your difficulties accessing the electrical outlets in your guest room and I have passed your comments, from the point of view of a business traveller, onto our renovation team for review.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort and hopefully you will have more leisure time to enjoy the amenities and services that the Nottawasaga Resort has to offer. We thank you for your positive comments about the lobby, service quality and the mini golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    87
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
131
58
5
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Organized a business conference here and had great success; this is all thanks to the staff and coordinator! Stunning resort even in January, conference rooms were very heritage like which I feel helped our employees to be comfortable and engage in converstation. The rooms were typical hotel style and the view from the rooms was gorgeous. Truly enjoyed our time at the Nottawasaga and will certainly arrange more conference here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent conference and for the kind words about our staff and facilities. We are pleased to hear that you and your team enjoyed their stay and that you plan to join us again in the future. Hopefully when you return you will be join in the summer months so that you will have an opportunity to experience the full range of our resort amenities. Thank you again for your comments and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went there for an hockey tournment and It was nice. Arena is 2 minutes walk from Hotel. Sport dome is connected with underneath tunnel to the hotel. Room was very confotable and staff very helpfull. There were a lot of teams staying at the hotel so kids were running all over the place but nothing anormal. Security walked by hallway at night to make sure there wasn't any party going on in the hall way and no problem to report from my part.
Would like to see how it is in the summer time.... They have buffet and restaurants on the resort. I didn't m ove the car for 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their weekend hockey tournament and found the chaos to be well managed. We pride ourselves on being organized and ready to handle the challenges that come with busy tournaments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and for your next visit you many want to consider staying with us during a holiday weekend as we host a line-up of special family friendly activities for all ages that we’re sure your children will enjoy. You can access value-conscious and last-minute specials directly on our website, for both mid-week and weekend stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I are recent newlyweds and after hearing only good things regarding this hotel in the past I was looking forward to staying there for my husband's belated work Christmas Party the first weekend of January. We decided to make it a weekend and booked an extra day for some rest and relaxation. The hotel lobby was nice and the room that we stayed in was standard. The sound proofing in this hotel is horrible. If someone opens a door, it is like they are opening the door in your room. Unfortunately for us, a couple of weddings were also taking place that weekend. A group in a room across the hall was partying late that night and I tried to just ignore it. I woke up still tired the next day. We left our Christmas party early the next night and returned to our room for hopefully a better sleep. I was woken up at 1:30 am by the returning wedding crowd that were shouting in the halls, opening and closing the doors, and having conversations outside in the hallway. Everything sounded like they were standing at the foot of our bed. I called security to ask them to quiet down. Security came and told them to keep it down and left. This did NOTHING!! They waited for him to leave and then started up again. I waited for another 45 minutes or so of trying to sleep before losing patience again and called again! They again came upstairs and told them that they would have to keep it down. Again, they were quiet until he left. It was about 3:30 when my husband had to actually get dressed and go downstairs to the lobby and get security. Security this time, came upstairs and a non-registered guest to the room was removed. This hotel obviously does not care to uphold their policies that they post on their website. I have never been more ready to pack up our things and leave at 3:30 in the morning. They are majorly overpriced for everything they offer and I can't believe we actually had to pay a cent for that horrible weekend. They have nothing to offer that another hotel could not give you. The next morning the breakfast buffet was free because of the Christmas party. If you want to be served a few scraps of eggs and be made to feel like Oliver Twist for asking for more, skip the breakfast there and go to Papa Joe's Griddle in town.

In conclusion, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and would like to address your concerns.

We certainly strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy a restful and relaxing stay and we thank you for reporting you concerns to the Front Desk staff so that they could have Security tend to the issue. We did note in our files that on Saturday night you called regarding a noise complaint on two separate occasions and that the Security staff were sent to investigate and deal with the situation in each instance. We apologize that despite our repeated attempts to correct the situation the unruly actions of other guests disrupted your stay. Our policies do state that excessive noise violators will incur additional charges and I can assure you that the appropriate actions were taken with the offending group.

In regards to your breakfast, our culinary team works diligently to provide our guests with a quality dining experience and I can assure you that our buffet stations were replenished regularly to ensure that there was a fresh selection and a multitude of options to choose from.

We feel that our pricing is competitive with other resorts and that we have many value added services including 45 holes of golf, gourmet dining, indoor pool and waterslide, 18 holes of mini-golf, spa services, fitness facility and nature trails all which make us a popular choice for leisure travellers throughout the year.

We do strive to provide the best service and product at the highest level and unfortunately it seems as though there were situations that occurred that were not up to the high standards we like to uphold and are known for. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider returning to our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Spacious lobbies, great amenities. Only stayed one night for a graduation, but really enjoyed our stay. The mini putt and awesome pool were very impressive. Helpful desk service. The rooms were great too, although the covers were pretty heavy and far too hot. Otherwise, great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent overnight getaway. We’re pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy our mini-golf course and indoor pool. Congratulations on your graduation and we hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our 3rd time at Nottawasaga to hold our Sales Conference and all of our staff are in agreement to come back again next year. The conference managers, banquets staff and front desk personnel are some of the best I have worked with and nothing is too much to ask for if it is in their power. The food was yummy and very diversified. Our staff loved getting out on the NHL styled enclosed ice rinks for a bit of fun. The renovations have really brightened up the main lobby. We're looking forward to seeing the main dining room next year after it's renovation soon. The floor to ceiling windows are wonderful for viewing the scenery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay the Nottawasaga Resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your Sales Conference and that our team and service met your needs. For your next visit we would suggest that your group consider our popular Culinary Challenge team building activity. We’re sure it will be a hit!

We’re also looking forward to our next stage of renovations (the Riverview Dining Room) and we hope that you will be just as pleased with the changes when you return for your Sales Conference again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We were there for a hockey tournament. If you are going there for a quiet weekend, don't stay there when there is a hockey tournament! Lots of kids running around and the pool is always busy. Our room was nice: beautiful view. We rented a party room and it was really nice, with a fireplace and lots of room for the kids to run around. We played mini-golf, played squash and lost a lot of money at the arcade. The arcade is the most negative thing about the place. The games are archaic (they need to get newer ones that work) and we kept losing money in them. We asked for our money back and we were refused. Poor customer service. One of the games had a loose wire and didn't work but there was no "out of order" sign on it. My son and a few other kids lost a dollar in that game. The staff said they were not allowed to refund the money from that game. I wonder how long that game has been stealing kid's loonies. So, beware of the arcade! There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Shopping is nearby. We ate at the cafe and at the Riverview restaurant. The food at the cafe wasn't very good. The buffet dinner at the Riverview was good. The pool is a lot of fun. There is a great waterslide. The air temperature could be a little warmer. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and will likely go there for a tournament next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottawasaga, Manager at Nottawasaga Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi CJG17, thank you for submitting your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. Guest feedback is vital as it helps us to identify both our successes and challenges so that we can better serve our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments and wanted to take this opportunity to apologize for your troubles in the arcade. Our arcade features a selection of vintage games for retro arcade fans; however due to their age they do occasionally malfunction despite being serviced regularly. As soon as we received word on a machine we do put an “Out of Order” sign on it and offer the child either a prize or a refund depending on the game.

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated guest rooms. Our guest rooms do not offer a refrigerator; however we will put a fridge in the room upon request.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort and thank you for your positive comments about the rooms, recreational amenities and the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nottawasaga Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottawasaga Inn Resort

Address: 6015 Highway 89, Alliston, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Alliston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both meetings & getaways we offer more recreation than any other Ontario resort! 45 holes of golf, NHL arena, indoor pool, waterslide, sports dome & more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nottawasaga Hotel Alliston
Nottawasaga Resort Alliston
Nottawasaga Inn Resort Alliston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottawasaga Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.